Game Summary
Manitoba 1 - Alberta 2 (OT)
 

Erika Sowchuk scores the game winner in overtime for Alberta

Chicoutimi, Quebec – Game 1 of the second day of the National Women’s Under 18 Championship featured Team Manitoba and Team Alberta. This game was of key importance to both teams since both had lost their opening game. On Wednesday, Alberta lost 2 -1 to British Columbia, while Manitoba was crushed 8 -2 by Ontario Red.

Media Gallery | Buy photos at HockeyCanadaImages.ca

Fans were expecting a great game and they were not disappointed. After three periods in a very tight game, the score was tied at 1. During the ensuing overtime, Erika Sowchuk (Cochrane, Alb.) became the hero of the game, finding the back of the net at just the right time. Alberta was thus able to put two precious points in the bank!

Both goaltenders were excellent throughout the first period, blocking every shot. Amanda Schubert (Winnipeg, Man.) turned back nine shots while her counterpart, Emerance Maschmeyer (Bruderheim, Alb.), blocked eight. Both goaltenders made spectacular saves on breakaways early on.

Cassandra Vilgrain (Calgary, Alb.) finally opened the scoring by beating Manitoba’s goaltender. After numerous tries, Team Alberta was able to put one into their opponent’s net by deflecting a shot. Cassandra Vilgrain is the daughter of former NHL right winger Claude Vilgrain who was also part of Canada’s national team and represented the country at the 1988 Olympic Games in Calgary.   

Towards the end of the game, Haley Studler (Grosse Isle, Man.) sent a shockwave through the crowd when she tied the game up with only a few minutes remaining, scoring Manitoba’s first goal after picking up a rebound. Callan Harland (Portage la Prairie, Man.) and Madison Hutchinson (Manitou, Man.) both assisted on the goal.

Manitoba will be back on the ice, Friday (10 a.m. ET) to face British Columbia, while Alberta will face Ontario Red (5 p.m.) also on Friday. There are still some tickets left for both games at the Centre Georges-Vezina. Come, be a part of the action!   

 

Game Information
Game Number 5 Round Preliminary
Arena Centre Georges-Vézina City, Country Saguenay, Que.
Month / Day / Year 11/03/2011 Time 10:00 AM ET
Attendance Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3     OT1   Total
Manitoba (MB) 0 0 1 0 1
Alberta (AB) 0 1 0 1 2

Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:
   None

Penalties:
   None

Second Period
Goals:
   16:51 AB 12 Cassandra Vilgrain (3 Sydney Smith, 17 Kelly Murray) PP

Penalties:
   04:57 MB 19 Haley Studler (Bodychecking)
   16:44 MB 9 Nicole McGlenen (Tripping)

Third Period
Goals:
   17:50 MB 15 Meghan Dufault 

Penalties:
   None

Overtime
Goals:
   02:05 AB 9 Erika Sowchuk 

Penalties:
   None


Goaltenders
Manitoba
1 Amanda Schubert On 1/00:00 Off 4/02:05
Alberta
29 Emerance Maschmeyer On 1/00:00 Off 4/02:05

Shots on Goal   1     2     3     OT1   Total
Manitoba 8 9 8 1 26
Alberta 9 13 7 5 34

Player of the Game
Alberta 17 Kelly Murray
Manitoba 15 Meghan Dufault
For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux

Sommaire du Match
Manitoba 1 - Alberta 2 (Prol.)
 

Érika Sowchuk tranche le débat en prolongation pour l’Alberta

Chicoutimi, Québec – Équipe Manitoba affrontait Équipe Alberta en levée de rideau lors de la deuxième journée au Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans. Ce match était d’une importance capitale pour les deux équipes qui ont toutes deux perdu leur partie initiale. L’Alberta s’est inclinée 2 -1 contre la Colombie-Britannique alors qu’Équipe Manitoba s’est frottée à Ontario Rouge qui n’entendait pas à rire, les battants 8-2, mercredi.

Galerie des médias | HockeyCanadaImages.ca

Les partisans avaient raison d’attendre ce match en grand nombre. Les nombreux spectateurs ont eu droit à une partie serrée. Après une égalité de 1 -1 après trois périodes de jeu, la prolongation a été nécessaire pour trancher le débat. C’est Erika Sowchuk (Cochrane, Alb.) de l’Alberta qui a touché la cible au moment opportun. Deux précieux points en banque pour l’Alberta!

La première période a été l’affaire des deux gardiennes de but qui n’ont rien laissé passer. Amanda Schubert (Winnipeg, Man.) a arrêté neuf tirs tandis que sa vis-à-vis Emerance Maschmeyer (Bruderheim, Alb.) a effectué huit arrêts. Les deux cerbères ont réalisé quelques bijoux sur des échappées tôt dans la rencontre. 

Une partie de l’énigme des gardiennes a finalement été résolue quand la jeune Cassandra Vilgrain (Calgary, Alb.) a compté un premier but dans le match, logeant le disque derrière la gardienne du Manitoba. Après plusieurs tentatives du clan albertain, le disque a pénétré dans le filet grâce à une déviation. La jeune Vilgrain est la fille de l’ancien ailier droit Claude Vilgrain qui a joué dans la Ligue nationale de hockey. Vilgrain a aussi joué pour l’équipe nationale du Canada et a représenté le pays aux Jeux olympiques de 1988 à Calgary.

En fin de match, Haley Studler (Grosse Isle, Man.) a semé l’euphorie dans la bâtisse avec un but dans les dernières minutes pour créer l’égalité. Studler a hérité d’un retour pour marquer un premier but pour le Manitoba. Un jeu bien orchestré par Callan Harland (Portage la Prairie, Man.) et Madison Hutchinson (Manitou, Man.).

Équipe Manitoba jouera son prochain match, vendredi (10 h HE) contre la Colombie-Britannique. Équipe Alberta affrontera Ontario Rouge (17 h HE) le même jour. Il reste encore de bons billets pour ces deux matchs au Centre Georges-Vézina! Venez en grand nombre!

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 5 Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna Centre Georges-Vézina Ville, Pays Saguenay, Qc
Mois / Jour / Année 11/03/2011 Heure 10h00 ET
Assistance État du match Final

Compte   1     2     3     Pro.1   Total
Manitoba (MB) 0 0 1 0 1
Alberta (AB) 0 1 0 1 2

Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
   Aucun

Pénalités:
   Aucune

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   16:51 AB 12 Cassandra Vilgrain (3 Sydney Smith, 17 Kelly Murray) AN

Pénalités:
   04:57 MB 19 Haley Studler (Mise en échec corporelle)
   16:44 MB 9 Nicole McGlenen (Faire trébucher)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   17:50 MB 15 Meghan Dufault 

Pénalités:
   Aucune

Prolongation
Buts:
   02:05 AB 9 Erika Sowchuk 

Pénalités:
   Aucune


Gardiens de but
Manitoba
1 Amanda Schubert Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 4/02:05
Alberta
29 Emerance Maschmeyer Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 4/02:05

Tirs au but   1     2     3     Pro.1   Total
Manitoba 8 9 8 1 26
Alberta 9 13 7 5 34

Joueur du match
Alberta 17 Kelly Murray
Manitoba 15 Meghan Dufault
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux