Hockey Canada Network |
Canada's National Women's Under-22 Team Set for 2007 European Air Canada Cup
December 29, 2006

CALGARY, AB – Canada’s National Women’s Under-22 Team will leave Sunday, December 31 for Germany, where they will take part in the 2007 European Air Canada Cup, January 3-7, 2007 in Ravensburg.

Canada’s roster will include the same 22 players that took part in a three-game exhibition series against the USA in Ottawa, ON in August. Canada won that series two games to one, outscoring the Americans 9-2 in the process.

“Usually we have one or two injuries from the summer team, so it’s nice to be able to take all of the same players,” says head coach Nancy Wilson, who was an assistant coach on the summer team. “They played extremely well against the Americans in August, and a lot of them have had terrific season (with their club teams), so we’re very excited about the tournament.”

The Canadians will be led in goal by Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, AB) and Laura Hosier (Sharon, ON). Szabados has helped the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s Ft. Saskatchewan Traders to first place in the AJHL’s North Division, and will play in January’s AJHL All-Star Game. She also made her first appearance for the National Women’s Team at the 4 Nations Cup in November in Kitchener, ON, going 2-0 with a shutout against the USA in her debut.

Hosier, along with Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, ON), Valerie Chouinard (Matane, QC) and Stephanie Jones (Grande Prairie, AB) are members of the Mercyhurst College women’s hockey team, the top-ranked team in NCAA women’s hockey.

Defenseman Catherine Ward (Montreal, QC) is a member of McGill University, the top-ranked team in Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) women’s hockey.

In addition to Szabados and Agosta, Annie Guay (Rouyn-Noranda, QC), Bobbi Jo Slusar (Swift Current, SK), Tessa Bonhomme (Sudbury, ON) and Sarah Vaillancourt (Sherbrooke, QC) were also members of Canada’s 4 Nations Cup-winning team.

Canada is the four-time defending champion at the European Air Canada Cup, having won every tournament since its inception in 2003, losing only once in 12 games. After four years as a four-team, round-robin event featuring Canada, Germany, Finland and Switzerland, teams from Russia and Japan have been added to make it a six-team event. Canada, Germany and Japan make up Pool B, while Russia, Switzerland and Finland comprise Pool A.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: WEY 2 - SUD 1
Apr 20, 2014
Jenica Whitrow scoredwith less than two minutes to play to winit for Weyburn.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - SVK 1
Apr 20, 2014
Brendan Perlini’s two goals led Canada to a victory over the Slovaks.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 8 - MON 1
Apr 20, 2014
Sixteen players goton the score sheetas the hosts coastedto an opening win.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 1 - FRA 0
Apr 20, 2014
Jessica Healey scoresthe game’s only goal as the Thunder winsits opener.
2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: