Game Summary
Slovakia 1
United States 3
Round Robin
Tuesday, December 31, 2002
Sydney, NS

USA tops Slovakia 3-1

Slovakia faced off with the United States in front of a boisterous crowd of 2,238 at Centre 200 in Sydney today. The crowd was loud and on the edge of their seats from the first draw to the last whistle of the 3-1 USA victory.

Team Slovakia drew first blood, opening the scoring at 7:31 of the first period. Slovak forward Juraj Sykora beat American goaltender Robert Goepfert with a hard shot along the ice. The goal came on a U.S turn over that resulted in a partial breakaway.

The Americans fought back hard for the remainder of the first period but were unable to capitalize on their scoring chances. The United States squad could not finish on a number of chances including two legitimate scoring chances that came mid way through the period. Slovakia also had its fair share of difficulty beating Goepfert, as they were unable to capitalize on a 5-on-3 power play nearing period’s end. The teams headed to the dressing room with the U.S trailing by a goal.

The Americans came out hard in the opening minutes of the second period and continued to press for the tying goal. It finally came at 5:02 after a magnificent solo effort by Christopher Higgins that resulted in two scoring chances before he grabbed a rebound and finished what he had started by going up stairs to beat the Slovakian goal keeper.

The Americans continued to apply pressure and had the Slovaks reeling after tying the game. The U.S scored again just 42 seconds later to take the lead when forward Zach Parise bettered the last defenseman and shot high on Chovan in the Slovak net. The tone of the second period was set by the United States defence which continued to play an effective physical game. The Slovakians’ best chance of the second period came on a 5-on-4 power play in which USA player Gino Guyer lost his stick. Unfortunately for the Slovaks they could not beat Goepfert. The period wound down with the USA up 2-1 a result of their offensive burst early in the period.

The third period began with some stellar saves by Slovakian goaltender Jan Chovan, who kept the game close. Chavon robbed captain Eric Nystrom with a huge glove save as the 3 rd period reached the halfway mark. Shortly thereafter Slovakian defenseman Thomas Slovak was assessed a two-minute minor for elbowing, a 20-minute game misconduct, and a 10-minute unsportsmanlike like conduct for an ugly elbowing incident at 11:36 of the period. On the ensuing power play, American forward Dustin Brown scored to make the score 3-1. Slovakia tried in vain to retaliate on the scoreboard but came up short and the game ended with a 3-1 final score in favor of the U.S. Both teams will now advance to the quarter-finals, the USA finishing second and the Slovaks third in Group A standings.

Craig Ryan

 

USA defeats Sloviakia 3 - 1

Despite a feverish assault by the Slovaks in the third period, the USA hung on to defeat them 3-1 and claim second place in the final standings of Group A. The Americans will now face either the Czechs or Swedes in the quarter-finals while the Slovaks will face either Canada or Finland. (full story to come)

USA takes a 2 - 1 lead over Slovakia

The U.S. rallied from a 1-0 deficit to take a 2-1 lead over Slovakia after two periods of play in Sydney. Christopher Higgins and Zack Parise scored for the Americans. Shots are 17-15 in favour of the Slovaks. The loser of this game will almost certainly play the loser of tonight's Canada-Finland game in the quarter-finals.

Slovakia leads USA 1 - 0

Juraj Sykora scored in the first period to give Slovakia a 1-0 lead over USA in Group A action in Sydney Nova Scotia. The Slovaks had a great chance to increase their lead when they had a lengthy two-man advantage but failed to score. Jan Chovan is the goalie for the Slovaks and Robert Goepfert is in net for the Americans.


Box Score
SVK

1

0

0

1

0

Compte
USA

0

2

1

3

0


Scoring/Buts :
07.31 1 - 0 EQ SVK 10. SYKORA, Juraj ( 8. GRANAK, Dominik 29. KOKAVEC, Michal)


Penalties/Pénalités :
17.59 2 min USA 5. GREENE, Matt ROUGH
14.40 2 min USA 5. GREENE, Matt CROSS
14.13 2 min USA 3. JONES, Matt HI-ST
11.56 2 min SVK 29. KOKAVEC, Michal INTRF
02.49 2 min SVK 8. GRANAK, Dominik INTRF
Scoring/Buts :
25.44 1 - 2 EQ USA 11. PARISE, Zach (21. NYSTROM, Eric 7. SUTER, Ryan)
25.02 1 - 1 EQ USA 18. HIGGINS, Christopher (10. HELMINEN, Dwight 17. KESLER, Ryan)


Penalties/Pénalités :
39.33 2 min USA 14. GUYER, Gino ROUGH
34.32 2 min USA 23. BROWN, Dustin SLASH
Scoring/Buts :
52.19 1 - 3 PP1 USA 23. BROWN, Dustin (21. NYSTROM, Eric 11. PARISE, Zach)

Penalties/Pénalités :
60.00 2 min USA 19. WHITNEY, Ryan SLASH
60.00 2 min USA 19. WHITNEY, Ryan TRIP
52.19 10 min SVK 27. SLOVAK, Tomas ABUSE
52.19 20 min SVK 27. SLOVAK, Tomas GA-MI
51.15 2 min SVK 27. SLOVAK, Tomas ELBOW

Players of the Game SVK Unavailable
Joueurs du partie USA Unavailable

Goaltenders SVK 29. GOEPFERT, Robert
Gardiens de but USA 29. GOEPFERT, Robert

Shots on Goal by Shots on Goal by

1st/1re

2nd/2e

3rd/3e

Final

Shots on Goal by SVK

10

7

10

27

Tirs au but par USA

8

7

11

26


Officials Referee/Arbitre RADBJER, Ulf
Officiels Linesmen/Juges des lignes KRONBORG, Lars CORMIER, Michel

Attendance/Assistance -,---

USA and Slovakia Face-off

Team USA is coming off an impressive 8-2 shelling of team Belarus in a game that the Americans dominated physically as well as on the scoreboard. American forward Barry Tallackson scored two goals 22 seconds apart and was a key to the Americans offensive superiority.

Tallackson and his teammates have found their stride and feel confident heading into their final round-robin game against a solid Slovakian squad. The U.S.A has steadily improved offensively since the start of the tournament. Any questions surrounding the Americans’ scoring abilities were answered with Monday’s victory. If not for the outstanding goaltending of Belarus net minder Dzmitry Kamovich, the game could have easily been even more lopsided on the scoreboard.

The United States has continued to improve on special teams as well, notching three of their goals on the power play. They played well-rounded, offensive-minded hockey against Belarus and hope their style will translate into continued success in their final game of round robin action.

Another notable addition to the Americans’ improved attack was the heightened physical play of U.S forward Greg Moore. Moore made his presence felt throughout Monday’s contest, throwing a number of impressive body checks in the late stages of the game. The Americans go into their New Year’s Eve game looking to continue their physical game as well as maintain their scoring touch.

Looking to end the United States winning ways, Team Slovakia is riding its own momentum heading into the meeting. The Slovaks downed Switzerland in their most recent outing by a score of 3-0. After a slow start Team Slovakia now finds itself in the quarter-final picture and the result of the pending game with the U.S will determine teams positioning in the quarterfinal brackets.

Game time is slated for 2 pm at Centre 200 in Sydney.

Craig Ryan
Sydney Reporter

For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications

Sommaire du Match
Slovaquie 1
États-Unis 3
Ronde préliminaire
mardi, le 31 décembre 2002
Sydney (N.-É.)

Les États-Unis battent la Slovaquie 3-1

La Slovaquie a croisé le fer avec les États-Unis devant une foule bruyante de 2 238 au Centre 200 de Sydney aujourd’hui. La foule tapageuse a été tenue en haleine de la première mise au jeu au dernier coup de sifflet dans cette victoire 3-1 des Américains.
L’équipe de la Slovaquie a marqué en premier à 7:31 de la première période. L’attaquant slovaque Juraj Sykora a déjoué le gardien Robert Goepfert d’un tir puissant au ras de la glace. Le but est survenu à la suite d’un revirement américain qui a donné lieu à une échappée partielle.

Les Américains se sont battus avec acharnement pour le reste de la première période, mais ils n’ont pu profiter de leurs occasions de marquer. La formation américaine n’a pu trouver le fond du filet à plusieurs reprises, y compris lors de deux occasions légitimes de marquer survenues au milieu de la période. La Slovaquie a aussi éprouvé de la difficulté à déjouer Goepfert et a été incapable de marquer à 5 contre 3 à la fin de la période. Les équipes sont rentrées au vestiaire les États-Unis tirant de l’arrière d’un but.
Les Américains étaient déterminés au début de la deuxième période et ils ont continué d’exercer une pression pour inscrire le but égalisateur. Il est enfin survenu à 5:02 à la suite d’un superbe effort individuel de Christopher Higgins qui s’est traduit par deux occasions de marquer avant qu’il ne s’empare d’un rebond et loge la rondelle dans la partie supérieure du filet slovaque pour terminer ce qu’il avait amorcé.

Les Américains ont continué d’exercer une pression et les Slovaques ont chancelé après le but égalisateur. Les É.-U. ont marqué à nouveau seulement 42 secondes plus tard pour prendre les devants quand l’attaquant Zach Parise a déjoué le dernier défenseur et tiré haut contre Chovan devant le filet slovaque. La défensive américaine a donné le ton à la deuxième période en poursuivant son jeu physique efficace. La meilleure chance des Slovaques pendant le deuxième tiers est survenue lorsque l’Américain Gino Guyer a échappé son bâton pendant un avantage 5 contre 4. Malheureusement pour les Slovaques, ils n’ont pu déjouer Goepfert. La période a pris fin avec les États-Unis en avance 2-1 grâce à l’explosion offensive du début de la période.

Le gardien slovaque Jan Chovan a effectué des arrêts spectaculaires au début de la troisième période, gardant ainsi l’écart serré. Chovan a volé le capitaine Eric Nystrom d’un superbe arrêt de la mitaine à mi-chemin au troisième tiers. Peu après, le défenseur slovaque Thomas Slovak a écopé de deux minutes pour avoir donné un coup de coude, d’une punition de match de 20 minutes et d’une punition de 10 minutes pour conduite antisportive pour un vicieux coup de coude assené à 11:36 de la période. L’attaquant américain Dustin Brown a marqué lors du jeu de puissance découlant de cet incident, portant la marque à 3-1. La Slovaquie a tenté en vain de répliquer sur le tableau indicateur, mais elle n’a pas réussi et le match s’est terminé 3-1 en faveur des États-Unis. Les deux équipes passeront maintenant aux quarts de finale, les États-Unis ayant terminé au deuxième rang du groupe A et la Slovaquie au troisième.

Craig Ryan


Box Score
SVK

1

0

0

1

0

Compte
USA

0

2

1

3

0


Scoring/Buts :
25.44 1 - 2 EQ USA 11. PARISE, Zach (21. NYSTROM, Eric 7. SUTER, Ryan)
07.31 1 - 0 EQ SVK 10. SYKORA, Juraj ( 8. GRANAK, Dominik 29. KOKAVEC, Michal)

Penalties/Pénalités :
17.59 2 min USA 5. GREENE, Matt ROUGH
14.40 2 min USA 5. GREENE, Matt CROSS
14.13 2 min USA 3. JONES, Matt HI-ST
11.56 2 min SVK 29. KOKAVEC, Michal INTRF
02.49 2 min SVK 8. GRANAK, Dominik INTRF
Scoring/Buts :
25.02 1 - 1 EQ USA 18. HIGGINS, Christopher (10. HELMINEN, Dwight 17. KESLER, Ryan)

Penalties/Pénalités :
39.33 2 min USA 14. GUYER, Gino ROUGH
34.32 2 min USA 23. BROWN, Dustin SLASH
Scoring/Buts :
52.19 1 - 3 PP1 USA 23. BROWN, Dustin (21. NYSTROM, Eric 11. PARISE, Zach)

Penalties/Pénalités :
60.00 2 min USA 19. WHITNEY, Ryan SLASH
60.00 2 min USA 19. WHITNEY, Ryan TRIP
52.19 10 min SVK 27. SLOVAK, Tomas ABUSE
52.19 20 min SVK 27. SLOVAK, Tomas GA-MI
51.15 2 min SVK 27. SLOVAK, Tomas ELBOW

Players of the Game SVK Unavailable
Joueurs du partie USA Unavailable

Goaltenders SVK 29. GOEPFERT, Robert
Gardiens de but USA 29. GOEPFERT, Robert

Shots on Goal by Shots on Goal by

1st/1re

2nd/2e

3rd/3e

Final

Shots on Goal by SVK

10

7

10

27

Tirs au but par USA

8

7

11

26


Officials Referee/Arbitre RADBJER, Ulf
Officiels Linesmen/Juges des lignes KRONBORG, Lars CORMIER, Michel

Attendance/Assistance -,---

Les États-Unis et la Slovaquie croisent le fer

L’équipe des É.-U. l’a emporté facilement, hier, 8-2 contre la Biélorussie dans un match qu’elle a dominé physiquement et au tableau indicateur. L’attaquant américain Barry Tallackson a marqué deux buts en 22 secondes et a été un élément-clé de la supériorité offensive des Américains.

Tallackson et ses coéquipiers ont trouvé l’allure qui leur convient et ils sont confiants à l’aube de leur dernier match de la ronde préliminaire contre la Slovaquie. Les États-Unis se sont améliorés de façon constante à l’offensive depuis le début du tournoi. Tous les doutes qui planaient quant à leur capacité de marquer se sont envolés lors de la victoire lundi soir. N’eut été du brillant travail de Dzmitry Kamovich devant le filet biélorusse, l’écart aurait pu être beaucoup plus important.

Les unités spéciales des Américains se sont aussi améliorées, trois buts survenant en avantage numérique. Les Américains ont adopté un style de jeu offensif contre la Biélorussie et espèrent que cette façon de faire leur permettra de remporter leur dernier match de la ronde préliminaire.

L’amélioration de l’attaque américaine est aussi due au jeu physique accru de l’attaquant Greg Moore. Il a imposé sa présence dans le match lundi soir, effectuant plusieurs solides mises en échec vers la fin du match. Les Américains abordent ce match de la veille du Jour de l’An en voulant continuer leur jeu physique et en espérant ne pas perdre la touche du marqueur.

L’équipe de la Slovaquie veut mettre fin aux victoires américaines. Elle aussi jouit d’une allure favorable à l’aube de cette rencontre. Les Slovaques ont battu la Suisse 3-0 dans leur dernier match. Après un début plutôt lent, l’équipe de la Slovaquie participera aux quarts de finale et le résultat du match contre les Américains déterminera le classement des équipes accédant aux quarts de finale.

Le match sera présenté à 14 h au Centre 200 de Sydney.

Craig Ryan
Reporteur à Sydney

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications