Hockey Canada Network |
2005 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge Awarded to Lethbridge, Alberta
December 4, 2003

LETHBRIDGE, AB – Hockey Canada announced on Friday that the City of Lethbridge, Alberta has been awarded the 2005 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge that will run from to .

This prestigious hockey event features the best under-17 hockey players in the world and is a stepping-stone for many young players striving to play for Canada's national teams or in the National Hockey League.

The World Under-17 Hockey Challenge is made up of 10 international teams. Canada is represented by five regional teams: Team Pacific, Team Western, Team Ontario, Team Quebec and Team Atlantic. Also invited to participate in the event are five international teams: Slovakia, Finland, Germany, Russia and USA.

Canada has hosted the event since it’s inception in 1995. Every fourth year, the tournament takes a break as the top under 17 Canadian players represent their province at the Canada Winter Games. Such was the case in 2003 when Bathurst/Campbellton, NB hosted the 2003 Canada Winter Games from February 22 to .The last U-17 World Hockey Challenge was held in 2002, hosted by Stonewall/Selkirk, Manitoba.

The Under-17 Program is an integral part of Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence. The World Under-17 Hockey Challenge gives players an opportunity to experience high calibre hockey, while also preparing themselves for possible selection for the National Under-18 Team and the National Junior Team.

" This event has grown tremendously over the past few years and it continues to become bigger and better each year," said Johnny Misley, Vice-President of Hockey Operations for Hockey Canada. "The Canadian contingent in this event is remarkable which is an excellent breeding group for our National Under-18 Program and our National Junior Program."

Canada's 2004 National Junior Selection Camp Roster boasts 27 under-17 alumni; Maxime Daigneault (2001), Josh Harding (2001), Andre Benoit (2001), Kevin Klein (2001), Braydon Coburn (2001), Derek Meech (2001), Jeremy Swanson (2001), Jeff Tambellini (2001), Ian White (2001), Maxime Talbot (2001) , Tim Brent (2001), Daniel Paille (2001), Adam Courchaine (2001), Adam Henrich (2001), Stephen Dixon (2002), Shawn Belle (2002), Dion Phaneuf (2002), Brent Seabrook (2002), Jeremy Colliton (2002), Anthony Stewart (2002), Jeff Carter (2002), Mike Richards (2002), Eric Fehr (2002), Ryan Getzlaf (2002), Nigel Dawes (2002), Corey Perry (2002), and Sidney Crosby (2003 – CWG).

This event has seen many NHL'ers through the years, including Vincent Lecavalier (Tampa Bay Lightning) Ilya Kovalchuk (Atlanta Thrashers), Joe Thornton (Boston Bruins), Roberto Loungo (Florida Panthers), Radek Bonk (Ottawa Senators), Eric Brewer (Edmonton Oilers) and Marc-Andre Fleury (Pittsburgh Penguins).

Loren Krukowski, President of Hockey Alberta, is excited about hosting the event, "Hockey Alberta is very proud to host this prestigious event again in Alberta. In 1997 Red Deer did a great job of setting the standard for hosting this International Challenge and we are confident that Lethbridge ant this very capable Host Committee will again raise the bar for this event in Canada."

" We are delighted that Hockey Canada has chosen Lethbridge, Alberta to host this prestigious international event," said Lorenz Bohnert, Chair of the 2005 Host Committee. "This is an excellent opportunity to promote minor hockey in our city and province and we are looking forward to hosting a world class event."

Tournament format includes a round robin of two five-team pools, with the top two teams from each pool facing off in semi-finals. Both semi-final winners will play each other to determine the world champion.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
Photo Credit: