Ontario Red 3 – Manitoba 2

Ontario Red edges Manitoba 3-2 in final preliminary game at U18 nationals

by Erinn Powell

CALGARY, Alta. – Fast decision making and excellent forward plays highlighted Game 11 at the National Women’s Under-18 Championship, which saw Ontario Red edge Manitoba 3-2 at the Markin MacPhail Centre on Friday evening.

Three minutes into the game, Nicole Carswell (Winnipeg, Man./Winnipeg Avros, MFMHL) notched one into the net for Manitoba, assisted by team members Danielle Krzyszczyk (Winnipeg, Man./St. Mary’s Academy, Canadian Prep) and Kati Tabin (Winnipeg, Man./Balmoral Hall, JWHL). A short five minutes later, Alanna Sharman (Winnipeg, Man./Winnipeg Avros, MFMHL) scored another goal for Manitoba on a breakaway, making the game 2-0 with ten minutes to go in the first period.

Ontario Red brought the game back in its favour by using smart forward plays to keep possession in Manitoba’s end, firing fourteen shots at Manitoba goaltender Kristen Campbell (Brandon, Man./Shaftesbury Academy, Canadian Prep) by the end of the first period. As the puck raced up and down the rink it was clear that these two teams were evenly matched.

Barely two minutes into the second period, Mackenzie MacNeil (Richmond Hill, Ont./ Toronto, PWHL) chipped one in for Ontario Red, quickly followed by another goal made by team member Amanda Pantaleo (Markham, Ont./Toronto, PWHL). The crowd was on the edge of their seats when only 60 seconds later, Ontario Red player Victoria Bach (Milton Ont./Mississauga, PWHL) scored a goal assisted by Ainsley MacMillan (Ilderton, Ont./ Mississauga, PWHL), making the score 3-2 for Ontario with 15 minutes left in the period.

In the start of the third period, Manitoba player Kate Friesen (Altona, Man./ Pembina Valley, MFMHL) received a penalty for tripping. Five minutes later, Ontario Red’s Bach received a penalty as well.  Rebecca Leslie (Ottawa, Ont./ Ottawa, PWHL) took a strong shot on Manitoba’s net, rebounding off the post. Neither time was able to find the back of the net again before the end of the period, and the game concluded with a score of 3-2 for Ontario Red.

Leslie won Player of the Game for Ontario Red and Krzyszczyk took home the same title for Manitoba. Netminder Kirsten Campbell  (Brandon, Man./Shaftesbury Academy, Canadian Prep) faced an impressive 38 shots over three periods of play.

This was the final preliminary game for both Ontario Red and Manitoba at the 2013 National Women’s Under-18 Championship. Placement and semifinal games take place Saturday at the Markin MacPhail Centre. You can watch the game live for free on FASTHockey by visiting www.hockeycanada.ca/nwu18, where you can also find game stories, stats and more.

Summary

Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Ontario Rouge 3 – Manitoba 2

Ontario Rouge l’emporte 3-2 sur le Manitoba à son dernier match de la ronde préliminaire du National des M18

par Erinn Powell

CALGARY, Alb. – De rapides prises de décisions et une solide formation d’avants ont marqué ce 11e match du Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans, qui s’est terminé par une mince victoire d’Ontario Rouge, 3-2 aux dépens du Manitoba, au Markin MacPhail Centre vendredi soir.

Trois minutes après le lancement de la partie, Nicole Carswell (Winnipeg, Man./Winnipeg Avros, MFMHL) a marqué le premier but de la rencontre, profitant de l’assistance de ses coéquipières Danielle Krzyszczyk (Winnipeg, Man./St. Mary’s Academy, Canadian Prep) et Kati Tabin (Winnipeg, Man./Balmoral Hall, JWHL). Seulement cinq minutes plus tard, Alanna Sharman (Winnipeg, Man./Winnipeg Avros, MFMHL) a inscrit un autre but pour le Manitoba lors d’une échappée, portant le compte à 2-0 à mi-chemin au premier tiers.

Ontario Rouge a ramené le jeu à son avantage en ayant recours à de judicieux jeux à l’avant qui lui ont permis de maîtriser la zone adverse et de tirer à quatorze reprises sur la gardienne manitobaine Kristen Campbell (Brandon, Man./Shaftesbury Academy, Canadian Prep) avant la fin de la première période. À la lumière du territoire parcouru par la rondelle, il n’y avait pas de doute que chacune des formations était de compétence égale.

Avec un peu plus de deux minutes d’écoulées dans la deuxième période, Mackenzie MacNeil (Richmond Hill, Ont./ Toronto, PWHL) a réussi à en faufiler un pour Ontario Rouge, suivie de près par un but de sa coéquipière Amanda Pantaleo (Markham, Ont./Toronto, PWHL). La foule était sur les dents lorsque 60 secondes plus tard, la joueuse d’Ontario Rouge Victoria Bach (Milton Ont./Mississauga, PWHL) a marqué à nouveau, aidée d’Ainsley MacMillan (Ilderton, Ont./ Mississauga, PWHL), portant la marque à 3-2 pour Ontario Rouge avec encore 15 minutes de jeu à faire dans la période.

Dès le début de la dernière période, la joueuse manitobaine Kate Friesen (Altona, Man./ Pembina Valley, MFMHL) s’est vue infliger une punition pour avoir fait trébucher. Cinq minutes plus tard, Bach d’Ontario Rouge a également écopé d’une punition. Rebecca Leslie (Ottawa, Ont./ Ottawa, PWHL) a décoché un puissant boulet en direction du filet adverse qui a rebondi sur le poteau. La rondelle n’a pas visité le fond du filet de la période et le match s’est conclu par la marque de 3-2 au profit d’Ontario Rouge.

Leslie a été choisie la joueuse du match d’Ontario Rouge et Krzyszczyk a eu droit au même honneur pour le Manitoba. La gardienne de but Kirsten Campbell (Brandon, Man./Shaftesbury Academy, Canadian Prep) a reçu quant à elle un nombre impressionnant de 38 tirs au cours des trois périodes de jeu.

C’était le dernier match de la ronde préliminaire tant pour Ontario Rouge que pour le Manitoba au Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans 2013. Les matchs de classement et les demi-finales seront disputés samedi au Markin MacPhail Centre. Vous pouvez voir le match en direct gratuitement sur FASTHockey en visitant le site www.hockeycanada.ca/cnfm18, où vous trouverez également les sommaires de matchs, les statistiques et beaucoup plus.

Sommaire

Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: