Game Summary
Atlantic 2 - Alberta 6
 

MORIN SISTERS PACE ALBERTA TO SEVENTH PLACE FINISH AT NATIONALS

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – Alberta finished strong at the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, with 17-year-old twins Ashley and Deanna Morin (Fort Saskatchewan, Alta.) combining on two goals for a 6-2 win over Team Atlantic and help their province to seventh place at the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship.

- - -
Purchase Images from this Event

It was Eden Murray (Medicine Hat, Alta.) to find the back of the Atlantic net first, accepting an assist from Alexandria Serpico (Calgary, Alta.) just past the midway point of the period. Linemates Ashley, Deanna and Sydney Smith (Lethbridge, Alta.) were passing the puck around a few minutes later, with Smith feeding Deanna, who put it over to Ashley to make it 2-0 at the 14-minute mark.

But several penalties in the first slowed down the western province’s pace on the ice, and Team Atlantic was able to narrow the gap at 17:00 minutes on an Ashtyn Bartlett (Durham Bridge, N.B.) power-play marker to put 2-1 on the scoreboard going into intermission.

But the Morin sisters were at it again in the second, with fellow forward Kathleen Cahoon (Calgary, Alta.) feeding Deanna, who sent it over to Ashley, who put it past the Atlantic goal line for a second time at just 1:19 in the period. Samantha Sutherland (Cochrane, Alta.) followed suit with her first of two goals, taking a pass from Amy Boucher (Edmonton, Alta.) at 13:40 to make it 4-1.

Team Atlantic kept battling hard the puck in an attempt to stage a comeback, and Jennifer Dillon (Summerside, P.E.I.) was able to put another one on the score sheet for the east coasters at 13:40, but when an Atlantic player was sent to the box, Alberta’s Serpico was able to add another power-play goal to the board to make it 5-2 by the end of the middle frame.

Sutherland capped it off midway through the lead for the 6-2 victory. Alberta claims seventh, while Atlantic settles for eighth place at this year’s National Women’s Under-18 Championship in Dawson Creek. Check out hockeycanada.fasthockey.com to watch the semifinals and bronze medal game live, and go to www.TSN.ca to see the gold medal game live.

 

Game Information
Game Number 13 Round 7th Place
Arena EnCana Events Centre City, Country Dawson Creek, B.C.
Month / Day / Year 11/10/2012 Time 10:00 AM MT
Attendance Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Atlantic (ATL) 1 1 0 2
Alberta (AB) 2 3 1 6

Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:
   11:56 AB 8 Eden Murray (14 Alexandria Serpico)
   14:00 AB 6 Ashley Morin (7 Deanna Morin, 3 Sydney Smith)
   17:00 ATL 16 Ashtyn Bartlett (7 Catherine LeBoeuf, 6 Marie-Jo Pelletier) PP

Penalties:
   02:27 AB 12 Cassandra Vilgrain (Tripping)
   05:23 AB 7 Deanna Morin (Tripping)
   07:04 AB 17 Jessica Healey (Cross Checking)
   09:51 ATL 23 Catherine Tufts (Bodychecking)
   15:07 AB 8 Eden Murray (Hooking)

Second Period
Goals:
   01:19 AB 6 Ashley Morin (7 Deanna Morin, 9 Kathleen Cahoon)
   13:40 AB 20 Samantha Sutherland (13 Amy Boucher)
   14:25 ATL 11 Jennifer Dillon (6 Marie-Jo Pelletier)
   16:03 AB 14 Alexandria Serpico (18 Hannah Olenyk, 10 Taryn Baumgardt) PP

Penalties:
   09:23 AB 17 Jessica Healey (Interference)
   14:56 ATL 3 Katie Haslett (Slashing)

Third Period
Goals:
   09:58 AB 20 Samantha Sutherland  PP

Penalties:
   08:05 ATL 17 Noemie Chiasson (Tripping)
   11:56 AB 15 Caitlin Fyten (Interference)
   14:59 ATL 8 Sarah Bujold (Hooking)
   16:41 AB 15 Caitlin Fyten (Interference)
   19:57 ATL 7 Catherine LeBoeuf (Tripping)


Goaltenders
Atlantic
31 Rebecca Weagle On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00
Alberta
1 Jerrica Waltz On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Atlantic 11 7 8 26
Alberta 13 6 8 27

Player of the Game
Alberta 6 Ashley Morin
Atlantic 20 Jennifer MacAskill
For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux

Sommaire du Match
Atlantique 2 - Alberta 6
 

LES SOEURS MORIN PERMETTENT À L’ALBERTA DE PRENDRE LE SEPTIÈME RANG DU NATIONAL

DAWSON CREEK, C.-B. – L’Alberta a terminé le Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans 2012 en force, alors que les jumelles de 17 ans, Ashley et Deanna Morin (Fort Saskatchewan, Alb.), ont cumulé deux buts dans un gain de 6-2 sur Équipe Atlantique. Ainsi, la formation albertaine termine la compétition en septième position.

Voyez les photos et vidéos de l'événement
- - -
Achetez les images de cet événement

Eden Murray (Medicine Hat, Alb.) a trouvé le fond du filet, acceptant une passe d’Alexandria Serpico (Calgary, Alb.) un peu après la première moitié de la période. Les partenaires de trio, Ashley, Deanna et Sydney Smith (Lethbridge, Alb.) ont fait circuler la rondelle quelques minutes plus tard et Smith a alimenté Deanna qui a redirigé le disque vers Ashley pour porter la marque à 2-0, à la 14e minute.

Toutefois, quelques punitions au premier tiers ont réduit le rythme des Albertaines. Équipe Atlantique a été en mesure de réduire l’écart à la 17e minute grâce à Ashtyn Bartlett (Durham Bridge, N.-B.) sur un jeu de puissance, portant le compte à 2-1 avant le premier entracte.

Les sœurs Morin étaient encore dans le coup en période médiane. La joueuse d’avant Kathleen Cahoon (Calgary, Alb.) a servi une passe à Deanna qui a effectué une passe vers Ashley. Cette dernière a déjoué la gardienne adverse pour une deuxième fois à 1 min 19 s du deuxième tiers. Samantha Sutherland (Cochrane, Alb.) a suivi avec son premier de deux buts, acceptant une passe d’Amy Boucher (Edmonton, Alb.), à 13 min 40 s et c’était 4-1.

Équipe Atlantique a continué de travailler fort dans une tentative de remontée. Jennifer Dillon (Summerside, Î.-P.-É.) a réussi à ajouter un but à son équipe à 13 min 40 s. Toutefois, la formation de l’Atlantique a écopé d’une punition et Serpico de l’Alberta en a profité pour inscrire un but sur l’avantage numérique, augmentant l’avance à 5-2 à mi-chemin dans la rencontre.  

Sutherland a ensuite fermé les livres pour confirmer cette victoire de 6-2. L’Alberta termine au septième rang, tandis que l’Atlantique prend le huitième échelon du Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans de cette année, à Dawson Creek. Consultez le hockeycanada.fasthockey.com pour voir les demi-finales et le match pour la médaille de bronze en direct et rendez-vous au www.TSN.ca pour voir la partie pour la médaille d’or en direct.

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 13 Ronde 7e place
Aréna EnCana Events Centre Ville, Pays Dawson Creek, C.-B.
Mois / Jour / Année 11/10/2012 Heure 10h00 MT
Assistance État du match Final

Compte   1     2     3   Total
Atlantique (ATL) 1 1 0 2
Alberta (AB) 2 3 1 6

Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
   11:56 AB 8 Eden Murray (14 Alexandria Serpico)
   14:00 AB 6 Ashley Morin (7 Deanna Morin, 3 Sydney Smith)
   17:00 ATL 16 Ashtyn Bartlett (7 Catherine LeBoeuf, 6 Marie-Jo Pelletier) AN

Pénalités:
   02:27 AB 12 Cassandra Vilgrain (Faire trébucher)
   05:23 AB 7 Deanna Morin (Faire trébucher)
   07:04 AB 17 Jessica Healey (Double-échec)
   09:51 ATL 23 Catherine Tufts (Mise en échec corporelle)
   15:07 AB 8 Eden Murray (Accrocher)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   01:19 AB 6 Ashley Morin (7 Deanna Morin, 9 Kathleen Cahoon)
   13:40 AB 20 Samantha Sutherland (13 Amy Boucher)
   14:25 ATL 11 Jennifer Dillon (6 Marie-Jo Pelletier)
   16:03 AB 14 Alexandria Serpico (18 Hannah Olenyk, 10 Taryn Baumgardt) AN

Pénalités:
   09:23 AB 17 Jessica Healey (Obstruction)
   14:56 ATL 3 Katie Haslett (Coup de bâton)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   09:58 AB 20 Samantha Sutherland  AN

Pénalités:
   08:05 ATL 17 Noemie Chiasson (Faire trébucher)
   11:56 AB 15 Caitlin Fyten (Obstruction)
   14:59 ATL 8 Sarah Bujold (Accrocher)
   16:41 AB 15 Caitlin Fyten (Obstruction)
   19:57 ATL 7 Catherine LeBoeuf (Faire trébucher)


Gardiens de but
Atlantique
31 Rebecca Weagle Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00
Alberta
1 Jerrica Waltz Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Total
Atlantique 11 7 8 26
Alberta 13 6 8 27

Joueur du match
Alberta 6 Ashley Morin
Atlantique 20 Jennifer MacAskill
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux