United States - Canada East
EISERMAN SCORES WINNER, U.S. GETS BYE TO SEMIFINALS AT WJAC

YARMOUTH, N.S. – Shane Eiserman broke a 2-2 tie midway through the third period, leading the United States to a 4-2 victory over Canada East in the preliminary round finale Wednesday night at the 2013 World Junior A Challenge.

The win sends the U.S. directly to Friday’s semifinals (time TBD). It will face the winner of the Thursday quarter-final (8 p.m. AT) between Switzerland and Canada East.

Karson Kuhlman had a pair of goals, and Seamus Malone capped the scoring into the empty net in the dying seconds for the Americans, who won their group for the fourth time in seven appearances at the tournament; they won gold two of three previous occasions, including last year in Yarmouth.

Mike Soucier (Caledon, Ont./Wellington, OJHL) and Morgan Messenger (Barrington, N.S./Yarmouth, MHL) scored the goals for Canada East, which erased a 2-0 deficit and drew even with 11 minutes left before the Americans pulled away for good.

For the second game in a row it was Kuhlman who started the scoring for the Americans, burying the rebound of a Nick Schmaltz shot at the 14:34 mark of the first period.

Kuhlman struck again just 80 seconds into the second period, doubling the American lead, before Soucier snapped a shot short-side past U.S. netminder Chris Birdsall to make it a 2-1 game after 40 minutes.

The capacity crowd at the Mariners Centre erupted 9:10 into the third period when Messenger, who plays for the hometown Mariners, scooped up a loose puck in the slot and beat Birdsall to tie the game.

But before Canadian fans had a chance to take their seats the Americans were back in the lead; Eiserman’s unassisted effort, his second goal in as many games, was the eventual game-winner, coming just 57 seconds after Messenger’s goal.

Birdsall got the win for the U.S., making 24 saves, while Canada East netminder Jordan Piccolino (Pierrefonds, Que./Cornwall, CCHL) made 24 stops of his own in a losing cause.

- - -

Summary


For more information please contact:
Riley Wiwchar, Manager, Marketing Services & Events
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

États Unis - Canada Est

EISERMAN DONNE LA VICTOIRE AUX ÉTATS-UNIS QUI PASSENT EN DEMI-FINALE DU DMJA

YARMOUTH, N.-É. – Shane Eiserman a brisé une égalité de 2-2 à mi-chemin au troisième tiers pour mener les États-Unis à un gain de 4-2 contre Canada Est au dernier match de la ronde préliminaire, mercredi soir, au Défi mondial junior A.

Avec cette victoire, les États-Unis passent directement en demi-finale vendredi (heure à déterminer). Ils affronteront le gagnant du match quart de finale de jeudi (20 h HA) entre la Suisse et Canada Est.

Karson Kuhlman a inscrit un doublé et Seamus Malone a compté dans une cage déserte lors des dernières secondes pour les Américains, qui ont terminé au sommet de leur groupe pour une quatrième fois en sept présences au tournoi. Ils ont gagné l’or deux fois au cours des trois dernières éditions, dont l’an passé à Yarmouth.

Mike Soucier (Caledon, Ont./Wellington, OJHL) et Morgan Messenger (Barrington, N.-É./Yarmouth, MHL) ont fait mouche pour Canada Est, qui a comblé un déficit de 2-0 avec 11 minutes à écouler avant de voir les Américains s’envoler pour de bon.

Pour un deuxième match de suite, Kuhlman a ouvert la marque pour les Américains, marquant sur un retour de Nick Schmaltz à 14 min 34 s du premier tiers.

Kuhlman a frappé de nouveau après 80 secondes de jeu en période médiane, doublant l’avance des siens avant de voir Soucier battre le cerbère américain Chris Birdsall du côté rapproché pour réduire l’écart à un but avant le deuxième entracte.

La salle comble réunie au Mariners Centre a explosé à 9 min 10 s du troisième tiers, lorsque Messenger, qui joue pour les Mariners dans sa ville, s’est emparé d’une rondelle libre dans l’enclave pour battre Birdsall et niveler la marque.

Toutefois, avant que les partisans canadiens aient la chance de regagner leur siège, les Américains ont repris l’avance. Eiserman, sans aide, a inscrit son deuxième en autant de matchs, celui de la victoire, seulement 57 secondes après le but de Messenger.

Birdsall a signé la victoire pour les Américains, repoussant 24 rondelles, alors que le portier de Canada Est, Jordan Piccolino (Pierrefonds, Qc/Cornwall, CCHL), a effectué 24 arrêts dans une cause perdante.

- - -

Sommaire

Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: