Game Summary
Notre Dame Hounds  2 -  Thunder Bay Queens  5

 

THUNDER BAY QUEENS UPSET FIRST PLACE TEAM IN POSSIBLE GOLD MEDAL PREVIEW

REGINA, Sask. – The Notre Dame Hounds may have started off on the right foot in their last round robin game of the Esso Cup, with Olivia Howe (Moose Jaw, Sask.), tipping in her own rebound just three minutes into the matchup, the Thunder Bay Queens quickly came back to upset the first place team and claim a 5-2 victory – as well as the top spot in the standings – Thursday inside the Co-operators Centre.

2010 Esso Cup Media Gallery

The Queens capitalized on a trio of power plays, including two in the last five minutes of the first period, to take the lead throughout most of the game. Brittany Zuback (Thunder Bay, Ont.) of the team representing Ontario slid the puck into the net at 16:04 in the first, with assists going to Michela Cava (Thunder Bay, Ont.) and Kaitlyn Quarrell (Thunder Bay, Ont.) to tie the game. Another Notre Dame penalty helped Thunder Bay make it 2-1 in their favour, with Quarrell getting her second point and first goal of the game at 18:33 in the period.

But it certainly wouldn’t be Quarrell’s last goal of the game. She put the Queens up 3-1 by firing the puck over the shoulder of netminder Tamber Tisdale (Red Deer, Alta.) while her team was shorthanded at 6:20 in the second, and followed up on her goal by putting away a power play marker at 12:33 in the period to make it 4-1 with an impressive natural hat trick.

The Notre Dame hounds, who have dominated the ice throughout much of the tournament, likely had a pep talk in the dressing room during the intermission, since they came out of the gates in the third ready to prove why they’ve been in first place for most of the week. Taylor Woods (Wilcox, Sask.) of the team from the Pacific region tipped in a shot at 17:31 in the third, but not before Brittany Berisoff (Kelowna, B.C.) scored Thunder Bay’s fifth and final goal of the game.

All in all, it was a competitive matchup between two of the best teams to hit the ice in Regina this week, but the Queens claimed the victory at the end of what could be a preview of Saturday’s gold medal game, which will be television on TSN2 at 4 p.m. CT. Defenceman Gabriela Stewart (Mississauga, Ont.) was named Player of the Game for Notre Dame for her work on the blue line, while Quarrell is taking home that honour for Thunder Bay for her incredible contributions to her team’s win, including a very rare natural hat trick.

 

Game Information
Game Number 14  Round Round Robin
Arena Co-operators Centre at Evraz Place City, Country Regina, Sask., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/22/2010 Time (local) 01:00 PM CT
Attendance 415 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Notre Dame Hounds (WST) 1 0 1 2
Thunder Bay Queens (ONT) 2 2 1 5
Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:
   03:04 WST 16 Olivia Howe (19 Brienna Gillanders, 4 Taylor Woods)
   16:04 ONT 19 Brittany Zuback (8 Michela Cava, 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell) PP
   18:33 ONT 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell (8 Michela Cava, 5 Courtney Tougas) PP

Penalties:
   06:52 WST 17 Julia Flinton (Interference)
   15:09 WST 14 Jenny More (Hooking)
   18:02 WST 19 Brienna Gillanders (Elbowing)

Second Period
Goals:
   06:20 ONT 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell SH
   12:33 ONT 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell (4 Brianna Iazzolino, 5 Courtney Tougas) PP

Penalties:
   05:08 ONT 18 Taylor Savard (Hooking)
   09:06 ONT 18 Taylor Savard (Hooking)
   11:49 WST 8 Gabriela Stewart (Roughing)
   18:22 ONT 17 Savanna Gamache (Roughing)

Third Period
Goals:
   00:23 ONT 7 Jana Henry (18 Taylor Savard)
   17:31 WST 4 Taylor Woods (11 Lindsay Brook, 17 Julia Flinton)

Penalties:
   13:04 ONT 11 Ellia Heroux (High Sticking)


Goaltenders
Notre Dame Hounds
1 Tamber Tisdale On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00
Thunder Bay Queens
35 Megan Leikkari On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Notre Dame Hounds 12 9 13 34
Thunder Bay Queens 10 9 5 24

Player of Game
Notre Dame Hounds 8 Gabriela Stewart
Thunder Bay Queens 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell
Officials
Referee Robin Sawatzky
Lines People Kari Laborde, Kim Hebert
Goal Judge Al Schaefer, Glen Albert

Sommaire du Match
Notre Dame Hounds  2 -  Thunder Bay Queens  5
 

LES QUEENS DE THUNDER BAY L’EMPORTENT SUR L’ÉQUIPE AU PREMIER RANG DANS UN APERÇU POSSIBLE DU MATCH POUR LA MÉDAILLE D’OR

REGINA (Saskatchewan) – Les Hounds de Notre Dame ont peut-être amorcé leur dernier match de la ronde préliminaire du bon pied puisque Olivia Howe (Moose Jaw, Sask.) a marqué en s’emparant de son propre rebond dès la troisième minute du match, mais les Queens de Thunder Bay n’ont pas tardé à répliquer avant de vaincre l’équipe au premier rang par la marque de 5 -2 – et de s’emparer du premier rang au classement –, jeudi au Centre Co-operators.

Galerie de médias de la Coupe Esso 2010

Les Queens ont profité de trois supériorités numériques, dont deux au cours des cinq dernières minutes du premier tiers, pour prendre l’avance, avance qu’elles n’ont jamais cédée. Brittany Zuback (Thunder Bay, Ont.) de l’équipe ontarienne a glissé la rondelle dans le filet à 16:04 de la première période avec l’aide de Michela Cava (Thunder Bay, Ont.) et Kaitlyn Quarrell (Thunder Bay, Ont.) pour niveler la marque. Une autre punition à Notre Dame a permis à Thunder Bay de prendre l’avance 2 -1 quand Quarrell a inscrit son deuxième point du match, son premier but, à 18:33 de la période.

Mais Quarrell n’allait pas s’arrêter là. Elle a donné l’avance aux siennes 3 -1 en décochant un tir par-dessus l’épaule de la gardienne Tamber Tisdale (Red Deer, Alb.) pendant que son équipe était à court d’une joueuse à 6:20 de la deuxième période, puis a réussi un tour du chapeau naturel en marquant à 12:33, cette fois-ci pendant une supériorité numérique.

Les Hounds de Notre Dame, qui ont dominé sur la glace presque tout au long du tournoi, ont sans doute tenu un discours motivateur dans le vestiaire pendant l’entracte, car elles se sont avancées sur la glace au troisième tiers, prêtes à prouver pourquoi elles ont occupé le premier rang pour la majeure partie de la semaine. Taylor Woods (Wilcox, Sask.) de l’équipe de la région du Pacifique a dévié un tir à 17:31 de la troisième période pour réduire l’écart, mais Brittany Berisoff (Kelowna, C.-B.) a ensuite marqué le cinquième but de Thunder Bay, le dernier du match.

Dans l’ensemble, ce fut une compétition serrée entre deux des meilleures formations prenant part au tournoi à Regina cette semaine, mais les Queens ont porté la victoire à leur fiche dans ce qui pourrait avoir été un aperçu du match pour la médaille d’or de samedi, match qui sera présenté sur les ondes de TSN2 à 16 h HC. La défenseure Gabriela Stewart (Mississauga, Ont.) a été nommée la joueuse du match de Notre Dame pour la qualité de son travail en défensive tandis que Quarrell a été choisie pour Thunder Bay en raison de sa contribution exceptionnelle à la victoire de son équipe, y compris un tour du chapeau naturel, un exploit rare.

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 14  Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna Co-operators Centre at Evraz Place Ville, Pays Regina, Sask., Canada
Moi / Jour / Année 04/22/2010 Heure (local) 13h00 CT
Assistance 415 Statut de jeu Finale

Compte   1     2     3  Totale
Notre Dame Hounds (WST) 1 0 12
Thunder Bay Queens (ONT)2215
Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
   03:04 WST 16 Olivia Howe (19 Brienna Gillanders, 4 Taylor Woods)
   16:04 ONT 19 Brittany Zuback (8 Michela Cava, 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell) AN
   18:33 ONT 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell (8 Michela Cava, 5 Courtney Tougas) AN

Pénalités:
   06:52 WST 17 Julia Flinton (Obstruction)
   15:09 WST 14 Jenny More (Accrocher)
   18:02 WST 19 Brienna Gillanders (Donner du coude)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   06:20 ONT 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell DN
   12:33 ONT 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell (4 Brianna Iazzolino, 5 Courtney Tougas) AN

Pénalités:
   05:08 ONT 18 Taylor Savard (Accrocher)
   09:06 ONT 18 Taylor Savard (Accrocher)
   11:49 WST 8 Gabriela Stewart (Rudesse)
   18:22 ONT 17 Savanna Gamache (Rudesse)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   00:23 ONT 7 Jana Henry (18 Taylor Savard)
   17:31 WST 4 Taylor Woods (11 Lindsay Brook, 17 Julia Flinton)

Pénalités:
   13:04 ONT 11 Ellia Heroux (Bâton élevé)


Gardiens de but
Notre Dame Hounds
1 Tamber Tisdale Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 3/20:00
Thunder Bay Queens
35 Megan Leikkari Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Totale
Notre Dame Hounds1291334
Thunder Bay Queens109524

Joueur du match
Notre Dame Hounds 8 Gabriela Stewart
Thunder Bay Queens 12 Kaitlyn Quarrell
Officiels
Arbitre Robin Sawatzky
Juges de lignes Kari Laborde, Kim Hebert
Juges de but Al Schaefer, Glen Albert