Dec31

-Dec.26 -Dec.27 -Dec.29 -Dec. 30 -Dec. 31

Jan. 1 -Jan. 2 -Jan. 3 -Jan. 4 -Jan. 5 -Last Years Diary

Journal Entry: December 31st, 2001

Practice got better as it went along today and that's a good sign. We had a shoot-out competion at the end and it came down to our two guys from the Windsor Spitfires Jason Spezza and Steve Ott. Steve ended up winning and he made the most of it, being our holler guy. It was a nice light note to end on.

You never want to dwell on a defeat but especially when you're finishing the opening round at this tournament and going into the elimination round. This is the "hump" game ... win it and you're playing for a medal. Our guys have to get past the tough loss to the Finns and start worrying about Sweden. A lot of people will suggest that we ended up with a good or easy draw even though we finished second in our group. I think that's jumping to a big conclusion and not giving our opponents the credit they deserve.

The Swedes played us very tough last year in the bronze medal game before losing in overtime on a goal by Raffi Torres. They have a lot of players back from that team and they've had to be thinking about a rematch against us for a year. I get a sense from watching them around the rink today that they're confident if not overconfident that they can beat us.

There was a big cheer on the bus when we told the players that we were taking them to McDonald's. That's how it was last year in Moscow where the food at our hotel was just terrible. It's better this year but the players still like the food they know.

We'll give them some down time in the afternoon and after watching some tapes and a meeting and dinner we'll give the kids a chance to see their families for New Year's. Not something long or a big party or anything but just a chance to catch up. We can't let them ring in the New Year with their parents but the reality is we're here to win a tournament and there are going to be a lot of other New Year's for them, a lot of chances to pop corks. The last thing they'll do this year will be sitting in on a meeting to go over tomorrow's schedule. They'll be listening to the coaches and staff not Guy Lombardo. By midnight tonight they're going to be in their beds.

I hear that the Swedes were going into Prague for the day after their practice. Hey, if they presume that a walk around the city and three hours on a bus is good preparation for tomorrow, good for them. We think hockey players are creatures of habit and that our players do best when they have a routine. When you get away from the routine you can run into some trouble. You can even make a case that happened last night against the Finns ... that was our first night game here and the kids just didn't have a lot of energy, maybe over-sleeping. We can't afford to have that happen again and I think our kids know what's at stake.

 

For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications

Dec31
-26 déc -31 déc-2 jan-4 jan-5 jan

le 31 décembre, 2001

L'entraînement est allé de mieux en mieux aujourd'hui et pour moi, c'est un bon signe. On tout terminé avec une compétition de tirs au barrage et les deux finalistes étaient les coéquipiers de Windsor Jason Spezza et Steve Ott. Steve a fini par gagner et nous l'a laissé savoir, étant notre joueur le plus bruyant en partant. C'était une bonne façon de finir.
Tu ne veux jamais trop t'attarder sur une défaite surtout quand elle vient à la conclusion de la ronde préliminaire et tu passe à la ronde des éliminatoires. C'est le match crucial qui s'en vient ... tu l'emporte et tu es dans la lutte pour une médaille. Nos gars se doivent d'oublier cette défaite difficile et de s'inquiéter au sujet de suédois. Bien du monde notent que nous avons fini avec une route plus facile, en terminant au deuxième rang de notre groupe. Je crois que c'est un saut important et ça manque de respect pour nos adversaires.

Les suédois nous ont donné toute une lutte l'an dernier avant de perdre en prolongation sur un but de Raffi Torres. Ils ont beaucoup de joueurs de retour et ils doivent vouloir se venger de la défaite de l'an dernier. Les ayant vu à la patinoire aujourd'hui, ils ne manquent pas de confiance et en ont peut-être même trop.

Le plus gros cri sur l'autobus est venu lorsqu'on a annoncé aux joueurs qu'on allait à McDonald's. C'est pareil à l'an dernier à Moscou ou le manger laissait beaucoup à désirer. Tout est mieux cette année, mais quand même les joueurs préfèrent ce qu'ils connaissent.

On leur donnera du temps libre en après midi après une session vidéo, une réunion et le diner. On donnera la chance aux gars aussi de voir leurs familles pour le Jour de l'An. Rien d'incroyable mais l'opportunité de se voir. On ne peut pas se permettre de souligner l'arrivée de la nouvelle année avec les parents mais c'est une réalité que nous sommes ici pour gagner le tournoi et ils auront bien d'autres occasions de fêter la nouvelle année. La dernière activité de leur année sera une réunion pour repasser l'horaire de demain. Ils seront à l'écoute des entraîneurs et du personnel plutôt que de Guy Lombardo. À minuit ce soir, ils seront déjà couchés.

On me dit que les suédois sont allés à Prague pour la journée après leur entraînement. Eh, s'ils croient vraiment qu'une marche en ville et trois heures sur un autobus va les préparer pour demain, tant mieux. On croit, nous, que les joueurs de hockey répondent mieux à la routine. Quand tu t'éloignes de ta routine, c'est demander des problèmes. Tu peux possiblement arriver à cette conclusion pour hier soir contre la Finlande ... c'était notre premier match en soirée et les gars n'avaient pas l'énergie nécessaire ... peut-être ont-ils trop dormis? On ne peut plus se permettre de tels erreurs et je crois que nos gars savent ce qui est en jeu.

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications