Hockey Canada Network |
News
Canada to Face Germany in Semi-Finals at 2009 Hockey Canada Cup; Japan Will Play United States in The Other Semi
NR.019.09
|
February 26, 2009
|
|

VANCOUVER, BC – The preliminary round is over and now it’s time for Semi-final Saturday at the 2009 Hockey Canada Cup sledge tournament.

Canada’s National Sledge Team completed the round-robin portion of the event with a 6-2 victory over Japan on Thursday evening at UBC Thunderbird Arena. Earlier in the day, the United States beat Germany 2-0.

That means Canada, as the No. 1 seed, will face Germany (4) in the second of two semi-finals on Saturday. The game goes at 5 p.m. PT at UBC. The first semi-final on Saturday, slated for 1 p.m. PT, will feature Japan (2) against the United States.

The winners of each game will meet in Sunday’s gold medal final at 5 p.m. P.T./8 p.m. ET, a game that can be seen LIVE on TSN2. The main TSN network will air the sledge final at 9 p.m. PT/midnight ET. The semi-final losers will play for bronze on Sunday at 1 p.m.

On Thursday, Canada got two goals each from Marc Dorion (Bourget, ON) and Brad Bowden (Orton, ON), along with singles from Greg Westlake (Oakville, ON) and Hervé Lord (St-Pamphile, QC). Benoit St-Amand (St-Hubert, QC) made 13 saves for the win.

The Hockey Canada Cup is a four-team event being held one year out of the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games. All games are being played at the new UBC Thunderbird Arena, the home for sledge hockey in 2010. Tickets are still available for all games on the final weekend.


For more information:

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
mbell@hockeycanada.ca

   
 

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: