Hockey Canada Network |
Crosby, Keith Receive Top NHL Honours Days Before Attending 'Canada Celebrates' Event in Edmonton
June 25, 2010

Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby and Chicago Blackhawks defenceman Duncan Keith, who have already won Olympic gold medals this year, added to their hardware Wednesday, June 23 at the 2010 NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Crosby (Cole Harbour, N.S.) received the Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award for exemplifying “great leadership qualities to his team” and the Maurice Richard Trophy for being one of two top goal scorers in the league, while Keith (Winnipeg, Man.) won the James Norris Memorial Trophy for demonstrating “the greatest all-round ability in the position” during the 2009-10 season.

Crosby and Keith were both members of the 2010 Men’s Olympic Team and will be in Edmonton, Alta. on Monday, June 28 for the Hockey Canada Foundation (HCF) Celebrity Classic gala, including the public Canada Celebrates event at Commonwealth Stadium. They are two of 61 Olympic and World hockey champions from 2009-10 who will be attending the highly-anticipated celebration.

Other Canadians honoured at the 2010 NHL Awards:

Martin Brodeur (Montreal, Que./New Jersey Devils) – William M. Jennings Trophy

Shane Doan (Halkirk, Alta./Phoenix Coyotes) – King Clancy Trophy

Steve Stamkos (Markham, Ont./Tampa Bay Lightning) – tied with Crosby for Maurice Richard Trophy

Martin St. Louis (Laval, Que./Tampa Bay Lightning) – Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

José Théodore (Laval, Que./Washington Capitals) – Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Dave Tippett (Moosomin, Sask./Phoenix Coyotes) – Jack Adams Award      

The NHL also announced its 2009-10 All-Rookie Team, which consists of the top six rookies from the season, including four players who represented Canada at the 2010 IIHF World Championship held in Germany this spring.

NHL All-Rookie Team members who played at this year’s World Championship:

Michael Del Zotto (Stouffville, Ont./New York Rangers)

Tyler Myers (Dewinton, Alta./Buffalo Sabres)

John Tavares (Oakville, Ont./New York Islanders)

Matthew Duchene (Haliburton, Ont./Colorado Avalanche)

For more information on the 2010 NHL Awards, go to

For more information on the upcoming HCF Celebrity Classic gala, including how to buy tickets for the Canada Celebrates event on June 28, go to

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: