3 Stars of the Day

 SATURDAY, JANUARY 4, 2014

1. Luke Kirwan (United States)
While teammate Colin White stole the spotlight with a tournament-leading 18 points and four consecutive games of at least three points, Kirwan finished the tournament second in scoring and tied for second in goals, capped by a two-goal performance in Saturday’s gold medal game, opening and closing the scoring to help the U.S. win its fourth gold.

2. Zach Sawchenko (Pacific)
Pacific’s sixth silver medal finish is no fault of its goaltender, who held the tournament’s highest-scoring offence – averaging more than seven goals per game – to just four on Sunday night. Sawchenko finished with 48 saves, including period totals of 11, 22 and 15; by comparison, his American counterpart, Michael Lackey, had to make just 12 stops.

3. Dmitry Zhukenov (Russia)
Trailing Quebec 2-0 late in the first period of Saturday’s bronze medal game, Zhukenov helped set up Ivan Emets to get the Russians on the board, scored the eventual game-winner six minutes into the third period and added another assist on Mikhail Byakin’s insurance goal eight minutes later to help Russia medal for the third consecutive year.


3 STARS OF THE DAY – FRIDAY, JANUARY 3, 2014

1. Colin White (United States)
White continued his torrid scoring pace in Friday’s semifinal victory over Quebec, scoring two more goals and adding two more assists for his fourth consecutive game of at least three points. The Hanover, Mass., native leads the tournament in goals (nine), assists (seven) and points (16) for the Americans, who have outscored their opponents 43-6.

2. Matteo Gennaro (Pacific)
With Pacific nursing a one-goal lead late in the second period of its Friday night semifinal against Russia, Gennaro went to work; he drove to the net to jam in the eventual game-winner on the power play before roofing a short-side backhand midway through the third, part of a three-point performance to help Pacific to its sixth gold medal game.

3. Dylan Strome (Ontario)
The little brother of U17 alumnus and NHL first-round draft pick Ryan Strome finished his tournament in style Friday, scoring a pair of goals, including the game-winner on a second-period power play, and adding an assist as Ontario finished fifth. Strome is the tournament’s highest-scoring Canadian, with 11 points (six goals, five assists) in five games.


THURSDAY, JANUARY 2, 2014

1. Nicolas Roy (Quebec)
Roy showed Thursday afternoon why he was the No. 1 pick in last spring’s QMJHL Entry Draft, scoring once and adding a pair of assists to help lead Quebec over West and into the semifinals for the second year in a row. After helping set up goals by Brandon Gignac and David Henley in the first period, Roy added a little insurance early in the second.

2. Colin White (United States)
White gets this spot not just for his performance Thursday night, finishing with two goals and an assist in the unbeaten Americans’ win over Ontario, but for his entire body of work in the preliminary round. The U.S. forward led all players with 12 points in four games, had a tournament-leading seven goals and registered at least one goal and point in every game.

3. Adam Musil (Pacific)
Musil picked an opportune time for his first goal of the tournament, scoring the game-winner 26 seconds into the second period to lead Pacific atop its preliminary round group for the first time since 2006, and back to the semifinals after a two-year hiatus. The Delta, B.C., native also added an assist to double his point output for the tournament, from two to four.


WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 1, 2014

1. Logan Flodell (West)
The West goaltender was hot from the drop of the puck, making 16 of his 38 saves in the first period, and was the biggest reason the Canadian side held a two-goal, third-period lead on the defending gold medallists. Sweden battled back to deny West the full three points, but Flodell came up big with a pair of stops in the shootout to help West to its first win.

2. Mitchell Marner (Ontario)
Marner almost single-handedly led Ontario back from a three-goal deficit against Russia, scoring twice in the final 5:12 to complete his hat trick and tie the game, and had multiple chances in overtime for a fourth, albeit in a losing cause. The hat trick gives Marner a tournament-leading six goals in three games; he has seven in 35 games with the OHL’s London Knights.

3. Ivan Kashtanov (Russia)
The Russian captain was the extra-time hero, scoring the lone goal in the shootout to keep his team’s semifinal hopes alive with a wild win over Ontario. Kashtanov also scored in regulation time for the Russians, who have not missed out on the final four since a seventh-place finish at the 2009 tournament, and have appeared in back-to-back gold medal games.


TUESDAY, DECEMBER 31, 2013

1. Olivier Tremblay (Quebec) & Felix Sandström (Sweden)
How can you pick just one? The Swedes got the victory on Tuesday night, but it took a shootout, and Sandström and Tremblay, his Quebec counterpart stole the show. The two goaltenders turned away a combined 90 of 94 shots (a .957 save percentage) in the extra-time thriller in North Sydney; Sandström made 41 saves, while Tremblay finished with 49.

2. Colin White (United States)
The U.S. continues to roll, and Tuesday night it was White’s turn to be the offensive star; the Hannover, Mass., native scored twice and added three assists in the Americans’ 9-1 win over Atlantic, giving him a tournament-leading nine points (five goals, four assists) in three games. Every U.S. skater has recorded at least one point thus far in the Americans’ 3-0 start.

3. Daniel Vladar (Czech Republic)
Yet another goaltender makes the list. Vladar stood tall (not tough for a 6-foot-4 netminder) in the Czech goal in Tuesday’s win over West, making 32 saves and leading the European side to victory despite being outshot 34-18. He stopped 25 of 26 over the last 40 minutes, putting the Czechs on the verge of a semifinal berth for the first time since 2006.


MONDAY, DECEMBER 30, 2013

1. Luke Kirwan (United States)
The entire American offence could take top spot after scoring 19 goals and racking up 107 shots on goal through two games, but it was Kirwan who was all over the scoresheet Monday, scoring three goals and adding two assists, all before the 14-minute mark of the second period. The U.S. scored its most goals in a game since beating Norway 16-0 in 1995.

2. Matteo Gennaro (Pacific)
Gennaro was an offensive catalyst Monday, opening the scoring early in the first period and helping set up Giorgio Estephan late in the opening frame to put Pacific up by at least two goals for good. The Prince Albert Raiders added his second goal early in the third period, helping Pacific even its record at 1-1 and keep its semifinal hopes alive in Group A.

3. Jordan Greenway (United States)
The biggest player on the U.S. roster at 6-foot-4 and 215 pounds, Greenway had a hat trick in the Americans’ rout of Germany, scoring twice in a span of 3:29 late in the second period and adding his third to finish the scoring late in the third, helping the U.S. become the first team with at least 19 goals in its first two games since Sweden had 26 in 1997.


SUNDAY, DECEMBER 29, 2013

1. Mitchell Marner (Ontario)
Ontario spread around the scoring in its tournament-opening 8-1 win over Germany, with 11 players putting their names on the scoresheet, but it was Marner who led the way with the first hat trick of the tournament. Putting up points is nothing new for the Thornhill, Ont., native, who leads OHL rookies in scoring with 36 points in 35 games for the London Knights.

2. Maxime Fortier (Quebec)
After helping set up two of Quebec’s first three goals, Fortier picked an ideal time for his first, sliding home the game-winner with less than five minutes to go, sealing Quebec’s come-from-behind 4-3 victory over Pacific. Fortier has been a scoring machine for Lac St-Louis in the LHMAAAQ, sitting third in league scoring with 24 goals and 41 points in 27 games.

3. John Dahlström (Sweden)
Dahlström was all around the puck for the Swedes in their 3-1 victory over the Czech Republic, scoring the game-winner early in the second period and assisting on his team’s other two goals. The win is Sweden’s seventh consecutive at the tournament, dating back to its undefeated run to its first-ever gold medal last year in Victoriaville and Drummondville, Que.

Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

3 étoiles du jour

SAMEDI 4 JANVIER 2014

1. Luke Kirwan (États-Unis)
Alors que son coéquipier de trio Colin White volait la vedette en terminant au premier rang des pointeurs du tournoi avec 18 points et quatre matchs consécutifs d’au moins trois points, Kirwan a terminé au deuxième rang des pointeurs et à égalité au deuxième rang des buteurs grâce, en partie, à ses deux buts samedi dans le match pour la médaille d’or, ouvrant et fermant la marque pour aider les États-Unis à gagner leur quatrième médaille d’or.

