National Women's Team Members Join Manitoba Mayors in Launching New ‘Vote for Team Canada' Yard Sign Campaign
October 18, 2006

WINNIPEG, MB – National Women’s Team members Jennifer Botterill and Sami-Jo Small joined Winnipeg Mayor Sam Katz and Selkirk Mayor David Bell Tuesday to launch a unique new yard sign campaign encouraging the public to support the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship, which takes place April 3-10 in both cities. The yard signs, which play on the current municipal campaigns, read ‘Vote Team Canada April 3 – 10, and will be popping up all around the cities this week. They are part of a push to encourage the public to show their support for the World Championship by becoming a volunteer, purchasing a ticket package, and helping cheer on Team Canada in their attempt for a 10th World Championship title.

“We hope that the public will see these signs as further enticers to be a part of the World Championship and show their support,” stated event chair Polly Craik. “There is a lot of political campaigning currently going on in both cities, and we thought this would be a fun unique way to play on that and encourage the public to get on board with our event, helping us host the biggest and best World Championship ever.”

“We are still currently still in need of volunteers for the World Championship, and are asking any interested persons to register and help us in hosting the event. As well, we have sold over 10,000 tickets to date, and encourage the public to get their tickets soon to ensure a prime seat as they will be going fast.”

Volunteer registration forms can be downloaded at, or picked up at the Hockey Manitoba (200 Main Street) or True North Sports and Entertainment (260 Hargrave St) offices in Winnipeg, and the Community Services office in Selkirk (310 Christie Ave). Ticket packages for the event can be purchase by visiting or calling 204-780-3333.The 2007 IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship in Winnipeg and Selkirk will mark the fifth time that this international event has been staged in Canada, and the first time it will be held in Manitoba.

Canada also hosted the IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship in 2004 (Halifax, NS), in 2000 (Mississauga, ON), in 1997 (Kitchener, ON) and in 1990 (Ottawa, ON). Canada has won a gold medal at eight of the nine IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championships, the exception being a silver medal at the 2005 IIHF World Women’s Championship in Linkoping, SWE, losing to the USA in a shootout.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 5 – RUS 1 (Bronze Medal)
Guay scored once and added two assists, helping Canada to bronze.
2017-18 NWU18T: USA 4 – CAN 3 SO (Semifinal)
Adzija had a goal and an assist, but Canada fell short in a shootout.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – FLA 2 (League)
Rougeau and Nurse had 1G 1A each, and Canada hung on for the win.
2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 3 – CZE 1 (Quarter-final)
Slobodzian scored the GWG on the PP to send Canada to the semifinals.