Stan Butler's Diary

DAY SEVEN, MOSCOW - Jan. 1, 2001
Day off/New Year's Day

First of all let me say that, as a coach, you want to win every game. But, having said that, there are some that are clearly more important to win than others.

With the format of this tournament you can afford the odd sub-par effort in the round robin. As long as you finish no worse than fourth out of five teams in your pool, you are guaranteed a berth in the quarter finals.

Think back to the 1999 tournament in Winnipeg: the Russians finished second in their pool with a 3-1-0 record; then they defeated Finland by one goal in a quarter final, defeated Slovakia by one goal in their semi final and then beat Canada in overtime to win the gold.

My point being that, while the Russians were hardly blowing other teams out, they played well enough to win when it really counted - in the playoff round. I think we have the potential to do the same thing here. I see that the team I usually coach (the Brampton Battalion) beat Mississauga 5-2 the other night. Way to go guys. Derek Smith is running the team while I'm away and I'm sure he's got his hands full.

We have four players in this tournament and another two at a big tournament in Nova Scotia. I've got to say that without people like Scott Abbott (our owner in Brampton) this program wouldn't be what it is. Junior teams all across Canada take the hit in their won/loss record to make their best players available for the World Junior Championship.

I hand it to the different organizations for seeing the big picture and not depriving players or coaches of the chance to experience this tournament. It helps you grow as a player or a coach and, most importantly, a person. Along those lines, I was thinking today about what a great group of people I've been lucky enough to work with here. From the assistant coaches to the players to the trainers and all of the other support people here with us......they've really become sort of an extended family to me very quickly.

I remember that same feeling from when I was an assistant coach in Winnipeg. I also remember how fast the time went by once the tournament got going. I'm getting the same feeling here. Starting today, you will experience either sudden victory or sudden death. Talk about a rollercoaster ride!

For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications

Journal de Stan Butler

JOUR SEPT, MOSCOU - le 1 jan. 2001
Jour de congé/Jour de l'an

D'abord il faut que j'avoue que, comme entraîneur, on veut gagner tous les matchs. Toutefois, ayant dit celà, il y a des matchs qui sont plus importants à gagner.

Avec le format de ce tournoi, tu peux te permettre un effort moindre ici et là lors de la ronde prèliminaire. Autant que tu puisse terminer parmi les quatre équipes de ton groupe, tu es garanti de passer aux quart-de-finales.

Rappelez-vous du tournoi de 1999 à Winnipeg: Les Russes avaient terminés au deuxième rang dans leur groupe avec une fiche de 3-1-0; ensuite ils ont vaincu la Finlande par un but en quart-de-finale, ont devancé les Slovaques par un but dans la demi-finale et l'ont emporté en prolongation contre le Canada pour prendre l'or.

Je soulève ces points pour signaler que les Russes n'ont pas dominé qui que ce soit, mais ont gagné quand c'était important - dans la ronde des médailles. Je crois qu'on a le potentiel de faire pareillement. J'ai vu que l'équipe que j'entraîne régulièrement (le Battalion de Brampton) a défait Mississauga 5-2 l'autre soir. Bravo les gars. Derek Smith est en charge pendant que je suis parti et je sais qu'il en a plein les mains. Quatre de nos joueurs sont à ce tournoiet deux autres à un gros tournoi en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Je me dois de dire que sans du monde comme Scott Abbott (notre propriétaire à Brampton) ce programme ne serait pas ce qu'il est devenu. Les équipes juniors de partout au Canada paient un prix au classement pour permettre à leurs meilleurs joueurs de participer au Championnat mondial de hockey junior. Chapeau aux différentes organisations d'appr*cier le grand portrait et de ne pas enlever cette occasion aux joueurs et entraîneurs.

C'est une expérience fort enrichissante comme entraîneur, comme joueur et davantage comme personne. Dans cet ordre d'idées, je pensais aujourd'hui au groupe fantastique de personnes que j'ai pu travailler avec ici. Des entraîneurs adjoints aux joueurs et tous les personnes d'appui ici avec nous ... ils sont vraiment devenus comme une famille pour moi et ce, très rapidement. Je me souviens d'avoir eu le même sentiment quand j'étais entraîneur adjoint à Winnipeg. Je me souviens également comment rapidement le temps passait une fois que le tournoi est commencé.

Le sentiment m'est revenu ici. Dés aujourd'hui, on vit soit la victoire subite ou la mort subite. Voilà tout un manège émotionnel!

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, communications