2. Zach Sawchenko (Pacifique)
Si le Pacifique remporte une sixième médaille d’argent, il ne faut surtout pas blâmer son gardien de but qui a limité la meilleure offensive du tournoi – avec une moyenne de plus de sept buts par match – à seulement quatre buts dimanche soir. Sawchenko a réussi 48 arrêts dans le match, soit 11, 22 et 15 par période, comparativement à son homologue américain, Michael Lackey, qui n’a eu à repousser que 12 tirs.

3. Dmitry Zhukenov (Russie)
Tirant de l’arrière 2-0 contre le Québec en fin de première période du match pour la médaille de bronze samedi, Zhukenov a contribué au but d’Ivan Emets qui a permis aux Russes de s’inscrire à la feuille de pointage, il a marqué l’éventuel but gagnant à la sixième minute de la troisième période et a ajouté une mention d’aide à sa fiche sur le but d’assurance de Mikhail Byakin huit minutes plus tard pour aider la Russie à remporter une médaille pour une troisième année de suite.


VENDREDI 3 JANVIER 2014

1. Colin White (États-Unis)
White a poursuivi sur son incroyable lancée dans la victoire des siens sur le Québec vendredi soir en demi-finale, marquant deux autres buts et ajoutant deux aides à son quatrième match consécutif d’au moins trois points. Le jeune homme de Hanover, Mass., est au premier rang du tournoi au chapitre des buts (neuf), des aides (sept) et des points (16) avec les Américains qui ont dominé leurs adversaires 43-6 au total des buts.

2. Matteo Gennaro (Pacifique)
Alors que le Pacifique protégeait une avance d’un but sur la Russie en fin de deuxième période en demi-finale vendredi soir, Gennaro s’est mis au travail; il a foncé au filet en avantage numérique pour pousser la rondelle dans le but, marquant ainsi l’éventuel but gagnant, avant de faire mouche d’un tir haut du côté court au milieu du troisième tiers. Il a accumulé trois points dans le match pour aider le Pacifique à se qualifier une sixième fois pour le match pour la médaille d’or.

3. Dylan Strome (Ontario)
Frère cadet de Ryan Strome, ancien du tournoi des M17 et choix de première ronde de la LNH, Dylan a terminé le tournoi en beauté vendredi, marquant deux buts, incluant le but gagnant en avantage numérique en deuxième période, et ajoutant une aide pour aider l’Ontario à s’emparer de la cinquième place. Strome est le meilleur pointeur canadien au tournoi avec 11 points (six buts, cinq aides) en cinq matchs.


JEUDI 2 JANVIER 2014

1. Nicolas Roy (Québec)
Roy a démontré jeudi après-midi pourquoi il avait été le premier choisi lors du repêchage de la LHJMQ du printemps dernier. Il a accumulé un but et deux mentions d’aide aidant le Québec à vaincre l’Ouest et à accéder aux demi-finales pour la deuxième année consécutive. Après avoir soutenu le travail des buteurs Brandon Gignac et David Henley en première période, Roy a ajouté un but d’assurance au début de la période médiane.

2. Colin White (États-Unis)
White obtient cet honneur non seulement en raison de sa performance de jeudi soir contre l’Ontario, complétant le match avec un bilan de deux buts avec les Américains, invaincus, mais pour l’ensemble de son travail pendant la ronde préliminaire. Cet avant des États-Unis qui est en tête des pointeurs avec un cumul de 12 points en quatre matchs, est aussi le meilleur buteur du tournoi avec sept buts et il a également enregistré au moins un but et un point à chacune des rencontres.

3. Adam Musil (Pacifique)
Musil a bien choisi le moment pour compter son premier but du tournoi, marquant le but victorieux à seulement 26 secondes dans la deuxième période menant le Pacifique au sommet du classement de son groupe de la ronde préliminaire pour la première fois depuis 2006 et lui assurant une place aux demi-finales après une pause de deux ans. Le garçon natif de Delta en Colombie-Britannique a aussi ajouté une mention d’aide doublant son rendement total au tournoi de deux à quatre points.


3 ÉTOILES DU JOUR – MERCREDI 1ER JANVIER 2014

1. Logan Flodell (Ouest)
Le gardien de l’Ouest était aux aguets dès la première mise en jeu, effectuant 16 de ses 38 arrêts au cours du premier tiers, et a été le grand responsable du maintien de l’avance de deux buts des Canadiens jusqu’en troisième période à l’endroit des champions en titre. La Suède a répliqué pour éviter que ses rivaux soient crédités de trois points, mais Flodell a réagi vigoureusement en bloquant deux tirs de barrage procurant un premier gain à l’Ouest.

2. Mitchell Marner (Ontario)
Marner a presque sorti à lui seul l’Ontario d’un déficit de trois buts imposé par la Russie, marquant à deux reprises au cours des 5 min 12 s restant à jouer et complétant son tour du chapeau tout en créant l’égalité. Il a raté plusieurs occasions de marquer son quatrième but en prolongation bien que la cause était perdue. Grâce à ce tour du chapeau, Marner s’enorgueillit de la position de meilleur compteur du tournoi avec six buts en trois matchs; il en a accumulé sept au cours des 35 matchs qu’il a disputés avec les Knights de London de l’OHL.

3. Ivan Kashtanov (Russie)
Le capitaine russe a tenu le rôle de héros en prolongation, marquant le seul but des tirs de barrage et ouvrant la porte de la demi-finale à sa formation qui garde espoir grâce à une victoire sur l’Ontario. Kashtanov a aussi compté en période réglementaire pour les Russes, qui n’ont raté aucun carré d’as depuis leur triste fin de tournoi de 2009 au septième rang et qui ont pris part aux deux derniers matchs pour la médaille d’or.


MARDI 31 DÉCEMBRE 2013

1. Olivier Tremblay (Québec) et Felix Sandström (Suède)
Comment n’en choisir qu’un? Les Suédois ont remporté le match mardi soir, mais il aura fallu des tirs de barrage et Sandström et Tremblay, son homologue québécois, ont volé la vedette. Ensemble, les deux gardiens de but ont repoussé 90 de 94 tirs (un pourcentage d’arrêts de 0,957) au cours de cet excitant match à North Sydney. Sandström a réalisé 41 arrêts et Tremblay, 49.

2. Colin White (États-Unis)
Les États-Unis poursuivent sur leur lancée et mardi soir, ce fut au tour de White de mener la charge offensive. Le jeune homme de Hannover, Mass., a accumulé deux buts et trois aides dans la victoire de 9-1 des Américains sur l’Atlantique, portant son total de points à neuf (cinq buts, quatre aides) en trois matchs pour se hisser au sommet des pointeurs. Tous les patineurs des États-Unis ont inscrit au moins un point à ce jour dans les trois victoires consécutives des leurs.

3. Daniel Vladar (République tchèque)
Eh oui, un autre gardien de but obtient une étoile. Vladar a été à la hauteur (ce qui n’est pas trop difficile pour un gardien de 6 pieds 4) devant le filet tchèque dans la victoire des siens sur l’Ouest mardi, effectuant 32 arrêts et menant la formation européenne à la victoire malgré le fait qu’elle a été dominée 34-18 au chapitre des tirs au but. Il a bloqué 25 des 26 tirs dirigés vers lui au cours des 40 dernières minutes, permettant aux Tchèques de peut-être prendre part aux demi-finales pour la première fois depuis 2006.


3 ÉTOILES DU JOUR – LUNDI 30 DÉCEMBRE 2013

1. Luke Kirwan (États-Unis)
Toute l’attaque américaine pourrait avoir été nommée la première étoile, ayant compté 19 buts et décoché 107 tirs en deux parties, mais c’est Kirwan qui a inscrit son nom partout sur la feuille de pointage lundi, récoltant trois buts et deux aides, tout cela avant la 14e minute du deuxième tiers. Les États-Unis ont enregistré leur plus haut total de buts en un match depuis leur victoire sur la Norvège, 16-0, en 1995.

2. Matteo Gennaro (Pacifique)
Gennaro a mené l’offensive lundi, ouvrant la marque en début de rencontre et préparant le filet de Giorgio Estephan en fin de première période afin de permettre au Pacifique de prendre au moins une avance de deux buts pour de bon. Le joueur des Raiders de Prince Albert a ajouté un deuxième but au début du troisième tiers, aidant le Pacifique à porter sa fiche à 1-1 et à conserver ses chances de jouer en demi-finale dans le groupe A.

3. Jordan Greenway (États-Unis)
Greenway, le plus gros joueur de la formation américaine, un colosse de 6 pieds 4 pouces et 215 livres, a inscrit un tour du chapeau dans la victoire sur les Allemands, marquant deux fois en l’espace de 3 min 29 s en fin de deuxième période et inscrivant son troisième à la fin du troisième vingt. Il a aidé les États-Unis à devenir la première formation à obtenir au moins 19 buts au cours de ses deux premiers matchs depuis la Suède en 1997, avec 26.


DIMANCHE 29 DÉCEMBRE 2013

1. Mitchell Marner (Ontario)
L’Ontario a frappé fort dans un gain de 8-1 sur l’Allemagne, alors que 11 différents joueurs ont inscrit leur nom sur la feuille de pointage, mais c’est Marner qui a dominé avec le premier tour du chapeau du tournoi. Récolter des points n’a rien d’étranger au joueur de Thornhill, Ont., lui qui domine les recrues de l’OHL avec 36 points en 35 parties avec les Knights de London.

2. Maxime Fortier (Québec)
Après avoir aidé à préparer deux des trois premiers buts du Québec, Fortier a choisi le moment idéal pour compter son premier but, fonçant au filet pour inscrire le but de la victoire avec moins de cinq minutes à écouler et complétant la remontée du Québec dans un gain de 4-3. Fortier est une machine à produire des points dans la LHMAAAQ, positionné au troisième rang des pointeurs du circuit avec 24 buts et 41 points en 27 rencontres.

3. John Dahlström (Suède)
Dahlström n’a jamais été bien loin de la rondelle dans la victoire de 3-1 de la Suède sur les Tchèques, inscrivant le but gagnant en début de deuxième période et participant aux deux autres buts de sa formation. Cette victoire est la septième consécutive de la Suède au Défi mondial de hockey des moins de 17 ans, si on remonte à son parcours sans faille de l’an dernier à Victoriaville et Drummondville, Qc, qui lui a permis de gagner sa première médaille d’or.

Vidéos
Photos
DM17 2014 : RUS 6 – QUE 2
04 janvier 2014
Zhukenov inscrit trois points et aide la Russie à effectuer une remontée et remporter le bronze.
DM17 2014 : USA 4 – PAC 0
04 janvier 2014
Luke Kirwan a inscrit un doublé pour mener les É.-U. à une quatrième médaille d’or au M17.
DM17 2014 : USA 9 – QUE 1
03 janvier 2014
White, Boka et Tkachuk marquent deux buts chacun et les É.-U. joueront en finale.
DM17 2014 : PAC 7 – RUS 3
03 janvier 2014
Huit joueurs ont cumulé au moins deux points pour confirmer la place du Pacifique au match pour la médaille d’or.
DM17 2014 : USA 6 – ONT 2
02 janvier 2014
Colin White inscrit un but et deux aides et les États-Unis concluent une ronde préliminaire parfaite.
DM17 2014 : ATL 4 – GER 3
01 janvier 2014
Kyle Ward a compté le but victorieux tardivement procurant un premier gain pour l’Atlantique.
DM17 2014 : WST 3 – SWE 2 (TB)
01 janvier 2014
Keane et Murray ont marqué en tirs de barrage et l’Ouest a signé un premier gain.
DM17 2014 : RUS 6 – ONT 5 (TB)
01 janvier 2014
Ivan Kashtonov a compté l’unique but des tirs de barrage pour garder en vie la Russie.
DM17 2014 : RUS 5 – ATL 3
01 janvier 2014
Zhelebev marque deux buts et aide la Russie dans son parcours vers la demi-finale.
DM17 2014 : CZE 5 – WST 2
31 décembre 2013
Daniel Vladar a effectué 32 arrêts pour aider les Tchèques à signer un deuxième gain.
DM17 2014 : USA 9 - ATL 1
31 décembre 2013
Colin White a accumulé quatre points et l’offensive des É.-U. se poursuit.
DM17 2014 : SWE 3 – QUE 2 (TB)
31 décembre 2013
Emanuelsson et Léman ont marqué en tirs de barrage et la Suède l’emporte.
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: