Game Summary
British Columbia 3 - Saskatchewan 1
 

POTOMAK PUTS TWO UP ON SCOREBOARD FOR HOST TEAM WIN

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – At just 14 years old playing at a female under-18 event, one might think that a rookie such as Sarah Potomak (Aldergrove, B.C.) might be a little intimidated when she first steps onto the ice at a national championship.

- - -
Purchase Images from this Event

But as one of B.C.’s two youngest players, Potomak was anything but that when she took her first strides wearing the B.C. jersey on the EnCana Events Centre ice, putting her province’s first goal up on the scoreboard at 12:58 in the first period to kick start her team’s lead over Saskatchewan and give the often underdog team from the west coast the confidence it needed to pull off an impressive win in front of a loud and proud local crowd. Lauren Spring (Kelowna, B.C.) helped out, her first of three assists to contribute to all B.C. goals in the game.

Saskatchewan skated and fought hard through the first in an attempt to even the score, but a rough second period that included four penalties put the central Canadian team behind by three goals, with Micah Hart (Saanichton, B.C.) making it 2-0 on a power-play, with Spring assisting, midway through the frame, and Potomak accepting the puck from Spring and capping it off when B.C. once again had a one-player advantage at 14:07 in the period.

After a dressing room break at intermission, Saskatchewan came out with more spark in their skates, battling for the puck in an attempt for the much-needed comeback, and a fired up Kaitlin Willoughby (Canwood, Sask.) was able to get a handle on the puck at 12:39 in the scored to dash hopes for a B.C. shutout.

Nevertheless, it was British Columbia to skate away with three points in the standings, undoubtedly fuelled by its enthusiastic fans in the stands. Jane Kish (Weyburn, Sask.) faced an impressive 37 shots between the posts, earning her player of the game honours for Saskatchewan.

Saskatchewan next takes to the ice against Atlantic at 4 p.m. on Thursday, while B.C. will be in tough when it faces off against defending gold medallists Ontario Red in tomorrow night’s feature game at 7 p.m. MT. Follow along on Twitter @HC_NWU18 for live game updates from the rink.

 

Game Information
Game Number 04 Round Preliminary
Arena EnCana Events Centre City, Country Dawson Creek, B.C.
Month / Day / Year 11/07/2012 Time 07:00 PM MT
Attendance Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
British Columbia (BC) 1 2 0 3
Saskatchewan (SK) 0 0 1 1

Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:
   12:58 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (17 Lauren Spring)

Penalties:
   01:56 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Checking to the Head)
   01:56 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Checking to the Head)
   01:56 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Checking to the Head)
   05:28 BC 10 Alyssa Erickson (Roughing)
   05:28 SK 4 Nikki Watters-Matthes (Roughing)
   10:02 BC 14 Hannah Miller (Bodychecking)
   14:59 BC 17 Lauren Spring (Slashing)

Second Period
Goals:
   09:15 BC 4 Micah Hart (10 Alyssa Erickson, 17 Lauren Spring) PP
   14:07 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (19 Mackenzie Wong, 17 Lauren Spring) PP

Penalties:
   01:54 SK 4 Nikki Watters-Matthes (Roughing)
   05:48 SK 8 Dessirae Kuhlmann (Interference)
   08:51 SK 12 Kylee Kupper (Bodychecking)
   13:00 SK 11 Bailey Braden (Checking to the Head)
   19:03 BC 2 Samantha Fieseler (Bodychecking)

Third Period
Goals:
   12:39 SK 17 Kaitlin Willoughby  SH

Penalties:
   11:20 SK 14 Nicole Goebel (Bodychecking)
   15:38 SK 4 Nikki Watters-Matthes (Roughing)


Goaltenders
British Columbia
31 Michaela Logan On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00
Saskatchewan
1 Jane Kish On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
British Columbia 11 16 10 37
Saskatchewan 6 6 5 17

Player of the Game
British Columbia 16 Sarah Potomak
Saskatchewan 1 Jane Kish
For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux

Sommaire du Match
Colombie-Britannique 3 - Saskatchewan 1
 

POTOMAK INSCRIT UN DOUBLÉ DANS UN GAIN DE L’ÉQUIPE HÔTE

DAWSON CREEK, C.-B. – À seulement 14 ans à un tournoi rassemblant des joueuses de moins de 18 ans, Sarah Potomak (Aldergrove, C.-B.) pourrait faire croire à certains qu’une telle recrue pourrait être un peu intimidée à ses premiers coups de patin au championnat national.

Voyez les photos et vidéos de l'événement
- - -
Achetez les images de cet événement

Mais en tant que l’une des deux joueuses les plus jeunes de la formation de la Colombie-Britannique, Potomak n’était pas du tout effrayée lorsqu’elle a entamé le tournoi avec le chandail de son équipe, sur la glace de l’EnCana Events Centre. Elle a compté le premier but de son club à 12 min 58 s du premier tiers pour prendre une avance face à la Saskatchewan et donner à la formation de la côte ouest, qui est souvent sous-estimée, la confiance nécessaire pour signer une victoire impressionnante devant une foule locale bruyante et fière. Lauren Spring (Kelowna, C.-B.) a récolté sa première de trois aides, ayant participé à tous les buts de la Colombie-Britannique.

La Saskatchewan a patiné avec vigueur en première période dans une tentative d’égaliser la marque, mais une difficile période médiane lui a fait prendre un retard de trois buts. Micah Hart (Saanichton, C.-B.) a porté le compte à 2-0 sur l’attaque massive, sur une aide de Spring, vers la dixième minute et Potomak a accepté une passe de Spring pour inscrire le dernier but de la Colombie-Britannique, à 14 min 7 s, encore en avantage numérique.  

Après l’entracte, la Saskatchewan est revenue avec plus d’étincelles dans les patins, bataillant pour la rondelle dans une tentative de remontée. L’énergique Kaitlin Willoughby (Canwood, Sask.) a réussi à marquer à 12 min 39 s pour enlever les espoirs de jeu blanc de la Colombie-Britannique.

Néanmoins, ce sont les Britanno-Colombiennes qui ont enregistré les trois points, sans doute motivées par les amateurs enthousiastes présents. Jane Kish (Weyburn, Sask.) a fait face à un nombre impressionnant de 37 tirs devant le filet, ce qui lui a valu l’honneur de joueuse du match pour la Saskatchewan.

La Saskatchewan affrontera l’Atlantique à 16 h jeudi, alors que la Colombie-Britannique sera opposée aux championnes en titre de l’or, Ontario Rouge, demain soir à 19 h HR, dans le match vedette de la journée. Suivez le www.Twitter.com/HC_CFM18 pour les mises à jour en direct en provenance de l’aréna.

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 04 Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna EnCana Events Centre Ville, Pays Dawson Creek, C.-B.
Mois / Jour / Année 11/07/2012 Heure 19h00 MT
Assistance État du match Final

Compte   1     2     3   Total
Colombie-Britannique (BC) 1 2 0 3
Saskatchewan (SK) 0 0 1 1

Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
   12:58 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (17 Lauren Spring)

Pénalités:
   01:56 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Mise en échec à la tête)
   01:56 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Mise en échec à la tête)
   01:56 SK 19 Jaelei Meyer (Mise en échec à la tête)
   05:28 BC 10 Alyssa Erickson (Rudesse)
   05:28 SK 4 Nikki Watters-Matthes (Rudesse)
   10:02 BC 14 Hannah Miller (Mise en échec corporelle)
   14:59 BC 17 Lauren Spring (Coup de bâton)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   09:15 BC 4 Micah Hart (10 Alyssa Erickson, 17 Lauren Spring) AN
   14:07 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (19 Mackenzie Wong, 17 Lauren Spring) AN

Pénalités:
   01:54 SK 4 Nikki Watters-Matthes (Rudesse)
   05:48 SK 8 Dessirae Kuhlmann (Obstruction)
   08:51 SK 12 Kylee Kupper (Mise en échec corporelle)
   13:00 SK 11 Bailey Braden (Mise en échec à la tête)
   19:03 BC 2 Samantha Fieseler (Mise en échec corporelle)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   12:39 SK 17 Kaitlin Willoughby  DN

Pénalités:
   11:20 SK 14 Nicole Goebel (Mise en échec corporelle)
   15:38 SK 4 Nikki Watters-Matthes (Rudesse)


Gardiens de but
Colombie-Britannique
31 Michaela Logan Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00
Saskatchewan
1 Jane Kish Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Total
Colombie-Britannique 11 16 10 37
Saskatchewan 6 6 5 17

Joueur du match
Colombie-Britannique 16 Sarah Potomak
Saskatchewan 1 Jane Kish
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux