Banff Hockey Academy 0 - Edge School - Gold 3

EDGE – GOLD CAPTURES VARSITY DIVISION BRONZE MEDAL AFTER WIN OVER BANFF

CALGARY, Alta. – Branson Schneider stopped  13 shots for the shutout, Aidan Keane grabbed two assists and three different goal –scorers paced Edge School – Gold to a 3-0 win over the Banff Hockey Academy to capture the World Sport School Challenge Varsity Division bronze medal on Wednesday.

Goaltender Michael Lenko kept Banff in the game in the first period, stopping all 12 shots he faced, as Edge – Gold held a 12-3 shot-advantage, however, the teams went to the dressing room scoreless after 20 minutes.

Edge – Gold finally were able to solve Lenko in the second period, as Chase Althen opened the scoring 7:47 into the frame and Hayden Ursulak added another goal just under seven minutes later, making it 2-0 after two periods. Edge – Gold outshot Banff by a count of 15-2 in the period, giving them a total of 27 shots through 40 minutes, while Banff only mustered five shots on Edge – Gold goaltender Schneider. 

Just 29 seconds into the third period, Austin Holmes made it 3-0 with an insurance-goal for Edge – Gold and Schneider continued to shut the door the rest of the way, making eight saves in the final period, securing the win.

Edge – Gold went 2-1 in the preliminary round, which included an 8-2 win over Banff on Day 1. After getting a bye straight to the semifinals, they were upset by the Okanagan Hockey Academy setting up the bronze medal game with Banff, who were 7-2 losers to Rothesay Netherwood School in their semifinal game after defeating SISEC by a score of 4-1 in the quarter-finals. Banff went 1-2 in the preliminary round.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 15 - Varsity
Round/Ronde Bronze
Arena/Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre - Rink B
Location/Lieu Calgary, Alta.
Date Wed. Jan 2, 2013
Time/Heure 11:30 AM. MT

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
BHA
0 0 0 0
EDG-G 0 2 1 3

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
  None
Penalties/Pénaltés :
   08:42 EDG-G 6 Chas Mcarthur (Slashing)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
   07:47 EDG-G 14 Chase Althen (21 Kade Jensen)
   14:20 EDG-G 16 Hayden Ursulak (11 Aidan Keane)

Penalties/Pénaltés :
   02:24 EDG-G 21 Kade Jensen (Interference)
   02:24 BHA 11 Yannis Soukas (Tripping)
   05:02 BHA 14 Marc Janisch (Hooking)
   07:47 BHA 20 Billy Wildman (Roughing)
   09:16 BHA 11 Yannis Soukas (Checking to the Head)
   11:16 BHA 11 Yannis Soukas (Checking to the Head)
   15:06 BHA 2 Tomas Sak (Charging)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
   00:29 EDG-G 19 Austin Holmes (11 Aidan Keane)
Penalties/Pénaltés :
   12:55 EDG-G 14 Chase Althen (Interference)
   18:22 EDG-G 19 Austin Holmes (Holding)

 

Goaltenders/Gardien(ne)s de but
BHA 30 Michael Lenko On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00
EDG-G 30 Branson Schneider On 1/00:00 Off 3/20:00

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
BHA
3 2 8 13
EDG-G 12 15 6 33

 

Players of the Game/Joueur(se) du match
BHA 11 Aidan Keane
EDG-G 30 Michael Lenko
Videos
Close
Credit

Banff Hockey Academy 0 - Edge School - Gold 3

L’EDGE – OR S’EMPARE DE LA MÉDAILLE DE BRONZE DE LA DIVISION VARSITY EN L’EMPORTANT SUR BANFF

CALGARY, Alberta – Branson Schneider a arrêté les 13 tirs au but dirigés vers lui pour signer un jeu blanc, Aidan Keane a récolté deux aides et trois buteurs ont participé à la victoire de 3-0 de l’Edge School – Or qui s’est emparé de la médaille de bronze de la division 2 – Varsity au Défi mondial des écoles sport-études aux dépens de la Banff Hockey Academy, mercredi.

Le gardien de but Michael Lenko a permis à Banff de tenir tête à son adversaire en première période en arrêtant les 12 tirs qu’il a essuyés tandis que l’Edge – Or profitait d’un avantage de 12-3 au chapitre des tirs au but. L’équipe est cependant retournée au vestiaire sans marquer de point après les 20 premières minutes de jeu.

L’Edge – Or a réussi à déjouer Lenko en deuxième période avec un but de Chase Althen 7 min 47 s après le début de la période. Sept minutes plus tard, Hayden Ursulak marquait à nouveau et portait la marque à 2-0 après deux périodes. L’Edge – Or a accumulé plus de tirs au but que Banff en devançant cette dernière 15-2 pendant la deuxième période pour un total de 27 tirs en 40 minutes de jeu contre cinq tirs contre le gardien de but de l’Edge – Or, Schneider, pour Banff.

Vingt-neuf secondes après le début de la troisième période, Austin Holmes a inscrit le but gagnant et donné une avance de 3-0 à l’Edge – Or. Schneider n’a laissé aucune chance à l’équipe adverse en effectuant huit arrêts pendant la dernière période, assurant ainsi la victoire aux siens.  

L’Edge – Or a obtenu une fiche de 2-1 en ronde éliminatoire, incluant une victoire de 8-2 sur Banff le premier jour du tournoi. Après avoir accédé directement à la demi-finale, l’équipe a subi un revers aux mains de l’Okanagan Hockey Academy pour ensuite disputer le match pour la médaille de bronze contre Banff, qui avait perdu 7-2 contre la Rothesay Netherwood School en demi-finale après l’avoir emporté par la marque de 4-1 sur SISEC en quart de finale. Banff a terminé la ronde éliminatoire avec une fiche de 1-2.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 15 - Varsity
Round/Ronde Bronze
Arena/Aréna Markin MacPhail Centre - Rink B
Location/Lieu Calgary, Alta.
Date Me. Janv. 2, 2013
Time/Heure 11:30 AM. MT

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
BHA
0 0 0 0
EDG-G 0 2 1 3

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
   Aucun
Penalties/Pénaltés :
   08:42 EDG-G 6 Chas Mcarthur (Coup de bâton)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
   07:47 EDG-G 14 Chase Althen (21 Kade Jensen)
   14:20 EDG-G 16 Hayden Ursulak (11 Aidan Keane)

Penalties/Pénaltés :
   02:24 EDG-G 21 Kade Jensen (Obstruction)
   02:24 BHA 11 Yannis Soukas (Faire trébucher)
   05:02 BHA 14 Marc Janisch (Accrocher)
   07:47 BHA 20 Billy Wildman (Rudesse)
   09:16 BHA 11 Yannis Soukas (Mise en échec à la tête)
   11:16 BHA 11 Yannis Soukas (Mise en échec à la tête)
   15:06 BHA 2 Tomas Sak (Assaut)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
   00:29 EDG-G 19 Austin Holmes (11 Aidan Keane)
Penalties/Pénaltés :
   12:55 EDG-G 14 Chase Althen (Obstruction)
   18:22 EDG-G 19 Austin Holmes (Retenir)

 

Goaltenders/Gardien(ne)s de but
BHA 30 Michael Lenko Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00
EDG-G 30 Branson Schneider Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
BHA
3 2 8 13
EDG-G 12 15 6 33

 

Players of the Game/Joueur(se) du match
BHA 11 Aidan Keane
EDG-G 30 Michael Lenko
Vidéos
Close
Credit