Game Summary
Saskatchewan 5 - Atlantic 1


DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – With both teams coming off tough losses on Day 1, Atlantic and Saskatchewan hit the ice on Day 2 determined to bank their first wins at the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship.

- - -
Purchase Images from this Event

But a strong first period from Saskatchewan, and two beautiful markers by Kennedy Ottenbreit-Daunheimer (Grayson, Sask.), made it tough for Team Atlantic from the very start.

Kaitlin Willoughby (Prince Albert, Sask.) kicked it off at 7:50 on the clock, taking a pass from defenceman Jolene Kirkpatrick (Traux, Sask.) to put the puck into the back of the Atlantic net. Ottenbreit followed suit with her first of the night at 12:08, with help from team captain Emily Clark (Saskatoon, Sask.) and Jaycee Gebhard (Plenty, Sask.).

Team Atlantic felt the frustration of being down 2-0, taking a penalty at 15:08 to put Saskatchewan on the power-play. Clark jumped at the chance to add one of her own, sending the puck soaring into the mesh and following up with a nice little celebration and embraces by teammates.

Despite the 3-0 deficit, Team Atlantic continued to fight hard and play a gritty game of hockey, which paid off with a power-play of its own, allowing forward Laura Polak (Beford, N.S.). to get her team on the scoreboard and cap off the first period with a 3-1 score.

Team Atlantic stepped it up another notch in the second, making Saskatchewan battle it out for its fourth goal, with Gebhard’s shot finding some empty space in the Atlantic net to make it 4-1 going into second intermission.

The Atlantic Canadians kept up the gritty attitude going into the third, letting 14 shots off in the final frame in an attempt to add another to the score sheet, but Ottenbreit and squad weren’t about to let that happen. She scored her second of the night at 13:14 in the period, sealing the 5-1 deal for Saskatchewan and three points in preliminary round standings.

But Saskatchewan will have to climb a bigger mountain Friday – beating defending national champions Ontario Red when the two teams take to the ice 4 p.m. MT. Team Atlantic, meanwhile, will have to beat host team British Columbia in B.C.’s barn, a tough but obtainable challenge to overcome, when those teams face off in Friday’s 7 p.m. MT feature game.

Watch all the action from Dawson Creek live on FASTHockey at, and get live game updates at


Game Information
Game Number 07 Round Preliminary
Arena EnCana Events Centre City, Country Dawson Creek, B.C.
Month / Day / Year 11/08/2012 Time 04:00 PM MT
Attendance Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Saskatchewan (SK) 3 1 1 5
Atlantic (ATL) 1 0 0 1

First Period
   07:50 SK 17 Kaitlin Willoughby (2 Jolene Kirkpatrick)
   12:08 SK 18 Kennedy Ottenbreit-Daunheimer (13 Emily Clark, 6 Jaycee Gebhard)
   15:22 SK 13 Emily Clark (17 Kaitlin Willoughby, 19 Jaelei Meyer) PP
   16:35 ATL 15 Laura Polak (14 Connor Garagan) PP

   05:01 SK 13 Emily Clark (Tripping)
   09:31 SK 18 Kennedy Ottenbreit-Daunheimer (Bodychecking)
   15:08 ATL 17 Noemie Chiasson (Hooking)
   16:20 SK 16 Mairi Sorensen (Tripping)
   18:56 ATL 19 Lisa MacLean (Holding)

Second Period
   10:06 SK 6 Jaycee Gebhard (17 Kaitlin Willoughby)

   07:50 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Elbowing)
   17:11 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Cross Checking)
   19:31 ATL   (Too Many Men)

Third Period
   13:14 SK 18 Kennedy Ottenbreit-Daunheimer (2 Jolene Kirkpatrick)

   11:00 ATL 14 Connor Garagan (Slashing)
   18:55 ATL 22 Megan Normore (Cross Checking)

1 Jane Kish On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00
31 Rebecca Weagle On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Saskatchewan 7 10 6 23
Atlantic 5 7 14 26

Player of the Game
Saskatchewan 17 Kaitlin Willoughby
Atlantic 20 Jennifer MacAskill
For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux

Sommaire du Match
Saskatchewan 5 - Atlantique 1
 

KENNEDY OTTENBREIT INSCRIT UN DOUBLÉ POUR PROCURER UN PREMIER GAIN À LA SASKATCHEWAN

DAWSON CREEK, C.-B. – Alors que les deux équipes avaient subi un dur revers au premier jour, l’Atlantique et la Saskatchewan étaient déterminées à obtenir un premier gain au Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans 2012, lors de la deuxième journée d’activités.

Voyez les photos et vidéos de l'événement
- - -
Achetez les images de cet événement

Toutefois, une bonne première période de la Saskatchewan et deux superbes buts de Kennedy Ottenbreit-Daunheimer (Grayson, Sask.) ont rendu la tâche difficile pour Équipe Atlantique, dès le début de l’affrontement.

Kaitlin Willoughby (Prince Albert, Sask.) a cassé la glace à 7 min 50 s, aidée de la défenseure Jolene Kirkpatrick (Traux, Sask.). Ottenbreit  a ensuite inscrit son premier du match, à 12 min 8 s. La capitaine Emily Clark (Saskatoon, Sask.) et Jaycee Gebhard (Plenty, Sask.) ont été ses complices.

Équipe Atlantique a senti la frustration de tirer de l’arrière par deux filets, écopant d’une punition à 15 min 8 s, ce qui a permis à la Saskatchewan d’obtenir un jeu de puissance. Clark a sauté sur l’occasion pour en compter un, élevant le disque dans le filet adverse avant d’y aller d’une petite célébration, entourée de ses coéquipières.

Malgré un déficit de 3-0, Équipe Atlantique a continué de batailler fort et de jouer avec hargne, ce qui lui a permis de profiter d’une attaque massive. Laura Polak (Beford, N.-É.) a inscrit son équipe au pointage avant de retourner au vestiaire avec un retard de deux buts.

Équipe Atlantique a élevé son jeu d’un autre cran en période médiane, ce qui a poussé la Saskatchewan a bataillé pour compter un quatrième filet. Le tir de Gebhard s’est faufilé derrière la cerbère de l’Atlantique. Le tableau indiquait un pointage de 4-1 après 40 minutes de jeu.

Les Canadiennes de l’Atlantique ont continué de faire preuve de courage en troisième période, décochant 14 tirs dans une tentative de marquer à nouveau, mais Ottenbreit et sa bande avaient des intentions différentes. Cette dernière a récolté son deuxième de la rencontre à 13 min 14 s. La Saskatchewan a remporté le duel 5-1 et amassé trois points au classement de la ronde préliminaire.

Cependant, la Saskatchewan devra grimper une plus grande marche vendredi. Elle affrontera les championnes en titre du tournoi, Ontario Rouge, à 16 h HR. Équipe Atlantique devra vaincre l’équipe hôte, la Colombie-Britannique, à son domicile. Le défi sera difficile quoique réalisable. La première mise au jeu de ce match vedette de vendredi est prévue à 19 h HR.

Surveillez toute l’action en direct de Dawson Creek sur FASTHockey au hockeycanada.fasthockey.com et obtenez les mises à jour au www.Twitter.com/HC_CFM18.

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 07 Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna EnCana Events Centre Ville, Pays Dawson Creek, C.-B.
Mois / Jour / Année 11/08/2012 Heure 16h00 MT
Assistance État du match Final

Compte   1     2     3   Total
Saskatchewan (SK) 3 1 1 5
Atlantique (ATL) 1 0 0 1

Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
   07:50 SK 17 Kaitlin Willoughby (2 Jolene Kirkpatrick)
   12:08 SK 18 Kennedy Ottenbreit-Daunheimer (13 Emily Clark, 6 Jaycee Gebhard)
   15:22 SK 13 Emily Clark (17 Kaitlin Willoughby, 19 Jaelei Meyer) AN
   16:35 ATL 15 Laura Polak (14 Connor Garagan) AN

Pénalités:
   05:01 SK 13 Emily Clark (Faire trébucher)
   09:31 SK 18 Kennedy Ottenbreit-Daunheimer (Mise en échec corporelle)
   15:08 ATL 17 Noemie Chiasson (Accrocher)
   16:20 SK 16 Mairi Sorensen (Faire trébucher)
   18:56 ATL 19 Lisa MacLean (Retenir)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   10:06 SK 6 Jaycee Gebhard (17 Kaitlin Willoughby)

Pénalités:
   07:50 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Donner du coude)
   17:11 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Double-échec)
   19:31 ATL   (Trop de joueurs)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   13:14 SK 18 Kennedy Ottenbreit-Daunheimer (2 Jolene Kirkpatrick)

Pénalités:
   11:00 ATL 14 Connor Garagan (Coup de bâton)
   18:55 ATL 22 Megan Normore (Double-échec)


Gardiens de but
Saskatchewan
1 Jane Kish Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00
Atlantique
31 Rebecca Weagle Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Total
Saskatchewan 7 10 6 23
Atlantique 5 7 14 26

Joueur du match
Saskatchewan 17 Kaitlin Willoughby
Atlantique 20 Jennifer MacAskill
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux