Team Pei

» Roster

TEAM PEI : This year, Team PEI took a slightly different approach in its selection process. The coaching staff watched some games and invited selected players out to a tryout. This approach was necessary due to time restraints to go through an open tryout process. As it worked out, we have a great group of skilled players that range in age from 16 to 35.

We have a good mixture of veterans and rookies. It’s always special to look into the eyes of the rookies as they step on the ice for their first game with nervous excitement wondering whether they really belong. More importantly, and an even greater experience for me to witness, is to see those same players’ confidence grow as the week moves on, where they now know they belong. To have young female hockey players come up to them, and ask for their autographs is just a win-win for both involved.

Team PEI has three long-time veterans in Tracey Knowles, Mary Jane Webster and captain Marion Clarke. We also have a good mixture of players returning for their third Nationals: Jennifer Sullivan, Genna Phelan, Nadine Wagner, Danielle Boyce, Kate Gaudet and Tessa Roche. Returning for their sophomore years are gritty defenceman Sarah MacAulay and goaltender Diana Benell. Team PEI welcomes seven rookies to its roster.

Team PEI has been working to improve its program over the past three years. PEI will play host to the 2008 Esso Women’s Nationals and this year, we will begin to build towards next year. Not knowing what the host and Team BC will have in their arsenal makes this year a little uncertain as to expectations, but we are going in with the attitude to win our pool and to go from there. To do this we will need all players doing the little things consistently, adapting to the new rules, specialty teams and, of course, goaltending. Can’t wait to hit the ice this March in beautiful Salmon Arm, BC!

For more information:
Riley Wiwchar Manager, Events & Marketing | Responsable, événements

Équipe Î.-P.-É

» Alignement

ÉQUIPE Î.-P.-É. : Cette année, Équipe Î.-P.-É. a adopté une façon de faire un peu différente lors de son processus de sélection. Le personnel d’entraîneurs a assisté à quelques matchs puis a invité certaines joueuses à un essai. Cette méthode était nécessaire compte tenu du peu de temps pour avoir des essais libres. Au bout du compte, l’équipe formée regroupe des joueuses habiles âgées de 16 à 35 ans.

Nous avons un excellent mélange de vétérantes et de recrues. C’est toujours agréable de voir l’étincelle dans les yeux des recrues lorsqu’elles s’avancent sur la glace pour la première fois laissant paraître une fébrilité et se demandant si elles méritent bien d’être là. Plus important, voire une plus belle expérience pour moi, c’est de voir ces mêmes joueuses avoir de plus en plus confiance en elles lorsqu’elles réalisent qu’elles méritent d’être là. Lorsque de jeunes joueuses leur demandent leur autographe, les deux parties sont gagnantes.

Équipe Î.-P.-É. compte trois vétérantes de longue date en Tracey Knowles, Mary Jane Webster et la capitaine Marion Clarke. L’équipe regroupe aussi plusieurs joueuses qui en sont à leur troisième championnat national soit Jennifer Sullivan, Genna Phelan, Nadine Wagner, Danielle Boyce, Kate Gaudet et Tessa Roche. Celles qui en sont à leur deuxième présence sont la défenseure tenace Sarah MacAulay et la gardienne Diana Benell. Équipe Î.-P.-É. accueille sept recrues au sein de sa formation cette année.

Équipe Î.-P.-É. se concentre à améliorer son programme depuis trois ans. En 2008, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard sera l’hôtesse du Championnat national féminin Esso et cette année, nous commençons à bâtir notre équipe en vue de l’an prochain. Ne sachant pas trop de quelles armes disposent l’hôtesse et Équipe C.-B. cette année, il est difficile de fixer des attentes, mais nous voulons terminer au sommet de notre groupe, et après cela, nous verrons. Pour ce faire, les joueuses devront constamment bien faire toutes les petites choses. Elles devront s’adapter aux nouvelles règles, les unités spéciales devront être efficaces, et bien sûr, les gardiennes devront être à la hauteur. Nous sommes impatients de nous avancer sur la glace en mars dans la belle ville de Salmon Arm en Colombie-Britannique.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Riley Wiwchar Manager, Events & Marketing | Responsable, événements