Jenny's Journal

SUNDAY, APRIL 25, 2010

Hello hockey world,

What a great week of hockey! I am so proud to be a part of the Regina Rebels organization. We played our best hockey of the season in the seven games at the Esso Cup. Not only that, but I have never played in a rink with an atmosphere that electric and that much fun.

First off, I would like to thank the 2010 Esso Cup host committee, all of the volunteers, the Ramada Hotel and Regina Inn, as well as all of the players, parents and coaches who made this week special. I had the opportunity to be a part of Team Saskatchewan at the National Women’s Under-18 Championship for two years, but my memories from this year’s Esso Cup will be my strongest of any tournament.

In every hockey game, our Rebels came out and competed to our absolute best. Like our coaches always say, "Leave nothing in the tank, and nothing on the ice." I believe that in the final days of the tournament there were two periods where we didn't play to our potential. I also believe that if we did play the way we can, we would have a medal around our necks.

I would also like to congratulate the Edmonton Thunder, Notre Dame Hounds and Thunder Bay Queens for their success at the tournament. The final game was a great one to watch. I had the privilege of being in the stands and experience the atmosphere of that final game firsthand.

I hope everyone who came out and watched some of the games, kept up with the tournament on the Hockey Canada website, or watched it on television enjoyed every minute of it. I know all of the teams had a week to remember.

Once again, thanks to all of the people who have helped out to make this tournament such a success.

It was tough to look around the dressing room and know it was the last time I would be in a room with all of the girls on my team. But I had a smile on because I know what our team has accomplished and how far we came over the 2009-10 season.

Thanks for reading,

Jenny

---

FRIDAY, APRIL 23, 2010

Hello hockey world,

This has been one of the best weeks of hockey I have ever had the pleasure to be a part of. Not only is the atmosphere amazing, but the girls have been playing their best hockey all season.  As I said at the start of the tournament, we are happy with coming in as the underdogs. As for tonight, against our rivals, the Notre Dame Hounds, we may still have that underdog role but everybody knows the capabilities of the Regina Rebels.

No matter what happens in these next two games, I am so proud to be teammates with all the girls and have such great coaches and staff. What a way to end my Midget AAA Rebel career: competing for a medal at a national championship!

I would just like to acknowledge our goalie Sami Langford for getting Top Goaltender of the tournament; we all know how good she is and it really showed in this round robin!

I know that all the Rebels are thinking about one thing tonight: redemption. We know we can compete with the Hounds, and we know if we play our game we have a good chance of coming out on top. Like our coach says, you’ve got to play the best to be the best.

So, Regina, come on out and support your Rebels tonight. It really gets us fired up when we have a loud and energetic crowd.  It truly is a do-or-die situation, so come watch some great hockey.

Bring the noise!

Jenny

For more information:
Riley Wiwchar Manager, Events & Marketing | Responsable, événements

SCOREBOARD

Esso Cup
Thu Apr 22, 2010
PAC 3 - ATL 2
WST 2 - ONT 5
QUE 1 - HST 3
Fri Apr 23, 2010
PAC 1 - ONT 2
HST 0 - WST 5
Sat Apr 24, 2010
PAC 5 - HST 1
WST 3 - ONT 4
Click here for complete schedule/results

Journal de Jenny

DIMANCHE 25 AVRIL 2010

Bonjour à vous du monde du hockey,

Quelle belle semaine de hockey! Je suis tellement fière de faire partie de l’organisation des Rebels de Regina. Nous avons joué notre meilleur hockey de la saison lors des sept matchs de la Coupe Esso. Non seulement ça, mais je n’ai jamais joué dans un aréna avec autant d’ambiance et de plaisir.

Premièrement, je tiens à remercier le comité hôte de la Coupe Esso 2010, tous les bénévoles, l’hôtel Ramada et le Regina Inn ainsi que toutes les joueuses, tous les parents et entraîneurs qui ont rendu cette semaine si spéciale. J’ai eu l’occasion de faire partie d’Équipe Saskatchewan au Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans pendant deux ans, mais mes souvenirs de la coupe Esso cette année seront les plus beaux.
 
À tous les matchs, les Rebels ont travaillé fort et nous avons fait de notre mieux. Comme nous le disaient souvent nos entraîneurs : « Ne laissez rien dans le réservoir, et rien sur la glace. » Je pense que pendant les derniers jours du tournoi, il y a eu deux périodes au cours desquelles nous n’avons pas joué de notre mieux. Je crois aussi que si nous avions joué comme nous en sommes capables, nous aurions pu avoir une médaille autour du cou.

Je veux féliciter le Thunder d’Edmonton, les Hounds de Notre Dame et les Queens de Thunder Bay pour leur succès au tournoi. Le dernier match a été superbe à regarder. J’ai eu le privilège d’être dans les gradins et de vivre l’ambiance de cette finale sur place.

J’espère que tous ceux et celles qui ont assisté aux matchs, qui ont suivi le tournoi sur le site Web de Hockey Canada ou à la télévision, ont aimé ce qu’ils ont vu. Je sais que toutes les équipes ont vécu une semaine qu’elles ne sont pas sur le point d’oublier.  

Encore une fois, merci à tous ceux qui ont aidé à faire de ce tournoi un succès.

Ce fut difficile d’être dans le vestiaire sachant que c’était la dernière fois que j’étais aux côtés de toutes mes coéquipières. Mais je souriais parce que je sais ce que notre équipe a accompli et le chemin qu’elle a parcouru pendant la saison 2009-10.

Merci de m’avoir lu.

Jenny

---

VENDREDI 23 AVRIL 2010

Bonjour à vous du monde du hockey,

Ceci a été une des plus belles semaines de hockey de ma vie. Non seulement l’ambiance est-elle extraordinaire, mais les filles ont joué leur meilleur hockey de la saison. Comme je l’ai dit au début du tournoi, nous sommes contentes d’être les négligées. Quant au match de ce soir contre nos rivales, les Hounds de Notre Dame, nous sommes peut-être encore les négligées, mais tout le monde sait ce dont les Rebels de Regina sont capables.

Peu importe ce qui se produira au cours des deux prochains matchs, je suis tellement fière de toutes mes coéquipières, de nos entraîneurs et de tout le personnel. Quelle belle façon de terminer ma carrière au midget AAA ; participer à un championnat national!

Je veux aussi féliciter notre gardienne Sami Langford d’avoir été nommée la meilleure gardienne du tournoi; nous savons tous qu’elle est excellente et cela a vraiment paru pendant la ronde préliminaire!

Je sais que les Rebels n’auront qu’une chose en tête ce soir : se racheter. Nous savons que nous pouvons rivaliser avec les Hounds et nous savons que si nous jouons notre jeu, nous avons de bonnes chances de l’emporter. Comme dit notre entraîneur : Il faut jouer de son mieux pour être les meilleures.

Alors Regina, venez appuyer vos Rebels ce soir. Cela nous motive vraiment de jouer devant une foule bruyante et énergique. Ce soir, c’est tout ou rien. Venez donc voir un excellent match de hockey.

Et faites du bruit!    

Jenny

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Riley Wiwchar Manager, Events & Marketing | Responsable, événements

TABLEAU

Coupe Esso
Jeudi 22 Avr. 2010
PAC 3 - ATL 2
WST 2 - ONT 5
QUE 1 - HST 3
Vendr. 23 Avr. 2010
PAC 1 - ONT 2
HST 0 - WST 5
Sam. 24 Avr. 2010
PAC 5 - HST 1
WST 3 - ONT 4
Cliquez ici pour l'horeire/resultats complet