Hockey Canada Network |
1990 and 1991 Teams to Re-Unite in Saskatoon
November 12, 2009

SASKATOON, Sask. – As part of Hockey Canada’s Team Canada Alumni Program, players from Canada’s 19 National Junior Team have been invited to Saskatoon to be honoured for their gold-medal winning performances.

The reunion was one of several exciting announcements made on Thursday in Saskatoon surrounding the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship.

Coaches Dick Todd and Guy Charron have confirmed their attendance along with manager Mike Murray and players Chris Snell, Mike Sillinger, Scott Thornton, Stewart Malgunas, Jason Herter, Mike Needham and Karl Dykhuis. One aspect of the reunion will be a New Year’s Day Brunch, hosted by BHP Billiton.

Tickets for the BHP Billiton New Year’s Day Brunch – which will take place from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. at TCU Place in Saskatoon – are on sale through Ticketmaster.

“We’re excited to pay tribute to two teams that won gold medals for our country and really got the World Junior Championship buzz started,” says Bob Nicholson, president and CEO of Hockey Canada. “These two teams were instrumental in laying the foundation for the success of our National Junior Team program.”

Other events announced include the BHP Billiton Ball Hockey Tournament on New Year’s Day at the Saskatoon Kinsmen Henk Ruys Soccer Centre.

“We have broken it into two divisions,” says Kim Gallucci, vice-president of special events in Saskatoon. “There is one division for families and teams who want to play for fun and the other division for the ball hockey teams that are more competitive.”

Teams will play 3-on-3 with a maximum roster of six players, and will be playing for tickets to the playoff and medal-round games in Saskatoon. The entry fee for the event is $100 per team.

Finally, it was announced that BHP Billiton has donated 1,000 tickets to schools in Saskatoon, along with youth groups and other organizations that will use the donated tickets to enable those without the financial resources to attend a game at the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship. Businesses are encouraged to join the ticket donation program by contacting the tournament office at 306-651-2185.

For more information:

Rob Jones

2010 WJC General Manager


Kim Gallucci

VP Special Events - Saskatoon


For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: WEY 2 - SUD 1
Apr 20, 2014
Jenica Whitrow scoredwith less than two minutes to play to winit for Weyburn.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - SVK 1
Apr 20, 2014
Brendan Perlini’s two goals led Canada to a victory over the Slovaks.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 8 - MON 1
Apr 20, 2014
Sixteen players goton the score sheetas the hosts coastedto an opening win.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 1 - FRA 0
Apr 20, 2014
Jessica Healey scoresthe game’s only goal as the Thunder winsits opener.
2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: