Canada West Camp Diary - TJ Constant

DAY 3 – TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 28

Today was my last day in Penticton, and it’s been so much fun! The guys can been great – so friendly, but so competitive!  To be honest, I am kind of sad to leave; Penticton is such a beautiful place … the weather has been fantastic, and the view is indescribable

We hit the rink for a short (but intense) practice this morning. Every guy was going all out, trying to make an impression on the coaches, because we didn’t have a lot of chances left. After practice it was back to the hotel to relax and mentally prepare for the Red-White game.

Even though I was pretty exhausted, I was eager to get the game going. The coaches came into the room before the game and talked about how it didn’t matter how tired we all were, it was the last chance to impress.

I didn’t pick up any points, but I worked hard, and helped Red to a big 7-2 win over White. Everything just went our way tonight! After the game, the coaches met with each player individually and talked about how they did at camp. I guess all I can do now is keep playing my game with OCN and wait for the final roster to be named.

I just want to thank the Canada West staff for the chance to come to camp. It was such a privilege to be on the ice with some of the best Junior A players in Canada, and I had a great time!

DAY 2 – MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 27

Well, today was my first full day in Penticton. I woke up this morning and looked outside – I can’t believe how beautiful it is here! The people that get to live here are pretty lucky.

After a quick shower and a good breakfast at the hotel, it was off to the rink for our first skate. It was one of the best practices I’ve had in a long time! It’s pretty cool to get to skate with the best Junior A players in western Canada; there’s so much skill.

Back to the hotel for lunch and a little down time before the first Red-White game – not going to lie, I was a little nervous. When we first got to the rink I just sat in the stands and looked around; the building here is the nicest rink I have ever played in!

I thought I played pretty well – I played my game, gave a few hits, blocked a few shots and even scored our team’s fourth goal, but unfortunately we ended up losing in overtime. We had a nice post-game meal at the rink and headed back to the hotel. One more day to go!

DAY 1 – SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 26

I’m pretty excited to be in Penticton and to get to try out for Canada West. It’s been a long weekend – my club team, the OCN Blizzard, played three games in three nights, all on the road, and got in early Sunday morning.

I had to drive to Winnipeg for a 2:45 p.m. flight (eight hours!), but kind of forgot we had to wear dress clothes. I showed up to the airport in sweat pants and a sweat shirt and had to scramble with my parents to find something to wear since all my suits were already checked in … just barely made my flight!

I was on a Winnipeg-Edmonton-Kelowna flight, where the coaches were waiting for us to bus to Penticton, about an hour away. I couldn’t stop looking at the amazing mountains – it’s not every day I get to see mountains close up!

Penticton is beautiful, at least what I’ve seen so far … I’ll give you my thoughts tomorrow!

Journal de camp Canada ouest - TJ Constant

JOUR 3 – MARDI 28 SEPTEMBRE

Aujourd’hui était mon dernier jour à Penticton et je me suis tellement amusé! Les gars ont été fantastiques – si amicaux, mais de très fiers compétiteurs! Honnêtement, je suis un peu triste de partir; Penticton est tellement un bel endroit… le temps a été superbe et la vue est indescriptible.

Nous sommes allés sur la glace pour une courte (mais intense) séance d’entraînement ce matin. Les gars ont tout donné, voulant impressionner les entraîneurs, parce qu’il ne restait pas beaucoup d’occasions de le faire. Après l’entraînement, nous sommes revenus à l’hôtel pour nous détendre et nous préparer mentalement au match Rouges contre Blancs.  

Même si j’étais très fatigué, j’avais hâte que le match commence. Les entraîneurs sont venus dans le vestiaire avant le match et ils nous ont dit que c’était notre dernière chance de faire bonne impression, et ce, malgré notre fatigue.

Je n’ai pas cumulé de points, mais j’ai travaillé fort et aidé les Rouges à écraser les Blancs 7 -2. Tout a bien fonctionné pour nous ce soir! Après le match, les entraîneurs ont rencontré chaque joueur individuellement pour évaluer leur performance au camp. Tout ce qu’il me reste à faire est de jouer mon jeu avec l’OCN et attendre l’annonce de la formation définitive.

Je tiens à remercier le personnel de Canada Ouest de m’avoir donné la chance de prendre part au camp. Ce fut un réel privilège d’être sur la glace avec quelques-uns des meilleurs joueurs juniors A du Canada, et je me suis bien amusé!

DAY 2 – MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 27

Aujourd’hui, ce fut ma première journée complète à Penticton. Quand je me suis levé ce matin, j’ai regardé dehors – quel paysage superbe! Les gens qui habitent ici sont très chanceux.

Après une douche rapide et un bon déjeuner à l’hôtel, nos nous rendons à la patinoire pour notre première séance de patinage. Ce fut une de meilleures séances d’entraînement que j’ai eues depuis longtemps! C’est agréable de patiner avec les meilleurs joueurs juniors A de l’Ouest du Canada; il y a tellement d’habiletés!

De retour à l’hôtel pour le dîner et du temps mort avant le premier match Rouges-Blancs – je ne mentirai pas; j’étais un peu nerveux. Quand nous sommes arrivés à l’aréna, je me suis assis dans les gradins et j’ai regardé autour de moi; c’est le plus bel édifice dans lequel j’ai joué!

Je crois avoir bien joué – j’ai joué mon jeu, appliqué quelques mises en échec, bloqué quelques tirs et j’ai même marqué le quatrième but de notre équipe, mais malheureusement, nous avons perdu en prolongation. Nous avons pris un bon repas à l’aréna après le match et sommes revenus à l’hôtel. Dernier jour demain!

DAY 1 – SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 26

Je suis excité d’être à Penticton et d’essayer de me tailler une place au sein de Canada Ouest. Ce fut une longue fin de semaine – mon équipe de club, le Blizzard d’OCN, a joué trois matchs en trois soirs, tous à l’extérieur, et nous sommes rentrés tôt dimanche matin.

J’ai dû me rendre à Winnipeg pour prendre l’avion à 14 h 45 (huit heures de route!), mais j’ai oublié que je devais porter une tenue de ville. Je suis arrivé à l’aéroport avec un pantalon et un chandail de coton ouaté et j’ai dû m’empresser avec mes parents à trouver quelque chose, car mes bagages étaient déjà enregistrés… j’ai failli rater mon vol!  

J’ai fait le voyage Winnipeg-Edmonton-Kelowna et à notre arrivée les entraîneurs nous attendaient pour monter dans l’autobus vers Penticton situé à environ une heure de route. J’ai admiré les merveilleuses montagnes tout au long du trajet – ce n’est pas tous les jours que je vois des montagnes de si près!

Penticton est une ville superbe, du moins de ce que j’ai vu… je vous en dirai plus long demain!