Canada East 6 - Russia 2

RUSSIANS SCORE FINAL SIX GOALS, ROUT CANADA EAST AT WJAC

YARMOUTH, N.S. – Kirill Pilipenko scored once and added two assists, pacing the Russian offence in a convincing 6-2 win over Canada East in the Group A opener at the 2013 World Junior A Challenge on Monday night.

Surprisingly, the game was just the second preliminary round meeting ever between the teams; Russia won the other match-up as well, scoring a 3-2 shootout victory at the 2011 tournament in Langley, B.C.

Vladislav Kamenev added three assists for the Russians, who got goals from six different players, points from 10, and at least two points from six. They scored the game’s last six goals after spotting Canada East an early 2-0 lead.

Pilipenko, Ilya Dervuk, Yegor Korchkov, Artur Boltanov, Daniil Vovchenko and Andrei Kuzmenko scored for Russia, which connected three times on the power play and outshot the Canadians 40-30.

Mike Panowyk (Whitby, Ont./Whitby, OJHL) and Charles Guèvremont (Châteauguay, Que./Saint-Jérôme, LHJAAAQ) had the goals for Canada East, which lost its third game in a row at the tournament, dating back to the semifinals and bronze medal game in 2012.

The Canadians controlled the game early, getting goals from Panowyk and Guèvremont before the 12-minute mark and igniting the pro-Canadian sell-out crowd at the Mariners Centre.

But Dervuk’s point shot late in the period eluded Canada East netminder Jordan Piccolino (Pierrefonds, Que./Cornwall, CCHL), and the momentum began to swing towards the Russians.

Pilipenko tied it with a rocket one-timer on the power play 7:40 into the second period, and goals 65 seconds apart from Korchkov and Boltanov gave Russia the lead for good before the second intermission.

Vovchenko and Kuzmenko added goals on the man advantage in the third to provide the final margin of victory, handing the Canadians their second straight one-sided loss to open the tournament; they suffered a 9-1 defeat at the hands of the United States last year in Yarmouth.

Russian goaltender Maxim Tretiak, the grandson of legendary Soviet netminder Vladislav Tretiak, made 28 saves to record the win, while Piccolino finished with 34 stops.

The Russians will look to wrap up first in Group A and book a spot in the semifinals when they face the United States on Tuesday night (8 p.m. AT), while Canada East will face the U.S. on Wednesday in the preliminary round finale (8 p.m. AT).

- - -

Summary


For more information please contact:
Riley Wiwchar, Manager, Marketing Services & Events
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Canada Est 2 - Russie 6

LA RUSSIE MARQUE LES SIX DERNIERS BUTS ET DÉFAIT CANADA EST AU DMJA

YARMOUTH, N.-É. – Lundi soir, Kirill Pilipenko a inscrit un but et deux aides pour mener les Russes à une victoire convaincante de 6-2 contre Canada Est, au premier duel du groupe A au Défi mondial junior A.

Étonnamment, il s’agissait seulement du deuxième affrontement entre les deux équipes en ronde préliminaire. La Russie avait remporté l’autre match 3-2 en tirs de barrage, au tournoi de 2011, à Langley, C.-B.

Vladislav Kamenev a obtenu trois aides dans la victoire des Russes, qui ont profité de buts marqués par six joueurs différents. De plus, dix patineurs ont inscrit leur nom sur la feuille de pointage au moins une fois, et six l’ont fait au moins à deux reprises. La Russie a enregistré les six derniers filets après avoir vu Canada Est prendre une avance rapide de 2-0.

Pilipenko, Ilya Dervuk, Yegor Korchkov, Artur Boltanov, Daniil Vovchenko et Andrei Kuzmenko ont fait vibrer les cordages pour la formation gagnante, qui a compté trois fois sur l’attaque massive, dominant les Canadiens de 40 tirs contre 30.

Mike Panowyk (Whitby, Ont./Whitby, OJHL) et Charles Guèvremont (Châteauguay, Qc/Saint-Jérôme, LHJAAAQ) ont été les buteurs de Canada Est, qui a baissé pavillon pour une troisième fois de suite à cette compétition, si on remonte à la demi-finale et au match pour la médaille de bronze de 2012.

Les Canadiens ont pris le contrôle tôt dans la partie, grâce au brio de Panowyk et Guèvremont avant la 12e minute de jeu, au grand plaisir de la foule procanadienne qui a fait salle comble au Mariners Centre.

Toutefois, un tir de la pointe de Dervuk avant le premier entracte a permis de percer le mystère du gardien de but Jordan Piccolino (Pierrefonds, Qc/Cornwall, CCHL) et les Russes ont pris leur envol.

Pilipenko a créé l’égalité avec un puissant tir sur réception durant un avantage numérique après 7 min 40 s de jeu au deuxième tiers. Ensuite, des buts de Korchkov et Boltanov en 65 secondes ont permis à la Russie de ne plus jamais regarder derrière.

En troisième période, Vovchenko et Kuzmenko ont compté sur le jeu de puissance pour sceller l’issue du match. Les Canadiens ont ainsi subi un deuxième cuisant revers de suite en lever de rideau de ce tournoi. L’an dernier, les États-Unis les avaient malmenés 9-1, à Yarmouth.

Le portier russe Maxim Tretiak, le petit-fils du légendaire cerbère soviétique Vladislav Tretiak, a effectué 28 arrêts dans une cause gagnante. Piccolino a repoussé 34 rondelles.

Les Russes tenteront de terminer au premier rang du groupe A et de passer directement en demi-finale dans un duel face aux Américains mardi soir (20 h HA), tandis que Canada Est aura rendez-vous avec les États-Unus mercredi au dernier match de la ronde préliminaire (20 h HA).

- - 

Sommaire

Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: