Game Summary
Atlantic 2 - British Columbia 7
 

B.C. BEATS ATLANTIC 7-2 IN FRONT OF HOME CROWD; POTOMAK POTS HAT TRICK

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – Dawson Creek hockey fans got the excitement they were looking for Friday night inside the EnCana Events Centre, with British Columbia stepping out of the doors and onto the ice flying from the first puck drop to the final buzzer en route to beating Team Atlantic 7-2 and earning a spot in Saturday’s semifinals.
 

- - -
Purchase Images from this Event


And forward Sarah Potomak (Aldergrove, B.C.) may have had a little something to do with – the superstar forward had a hat trick and an assist to lead B.C. to the thrilling win that had fans in the stands and players on the bench jumping and cheering with adrenaline and excitement when the final buzzer sounded on the game.

Potomak potted her first goal on a 5-on-3 man advantage at 4:15 in the first on a Hannah Miller (North Vancouver, B.C.) assist, and Miller herself made it 2-0 just 17 seconds later on another power-play goal. And Potomak, Miller and their teammates on B.C. simply wouldn’t let up – Potomak added her second of the night in the last minute of the period, with Miller again helping out with an assist.

That made for quite a hole for Team Atlantic to attempt to dig out of going into the second, and Potomak and crew would only continue to make that crevice deeper. Potomak fed Mackenzie Wong (Surrey, B.C.) at 1:12 in the period and Emily Costales (Vancouver, B.C.) added an unassisted marker of her own to make it 5-0 in favour of the home province.

Nevertheless, Team Atlantic was determined to narrow that gap, and with a lot of grit and even more heart, fought for a goal of its own, and was finally able to pull off a couple of power-play goals of its own, with Laura Polak (Beford, N.S.) taking a pass from Connor Garagan (Fredericton, N.B.) at 17:20 and Breanna Lanceleve (Middle Sackville, N.S.). adding another to the score sheet at 18:17 to make it a more reasonable 5-2 going into intermission.

Atlantic kept up its momentum in the third, but B.C. pushed just as hard to perform for their home province crowd, with Wong getting the puck to Potomak, who had her third goal of the night on yet another power-play at 17:12 of the final frame. It looked like that would cap off the final score, but B.C.’s Brielle Bellerive was able to add another to the scoreboard a minute later for the 7-2 final, much to the dismay of Team Atlantic’s family and friends who travelled across the country, and to the delight of B.C.’s many fans filling the local arena.                                                                                                       

Watch the placement and semifinal games Saturday free of charge on FASTHockey, and check out www.Twitter.com/HC_NWU18 for live game updates from the EnCana Events Centre!

 

Game Information
Game Number 12 Round Preliminary
Arena EnCana Events Centre City, Country Dawson Creek, B.C.
Month / Day / Year 11/09/2012 Time 07:00 PM MT
Attendance Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Atlantic (ATL) 0 2 0 2
British Columbia (BC) 3 2 2 7

Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:
   04:15 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (14 Hannah Miller) PP
   04:32 BC 14 Hannah Miller (17 Lauren Spring) PP
   19:14 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (14 Hannah Miller)

Penalties:
   02:23 ATL 2 Nicole Corcoran (Tripping)
   04:05 ATL 18 Breanna Lanceleve (Tripping)
   09:59 BC 7 Alexa Ranahan (Interference)
   15:32 BC 7 Alexa Ranahan (Cross Checking)
   17:00 ATL 16 Ashtyn Bartlett (Tripping)
   17:00 ATL 20 Jennifer MacAskill (Checking to the Head)

Second Period
Goals:
   01:12 BC 19 Mackenzie Wong (16 Sarah Potomak)
   05:55 BC 9 Emily Costales  SH
   17:20 ATL 15 Laura Polak (14 Connor Garagan) PP
   18:18 ATL 18 Breanna Lanceleve (16 Ashtyn Bartlett, 7 Catherine LeBoeuf) PP

Penalties:
   05:21 BC 6 Stephanie Payne (Holding)
   12:35 ATL 10 Sarah Steele (Cross Checking)
   15:46 BC 7 Alexa Ranahan (Bodychecking)
   16:43 BC 3 Jodi Gentile (Hooking)
   18:54 BC 10 Alyssa Erickson (Bodychecking)

Third Period
Goals:
   17:12 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (19 Mackenzie Wong) PP
   18:11 BC 8 Brielle Bellerive (3 Jodi Gentile, 18 Chelsea Wilson)

Penalties:
   06:00 BC 15 Daley Oddy (Hooking)
   09:56 BC 4 Micah Hart (Interference)
   16:09 ATL 9 Savannah Newton (Bodychecking)


Goaltenders
Atlantic
31 Rebecca Weagle On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00
British Columbia
31 Michaela Logan On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Atlantic 4 7 6 17
British Columbia 9 4 7 20

Player of the Game
British Columbia 16 Sarah Potomak
Atlantic 18 Breanna Lanceleve
For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux

Sommaire du Match
Atlantique 2 - Colombie-Britannique 7
 

LA COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE L’EMPORTE 7-2 SUR L’ATLANTIQUE DEVANT SES PARTISANS; POTOMAK INSCRIT UN TOUR DU CHAPEAU

DAWSON CREEK, C.-B. – Les amateurs de hockey de Dawson Creek ont eu droit au spectacle qu’ils attendaient vendredi soir à l’EnCana Events Centre. La Colombie-Britannique a eu des ailes dès le début du match, et ce, jusqu’à la toute fin, en route vers une victoire de 7-2 sur Équipe Atlantique. Ainsi, elle s’est qualifiée pour les demi-finales de samedi.

Voyez les photos et vidéos de l'événement
- - -
Achetez les images de cet événement

La joueuse d’avant Sarah Potomak (Aldergrove, C.-B.) a mis son grain de sel. La grande vedette a récolté trois buts en plus d’ajouter une aide pour mener la Colombie-Britannique à une victoire excitante qui a comblé les partisans et joueuses sur le banc lorsque la sirène a retenti à la fin de la rencontre.

Potomak a inscrit son premier filet lors d’un 5 contre 3 à 4 min 15 s du premier tiers, aidée de Hannah Miller (North Vancouver, C.-B.). Ensuite, Miller a doublé l’avance des siennes à peine 17 secondes plus tard sur un jeu de puissance. Potomak, Miller et ses coéquipières n’avaient pas l’intention de s’arrêter là. Potomak a compté son deuxième de la rencontre à la dernière minute de la période, Miller obtenant une autre aide.

Équipe Atlantique avait donc toute une tâche devant elle en début de deuxième tiers. Potomak et sa bande ont continué de creuser cet écart. Potomak a alimenté Mackenzie Wong (Surrey, C.-B.) à  1 min 12 s de la période et Emily Costales (Vancouver, C.-B.) a ajouté un but sans aide pour porter la marque à 5-0 en faveur de l’équipe hôte.

Néanmoins, Équipe Atlantique était déterminée à réduire cet écart. Avec beaucoup de hargne et de cœur, elle s’est battue pour finalement inscrire deux buts sur l’attaque massive. Laura Polak (Beford, N.-É.) a accepté une passe de Connor Garagan (Fredericton, N.-B.) à 17 min 20 s et Breanna Lanceleve (Middle Sackville, N.-É.) en a ajouté un autre à 18 min 17 s pour réduire l’écart à trois buts avant la fin de la période.

Équipe Atlantique a poursuivi sur sa lancée au troisième tiers, mais la Colombie-Britannique s’est également imposée devant ses partisans. Wong a servi une passe à Potomak qui a inscrit son troisième but de la soirée, encore une fois en avantage numérique, à 17 min 12 s. Ce but semblait être le dernier de la rencontre, mais Brielle Bellerive de l’équipe hôte a réussi à en ajouter un autre pour porter le compte à 7-2, au grand désarroi des familles et amis d’Équipe Atlantique qui ont traversé le pays et au plaisir des nombreux partisans de la Colombie-Britannique qui ont rempli l’aréna.

Voyez les matchs de classement et les demi-finales samedi, tout à fait gratuitement, sur FASTHockey, et consultez le www.Twitter.com/HC_CFM18 pour les mises à jour en direct des matchs à l’EnCana Events Centre!

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 12 Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna EnCana Events Centre Ville, Pays Dawson Creek, C.-B.
Mois / Jour / Année 11/09/2012 Heure 19h00 MT
Assistance État du match Final

Compte   1     2     3   Total
Atlantique (ATL) 0 2 0 2
Colombie-Britannique (BC) 3 2 2 7

Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
   04:15 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (14 Hannah Miller) AN
   04:32 BC 14 Hannah Miller (17 Lauren Spring) AN
   19:14 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (14 Hannah Miller)

Pénalités:
   02:23 ATL 2 Nicole Corcoran (Faire trébucher)
   04:05 ATL 18 Breanna Lanceleve (Faire trébucher)
   09:59 BC 7 Alexa Ranahan (Obstruction)
   15:32 BC 7 Alexa Ranahan (Double-échec)
   17:00 ATL 16 Ashtyn Bartlett (Faire trébucher)
   17:00 ATL 20 Jennifer MacAskill (Mise en échec à la tête)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   01:12 BC 19 Mackenzie Wong (16 Sarah Potomak)
   05:55 BC 9 Emily Costales  DN
   17:20 ATL 15 Laura Polak (14 Connor Garagan) AN
   18:18 ATL 18 Breanna Lanceleve (16 Ashtyn Bartlett, 7 Catherine LeBoeuf) AN

Pénalités:
   05:21 BC 6 Stephanie Payne (Retenir)
   12:35 ATL 10 Sarah Steele (Double-échec)
   15:46 BC 7 Alexa Ranahan (Mise en échec corporelle)
   16:43 BC 3 Jodi Gentile (Accrocher)
   18:54 BC 10 Alyssa Erickson (Mise en échec corporelle)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   17:12 BC 16 Sarah Potomak (19 Mackenzie Wong) AN
   18:11 BC 8 Brielle Bellerive (3 Jodi Gentile, 18 Chelsea Wilson)

Pénalités:
   06:00 BC 15 Daley Oddy (Accrocher)
   09:56 BC 4 Micah Hart (Obstruction)
   16:09 ATL 9 Savannah Newton (Mise en échec corporelle)


Gardiens de but
Atlantique
31 Rebecca Weagle Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00
Colombie-Britannique
31 Michaela Logan Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Total
Atlantique 4 7 6 17
Colombie-Britannique 9 4 7 20

Joueur du match
Colombie-Britannique 16 Sarah Potomak
Atlantique 18 Breanna Lanceleve
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux