3 Stars of the Day

Day 7 – Sunday, January 4, 2009

1. JP Anderson (G) – Ontario
The tournament all-star team goaltender was at his best with the entire country watching on Sunday night, making 33 saves to help Ontario to another gold medal. Anderson made 17 of his saves in the second period, when Ontario was outshot 18-10.

2. Jacob Fallon (F/A) – United States
With all-star teammates Brandon Saad and Adam Clendining getting most of the ink it was Fallon took centre stage on Sunday, racking up a hat trick as the Americans claimed the bronze medal, the third straight medal for the U.S. at the U17 tournament.

3. John McFarland (F/A) – Ontario
The tournament’s leading scorer makes this list for the third time in seven days, as it was his goal in the first minute of the third period that ended any Pacific momentum and sealed the Ontario gold. McFarland was an easy choice for the all-star team.


Day 6 – Saturday, January 3, 2009

1. Alex Petrovic (D) – Pacific
Could it be anyone else? Petrovic got Pacific’s comeback started with a goal late in the second period to cut the Americans’ lead to one, and finished it with the overtime winner 5:35 into the extra period, sending his team to the gold medal game.

2. Sean Couturier (F/A) – Atlantic
The New Brunswick-born sniper saved his best for last, racking up three goals and two assists as Atlantic avoided a last-place finish with a victory over Finland. Couturier picked up more than half his tournament points (five of nine) in Saturday’s victory.

3. Tyler Seguin (F/A) – Ontario
Seguin may have scored only twice but he finds himself tied for second in tournament scoring, based on his tournament-leading eight assists, seven of which have come in the last two games. Seguin picked up four helpers in Sunday’s semifinal win.


Day 5 – Friday, January 2, 2009

1. Tom Kühnhackl (F/A) – Germany
Germany’s best player was its best player on Friday, scoring twice and adding an assist to help the Germans to a tight one-goal win over Russia and send them to Saturday’s fifth-place game, a game they haven’t played in in more than a decade.

2. Brandon Saad (F/A) – United States
Saad did his part in the Americans’ big win over West that wrapped up first place, setting up a pair of goals in the second period to give the U.S. some breathing room at 3-0, and then adding a goal of his own as the offence came alive in the third period.

3. John McFarland (F/A) – Ontario
The first overall pick in the 2008 OHL Priority Selection continued to show his promise, picking up a goal and two assists in Ontario’s 13th consecutive U17 tournament win. McFarland is tied for the tournament lead in scoring with nine points in four games.


Day 4 – Thursday, January 1, 2009

1. Guillaume Asselin (F/A) – Quebec
Asselin is the first player to make two appearances on the 3 Stars list, picking up his second hat trick in three games to lead Quebec to a win over Finland. Asselin scored a quarter of the Canadian side’s preliminary round goals (six of 24).

2. Emerson Etem (F/A) – United States
The speedy forward was all over the ice in the Americans’ third consecutive win, picking up a goal and an assist on the same shift in the opening period and adding another goal in the second. The American offense has scored 22 times in three games.

3. Troy Rutkowski (D) – Pacific
Rutkowski’s second goal of the tournament might have been the biggest of his young career, as his wrist shot from the slot snuck through Atlantic goaltender Julien Daigle for the overtime winner and kept Pacific’s first-place hopes alive in Group A.


Day 3 – Wednesday, December 31, 2008

1. Brandon Hynes (F/A) – Atlantic
Hynes did it all for Atlantic on Wednesday, scoring three times – including the overtime winner – and setting up two more in an extra-time victory over Germany. With Atlantic facing the 2-0 Americans Thursday, the strong play will need to continue.

2. John McFarland (F/A) – Ontario
Ontario was nursing a one-goal lead entering the third period of its game against Russia when McFarland took over, scoring twice in the period’s opening six minutes to complete his hat trick and propel the defending gold medalists to victory.

3. Dylan Wruck (F/A) – West
Wruck was the driving force behind West’s playoff-clinching victory, scoring twice in the second period to give his team the lead and adding two assists in the third period as the Canadian squad pulled away from Slovakia in the game’s final frame.


Day 2 – Tuesday, December 30, 2008

1. Vladislav Namestnikov (F/A) – Russia
Namestnikov racked up four goals in the win over Atlantic to record the first such game at this year’s U17 tournament. His offensive outburst helped the Russians recover from Monday’s heartbreaking last-second loss to Pacific.

2. Jordan De Pape (F/A) – West
The West captain was a force with the man advantage in the win over Finland, recording a trio of goals and adding an assist, with all four points coming on the power play. If the PP continues to click, West could be ready to make some noise.

3. Guillaume Asselin (F/A) – Quebec
Asselin racked up three points in the final 20 minutes – scoring twice to complete his hat trick – as Quebec staged a third period for the ages, scoring seven times to come back and beat Slovakia, evening its record ahead of a big game Wednesday.


Day 1 – Monday, December 29, 2008

1. Charles Inglis (F/A) – West
Inglis was a one-man wrecking crew in Monday’s win over Quebec, scoring twice – once on the power play and once shorthanded – and adding an assist as the Westerners took the first step towards improving on 2008’s bronze medal.

2. Chase Balisy (F/A) – United States
He didn’t score one of the Americans’ 12 goals, but Balisy racked up three assists in the first period, sparking the American offence to a six-goal opening frame. If the U.S. continues to score seemingly at will, a third gold medal could be in the future.

3. Brett Connolly (F/A) – Pacific
The Prince George Cougars sniper scored one of the biggest goals of his young career, snapping a shot under the crossbar with just 17 seconds to go to give Pacific a thrilling win over Russia. Connolly also added an assist in the victory.

Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Trois étoiles du jour

Jour 7 – Dimanche 4 Janvier 2009

1. JP Anderson (G) – Ontario
Le gardien étoile du tournoi a été au sommet de son art alors que tout le pays avait les yeux tournés vers lui, dimanche soir, effectuant 33 arrêts pour aider l’Ontario à remporter une autre médaille d’or. Anderson a réalisé 17 de ces arrêts en deuxième période alors que l’Ontario était dominée 18 -10 au chapitre des tirs au but.

2. Jacob Fallon (F/A) – États-Unis
Pendant que ses coéquipiers étoiles Brandon Saad et Adam Clendining faisaient beaucoup parler d’eux, Fallon a volé la vedette dimanche, réussissant un tour du chapeau, pour aider les Américains à remporter la médaille de bronze, la troisième médaille consécutive des États-Unis au tournoi des M17.

3. John McFarland (F/A) – Ontario
Le meilleur marqueur du tournoi obtient une étoile pour la troisième fois en sept jours puisque ce fut son but au cours de la première minute de la troisième période qui a freiné le Pacifique et scellé l’issue du match pour l’Ontario. McFarland était un choix évident pour l’équipe des étoiles.


Jour 6 – Samedi 3 Janvier 2009

1. Alex Petrovic (D) – Pacifique
Qui d’autre? Petrovic a amorcé la remontée du Pacifique en marquant un but en fin de deuxième période pour réduire l’écart des Américains à un seul but, puis a marqué le but de la victoire à 5:35 de la prolongation permettant à son équipe de jouer pour la médaille d’or.

2. Sean Couturier (F/A) – Atlantique
Le franc-tireur originaire du Nouveau-Brunswick a gardé le meilleur pour la fin, cumulant trois buts et deux aides pour permettre à l’Atlantique d’éviter le dernier rang du classement grâce à une victoire sur la Finlande. Couturier a inscrit plus de la moitié de ses points au tournoi (cinq de neuf) dans la victoire, samedi.

3. Tyler Seguin (F/A) – Ontario
Seguin n’a peut-être inscrit que deux buts, mais il se trouve à égalité au deuxième rang des pointeurs du tournoi en raison de ses huit mentions d’aide, un sommet au tournoi, dont sept au cours des deux derniers matchs. Seguin a cumulé quatre aides lors de la victoire des siens, samedi, en demi-finale.


Jour 5 – Vendredi 2 Janvier 2009

1. Tom Kühnhackl (F/A) – Allemagne
Le meilleur joueur de l’Allemagne a été son meilleur joueur vendredi, cumulant deux buts et une aide pour aider les Allemands à l’emporter de justesse sur la Russie et se tailler une place dans le match pour la cinquième place, samedi, match auquel ils n’ont pas participé depuis plus de dix ans.

2. Brandon Saad (F/A) – États-Unis
Saad a fait son travail dans la victoire des États-Unis pour s’emparer du premier rang en obtenant deux mentions d’aide au deuxième tiers pour donner une marge de manœuvre aux siens avec une avance de 3 -0 avant d’ajouter un but lors de l’explosion offensive en troisième période.

3. John McFarland (F/A) – Ontario
Le premier choix au total de la sélection prioritaire de l’OHL en 2008 a continué de faire état de son potentiel, cumulant un but et deux aides dans la 13e victoire consécutive de l’Ontario au tournoi des M17. McFarland est à égalité au premier rang des pointeurs du tournoi avec neuf points en quatre matchs.


Jour 4 – Jeudi 1er Janvier 2009

1. Guillaume Asselin (F/A) – Québec
Asselin est le premier joueur à se retrouver parmi les trois étoiles pour une deuxième fois après avoir réussi son deuxième tour du chapeau en trois matchs pour mener le Québec à la victoire sur la Finlande. Asselin a marqué le quart des buts de sa formation en ronde préliminaire (six de 24).

2. Emerson Etem (F/A) – États-Unis
Cet avant rapide était partout sur la glace lors de la troisième victoire consécutive des Américains, cumulant un but et une aide lors d’une même présence sur la glace en première période avant d’ajouter un second but au deuxième tiers. L’offensive américaine a produit 22 buts en trois matchs.

3. Troy Rutkowski (D) – Pacifique
Le deuxième but de Rutkowski au tournoi est peut-être le plus important de sa jeune carrière puisque son tir du poignet de la zone privilégiée s’est faufilé entre les jambes du gardien de l’Atlantique, Julien Daigle, pour donner la victoire au Pacifique en prolongation et garder ses espoirs de terminer au premier rang du groupe A bien en vie.


Jour 3 – Mercredi 31 Décembre 2008

1. Brandon Hynes (F/A) – Atlantique
Hynes a tout fait pour l’Atlantique, mercredi, marquant trois buts – dont le but gagnant en prolongation – et obtenant deux aides dans la victoire des siens en prolongation sur l’Allemagne. Les efforts devront se poursuivre contre les Américains (2 -0), jeudi.

2. John McFarland (F/A) – Ontario
L’Ontario protégeait une avance d’un but au début de la troisième période contre la Russie lorsque McFarland a pris les choses en mains, marquant deux fois au cours des six premières minutes pour réussir son tour du chapeau et assurer la victoire des médaillés d’or en titre.

3. Dylan Wruck (F/A) – Ouest
Wruck a été la force motrice de la victoire de l’Ouest qui s’assure de participer aux éliminatoires, marquant deux buts au deuxième tiers pour donner l’avance aux siens et obtenant deux mentions d’aide en troisième période pour aider le Canada à creuser l’écart sur la Slovaquie.


Jour 2 – Mardi 30 Décembre 2008

1. Vladislav Namestnikov (F/A) – Russie
Namestnikov a marqué quatre buts contre l’Atlantique pour être le premier à réussir un tel exploit au tournoi des M17 cette année. Son explosion offensive a aidé les Russes à se remettre de leur défaite crève-cœur de lundi aux mains du Pacifique dans les dernières secondes du match.

2. Jordan De Pape (F/A) – Ouest
Le capitaine de l’Ouest a été excellent lors des supériorités numériques contre la Finlande, cumulant trois buts et une aide, tous en supériorité numérique. Si son jeu de puissance continue de bien fonctionner, l’Ouest pourrait en surprendre plusieurs.

3. Guillaume Asselin (F/A) – Québec
Asselin a inscrit trois points au cours des 20 dernières minutes – dont deux buts pour compléter son tour du chapeau – alors que les Québec a disputé une troisième période qui passera aux annales, marquant sept fois pour remonter la pente et vaincre la Slovaquie, portant sa fiche à 1 -1 à la veille d’un important match, mercredi.


Jour 1 – Lundi 29 Décembre 2008

1. Charles Inglis (F/A) – Ouest
Inglis a presque tout fait, lundi, dans la victoire des siens sur le Québec, marquant deux buts – un en avantage numérique et un en désavantage numérique – et ajoutant une aide pour aider l’Ouest dont l’objectif est de faire mieux que la médaille de bronze remportée l’an dernier.

2. Chase Balisy (F/A) – États-Unis
Il n’a pas marqué un seul des 12 buts des Américains, mais Balisy a obtenu trois mentions d’aide en première période, fournissant l’étincelle qui a propulsé l’offensive américaine à marquer six buts en première période. Si les États-Unis continuent de marquer comme bon leur semble, une troisième médaille d’or pourrait bien s’ajouter à leur collection.

3. Brett Connolly (F/A) – Pacifique
Le franc-tireur des Cougars de Prince George a inscrit un des buts les plus importants de sa jeune carrière, décochant un tir sous la barre horizontale alors qu’il restait seulement 17 secondes à jouer pour permettre au Pacifique de vaincre la Russie dans un match excitant. Connolly a également obtenu une mention d’aide dans la victoire.

Videos
Close
Crédit  
Close
Crédit photo :