Day in Review

Saturday, January 1, 2005

ONTARIO 7 UNITED STATES 5

It looked like it was going to be all Team USA, when they started 2005 off with a bang, scoring four goals in the first period. Goals came from Jamie McBain, Bill Sweatt, Blake Geoffrion and Ryan Flynn. Team Ontario showed they still had life when Aaron Snow scored late in the period. In the second period Justin Azevedo cut the USA lead in half, when his goal found the top shelf. Team USA regained their three point lead when Chris Summers sneaked one threw the five hole on Team Ontario Goalie, Jason Guy. Cory Emmerton was again able to bring the game closer as he scored a shorthanded goal to close out the second period.  The third period was all Team Ontario as they scored four unanswered goals. Cory Emmerton buried his second of the game, while Jordan Stall scored two, one included an empty net goal. The biggest goal came with 22 seconds left in the game when James McGinn silenced the USA fans and scored the game winner. The players of the game were Brian Strait for Team USA and Jason Guy for Team Ontario.

PACIFIC 5 ATLANTIC 2

A boisterous crowd at the Enmax Centre on New Year’s Day added to the electricity on the ice, as both teams came out firing early in the contest. Patrick O’Keefe scored on a point shot to give Team Atlantic a 1-0 lead. Team Pacific quickly retaliated when Ben Maxwell snuck in a nifty wrap-around goal to tie it up 1-1. Atlantic reclaimed the lead early in the second when Robert Slaney’s shot found the back of the net. Pacific did not sit idle, as forward Zach Hamill scored two unanswered goals to give his team a 3-2 lead before the end of the second period. In the third, Jesse Dudas recorded his tournament leading 6th assist when he assisted on Robert Skinner’s goal early in the frame. Pacific then added another marker for his team when Tyler Swystun scored the club’s 5th goal to give the team a 5-2 lead. Pacific held onto the lead to establish the win. Pacific’s record improves to 2-0-2. Atlantic’s record drops to 2-1-0. Philadelphia Flyers’ head coach Ken Hitchcock presented the players of the game. Brad Marchand was the player of the game for Atlantic. Brady Calla was the player of the game for Pacific.

QUEBEC 3 FINLAND 6

Team Quebec dominated Finland in the first period which was evidenced by Quebec’s 20 shots on goal, to Finland’s 6. Despite the high number of shots taken, Quebec’s Benjamin Breault scored the only goal for his club in the period. It was goaltender Niko Hovinen who kept his team in the game after the first twenty minutes of play. His Finnish teammate, Jan-Mikael Juutilainen capitalized on a power-play opportunity to tie the game 1-1. Finland changed their tone drastically in the second period, scoring 4 goals within ten minutes. Francois Bouchard picked up his second point on the night when he assisted on Hugo Carpentier’s lone Quebec goal in the period. The frame ended with Finland in the lead with a score of 5-2. The third period saw Quebec and Finland score 1 goal each, to conclude the game with a final score of 6-3, and a victory for Finland. Finland’s record improves to 2-0-1 with the win on the evening. Quebec’s record drops to 0-3-0. Finnish forwards Timo Rinne and Jan-Mikael Juutilainen had a strong game, gathering 4 and 5 points respectively. Niko Hovinen made 42 saves for the win.

GERMANY 2 WESTERN 7

Team West looked to go 3-0 in the tournament as they played winless Team Germany in front of a pro Team West crowd at the Nicholas Sheran Arena. Team West came out flying as Jordan Knackstedt split the German defense and opened the scoring. Team Germany was equal to the task as Patrick Hager split the Team West defense and tied the game at one. Team West came right back to take the lead, when Kyle Bortis scored two quick goals past Benjamin Dirksen. The domination continued for Team West in the second period,  as three goals were scored. First, by Logan Pyett, followed by Ian Duval, and Jonathan Toews. Team Germany was able to sneak one in at the end of the second when Marcel Muller went five hole on Kevin Armstrong. One more goal was scored in the third when Logan Pyett scored on a deflection. Shots on goal for the game were 50-20 for Team West. The player of the game for Team Germany was Marcel Muller. For Team West the player of the game was captain Jonathan Toews, who now has 4 goals and 2 assists in the tournament.

For more information:
Jeff Beck Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux

Retour Sur la Journée

Le samedi 1 janvier 2005

ONTARIO 7 ÉTATS-UNIS 5

Le match semblait dans le sac pour les États-Unis qui ont marqué quatre buts en première période pour amorcer l’année 2005 avec vigueur. Jamie McBain, Bill Sweatt, Blake Geoffrion et Ryan Flynn furent les auteurs de ces buts. Équipe Ontario a prouvé qu’elle était encore sur la patinoire quand Aaron Snow a marqué à la fin de la période. En deuxième période, Justin Azevedo a réduit l’écart des Américains de moitié avec un tir dans la partie supérieure du filet. L’équipe des É.-U. a repris une avance de trois buts quand Chris Summers a déjoué le gardien de l’Ontario, Jason Guy, entre les deux jambières. Cory Emmerton a de nouveau réduit l’écart en inscrivant un but en désavantage numérique pour mettre fin au deuxième tiers. Équipe Ontario a dominé la troisième période en marquant quatre buts sans réplique. Cory Emmerton a obtenu son deuxième du match tandis que Jordan Stall a obtenu deux buts, dont un dans un filet désert. Le but le plus important de la rencontre est survenu avec 22 secondes à faire dans le match quand James McGinn a mis fin aux espoirs des partisans américains en inscrivant le but gagnant. Les joueurs du match furent Brian Strait de l’équipe des États-Unis et Jason Guy d’Équipe Ontario.

PACIFIQUE 5 ATLANTIQUE 2

La foule bruyante au Centre Enmax en ce Jour de l’An a renforcé l’électricité qui régnait sur la glace quand les deux formations ont amorcé le match avec fougue. Patrick O’Keefe a marqué d’un tir du point d’appui pour donner une avance de 1-0 à Équipe Atlantique. Ben Maxwell d’Équipe Pacifique n’a pas tardé à niveler la marque à 1-1 en contournant habilement le filet et déjouant le gardien. L’Atlantique a repris les devants au début de la seconde période quand le tir de Robert Slaney s’est trouvé dans le fond du but. Mais le Pacifique n’avait pas dit son dernier mot et Zach Hamill a marqué deux buts sans réplique pour donner une avance de 3-2 aux siens à la fin du deuxième tiers. Jesse Dudas a obtenu sa sixième mention d’aide, un sommet au tournoi, sur le but de Robert Skinner du Pacifique tôt en troisième période. Équipe Pacifique a ensuite obtenu son cinquième but sur un tir de Tyler Swystun portant ainsi la marque à 5-2. Équipe Pacifique a protégé son avance pour remporter le match et améliorer sa fiche à 2-0-2. La fiche d’Équipe Atlantique est maintenant de 2-1-0. L’entraîneur-chef des Flyers de Philadelphie, Ken Hitchcock, a remis les prix aux joueurs du match soit Brad marchand d’Équipe Atlantique et Brady Calla d’Équipe Pacifique.

QUÉBEC 3 FINLANDE 6

Équipe Québec a dominé la Finlande en première période en obtenant 20 tirs au but contre seulement 6 tirs pour la Finlande. Malgré le grand nombre de tirs au but, seul Benjamin Breault du Québec a réussi à marquer. Le gardien de but Niko Hovinen a gardé son équipe dans le match au cours des vingt premières minutes de jeu. Son coéquipier finlandais Jan-Mikael Juutilainen a profité d’un avantage numérique pour niveler la marque 1-1. La Finlande a changé radicalement d’allure en deuxième période, marquant quatre buts en dix minutes. François Bouchard a obtenu son deuxième point de la rencontre lorsqu’il a obtenu une mention d’aide sur le but d’Hugo Carpentier qui a inscrit le seul but du Québec pendant le deuxième tiers.  La période a donc pris fin avec la Finlande jouissant d’une avance de 5-2. Au cours du troisième vingt, le Québec et la Finlande ont chacun obtenu un but pour porter la marque finale à 6-3. Cette victoire permet à la Finlande d’améliorer sa fiche qui est maintenant de 2-0-1 tandis que le Québec présente maintenant une fiche de 0-3. Les avants finlandais Timo Rinne et Jan-Mikael Juutilainen ont disputé un excellent match, cumulant 4 points et 5 points respectivement. Niko Hovinen a bloqué 42 tirs pour aider son équipe à remporter le match.

ALLEMAGNE 2 OUEST 7

Équipe Ouest cherchait à améliorer sa fiche à 3-0 dans le tournoi dans ce match contre Équipe Allemagne qui n’avait aucune victoire à son actif devant une foule partisane à l’aréna Nicholas Sheran. Équipe Ouest a entrepris le match avec fougue et Jordan Knackstedt a fendu la défensive allemande pour ouvrir la marque. L’équipe de l’Allemagne a réalisé le même exploit quand Patrick Hager a lui aussi réussi à fendre la défensive de l’Ouest pour niveler la marque. Équipe Ouest a rapidement repris l’avance quand Kyle Bortis a marqué deux buts rapides contre le gardien Benjamin Dirksen. Équipe Ouest a poursuivi sa domination du match en deuxième période en inscrivant trois buts. Ce fut d’abord Logan Pyett suivi d’Ian Duval et de Jonathan Toews. Équipe Allemagne a enfin réussi à déjouer le gardien Kevin Armstrong d’un tir de Marcel Muller à la fin de la deuxième période. Un seul but a été marqué en troisième période, celui de Logan Pyett qui a dévié un tir. Équipe Ouest a réalisé 50 tirs au but contre 20 pour l’Allemagne. Les joueurs du match furent Marcel Muller pour l’Allemagne et le capitaine Jonathan Toews pour l’Ouest qui présente une fiche de 4 buts et 2 aides dans le tournoi.       

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Jeff Beck Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux