2014 RBC Cup
Daylan Gatzke scored twice, Chase Norrish added a goal and an assist and Kale Thomson made 34 saves to help the Terriers advance to the RBC Cup championship game for the second time in team history, beating the host Vipers.
Andy Sturtz had a break-out game with a goal and two assists, and Anthony McVeigh scored twice to help the Canadians move on to play for the RBC Cup for the first time in franchise history thanks to a semifinal victory over the first-place Kings.
Derek Falloon was the hero again for the Yorkton Terriers, scoring the game-winner 15:01 into overtime – his second extra-time goal in four days – to give the Terriers their first national championship and earn RBC Cup Star of the Day honours.
Just two years old when his father Troy coached the Vernon Vipers to a national championship in 1999, Logan Mick has a chance to put his name on the RBC Cup as a member of this year’s Vipers, and his father could not be more excited.
In early April, a month shy of 20 years after Dave Kirkpatrick’s overtime winner gave the Olds Grizzlys a win over Kelowna and a Centennial Cup championship on home ice, members of that team returned to the central Alberta city to reminisce. 
From set-up men to shutdown defencemen, goal scorers to goaltenders, International Scouting Services has chosen three players from each of the five teams on the ice at Kal Tire Place in Vernon at the 2014 RBC Cup as Players to Watch.
The 2014 RBC Cup marks the 24-year anniversary of the first time Vernon hosted to Canada’s National Junior A Championship. Take a trip down memory lane and check out the official event program from the 1990 Centennial Cup at the Civic Arena.
Which team has won the most National Junior A Championships? Which team scored the most goals in a game? How many RBC Cup alumni have played in the NHL? Get all the answers in the official RBC Cup Guide & Record Book.
Dexter Dancs was the overtime hero for the Vipers, sliding in the game-winner on the power play 10:17 into the extra frame to send the host team to a Saturday semifinal against Yorkton, and end the Patriots’ RBC Cup run.
Derek Falloon jammed in a loose puck 2:40 into overtime, helping the Terriers to their second must-win victory in 24 hours, booking a spot in Saturday’s semifinals and handing the first-place Kings their first loss of the RBC Cup.
Tayler Thompson scored the winner, Riley Hunt added two assists and the Terriers converted twice on the power play to beat the Canadians for their first victory, staying alive at the RBC Cup for at least one more day.
Five different players scored goals, 10 had at least one point and the Kings stayed undefeated and wrapped up first place in the preliminary round with one game to spare, scoring the game’s first four goals to beat the host Vipers.
Brett D’Andrea scored the game-winner in the final minute of the second period and added two assists, and Luke Edwards had a goal and an assist to help the Canadians get the victory in the Battle of Ontario, beating the Patriots.
Liam Coughlin, Brett Mulcahy and Colton Sparrow scored 41 seconds apart early in the second period, Sparrow finished with a hat trick and the Vipers withstood a wild third-period comeback by the Terriers to earn their first win.
Brent Wold played the role of overtime hero, scoring the game-winning goal 8:37 into the extra period to give the Kings a victory over the Canadians and leave Dauphin as the last remaining team without a loss at the RBC Cup.
Andreas Tsogkas scored once and added two assists, Michael Prapavessis had a goal and a helper and the Patriots scored five unanswered goals to earn their first RBC Cup win, evening their record with a victory over the Terriers.
Vinny Post scored the winner with 4:28 to go, Dylan Gareau and Adam Lloyd also had goals in the third period, and Luke Edwards added two assists to help the Canadians to a win in their RBC Cup debut, beating the host Vipers.
Jesse Bernard scored with just 1:37 remaining to snap a 1-1 tie, Michael Stiliadis made 41 saves and the Kings scored twice in the last 12 minutes to knock off the Patriots and score the first victory of the 2014 RBC Cup.
Standings
Results
Team GP W L OTW OTL PTS
DAU 4 3 1 0 0 6
VER 4 2 2 0 0 4
YOR 4 2 2 0 0 4
CPC 4 2 2 0 0 4
TLP 4 1 3 0 0 2
May 10, 2014
2
1
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
2
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
May 11, 2014
1
5
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
3
4
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
May 12, 2014
4
6
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
May 13, 2014
2
4
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
2
5
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
May 14, 2014
1
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
May 15, 2014
1
2
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
2
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
May 17, 2014
6
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
5
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
May 18, 2014
3
4
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
Videos
Photos
Scoring
Goaltending
R Player G A PTS
1. Colton Sparrow 5 2 7
2. Michael McNicholas 2 4 6
2. Dexter Dancs 2 4 6
2. Jesse Bernard 3 3 6
2. Andy Sturtz 2 4 6
2. Luke Edwards 2 4 6
2. Brett D’Andrea 1 5 6
3. Andreas Tsogkas 3 2 5
3. Brett Mulcahy 3 2 5
3. Chase Norrish 2 3 5
R Player GAA SV %
1. Michael Stiliadis 2.32 .930
2. Evan Buitenhuis 2.40 .924
3. Danny Todosychuk 2.65 .919
4. Guillaume Therien 2.82 .911
5. Kale Thomson 3.16 .902
6. Austin Smith 3.72 .864
Close
Photo Credit:  
Close
Credit

Coupe RBC 2014
Daylan Gatzke a inscrit deux buts, Chase Norrisha récolté un but et une aide, Kale Thomson a réalisé 34 arrêts et les Terriers joueront au match de championnat de la Coupe RBC pour la deuxième fois de leur histoire, ayant battu les hôtes, les Vipers.
Andy Sturtz a connu un fort match, amassant un but et deux aides, Anthony McVeigh a compté deux fois et les Canadians joueront pour la Coupe RBC pour la première fois, ayant battu les Kings, formation de première place, en demi-finale.
Derek Falloon a de nouveau été le héros des Terriers de Yorkton, marquant le but gagnant à 15 min 1 s de la prolongation – son deuxième but en prolongation en quatre jours –, aidant les Terriers à remporter leur premier championnat national et s’emparant de l’Étoile du jour de la Coupe RBC.
Il n’avait que deux ans lorsque son père entraînait les Vipers de Vernon et les menait au championnat national de 1999; cette année, Logan Mick pourrait inscrire son nom sur la coupe RBC en tant que membre des Vipers et son père est extatique.
Au début avril, un mois avant le 20e anniversaire de la conquête de la Coupe du Centenaire à domicile par les Grizzlys d’Olds, concrétisée par le but en prolongation de Dave Kirkpatrick, les membres de cette équipe se sont retrouvés dans cette ville du centre de l’Alberta.
Des fabricants de jeu aux défenseurs défensifs, des marqueurs aux gardiens de but, International Scouting Services a choisi trois joueurs à surveiller pour chacune des équipes prenant part à la Coupe RBC 2014 à la Kal Tire Place à Vernon.
La Coupe RBC 2014 marque le 24e anniversaire de la première fois que Vernon a été l’hôte du Championnat national junior A. Revivez l’événement en consultant le programme officiel de l’événement, la Coupe Centennial 1990.
Quelle équipe a remporté le plus de fois le Championnat national junior A? Quelle équipe a inscrit le plus de buts en un match? Combien d’anciens de la Coupe RBC ont joué dans la LNH? Trouvez toutes les réponses dans le Guide et livre des records de la Coupe RBC.
Jesse Bernard a marqué avec 1 min 37 s à écouler pour briser une égalité de 1-1, Michael Stiliadis a effectué 41 arrêts et les Kings ont marqué deux fois au cours des 12 dernières minutes pour battre les Patriots et signer un premier gain à la Coupe RBC 2014.
Derek Falloon a saisi une rondelle libre pour marquer à 2 min 40 s de la prolongation et permettre aux Terriers de signer un deuxième gain crucial en 24 heures, confirmant leur place en demi-finale samedi et infligeant un premier revers aux Kings à la Coupe RBC, eux qui sont au premier rang.
Tayler Thompson a marqué le but gagnant, Riley Hunt a ajouté deux aides et les Terriers ont compté deux fois en avantage numérique pour vaincre les Canadians, remporter un premier match et demeurer en lice au championnat national pour au moins une autre journée.
Cinq joueurs ont marqué, 10 ont récolté au moins un point et les Kings sont demeurés invaincus et se sont assurés de la première place en ronde préliminaire avec un match à jouer, inscrivant les quatre premiers buts du match pour battre les hôtes, les Vipers.
Brett D’Andrea a marqué le but gagnant au cours de la dernière minute du deuxième tiers et a ajouté deux mentions d’aide tandis que Luke Edwards a accumulé un but et une aide pour aider les Canadians à remporter la bataille de l’Ontario en battant les Patriots.
Liam Coughlin, Brett Mulcahy et Colton Sparrow ont inscrit leurs buts en l’espace de 41 secondes en début de deuxième période, Sparrow couronne le match par un tour du chapeau et les Vipers résistent à une remontée spectaculaire des Terriers pour empocher un premier gain.
Brent Wold a joué les héros en prolongation, inscrivant le but gagnant à 8 min 37 s pour permettre aux Kings de vaincre les Canadians, Dauphin étant la seule formation de la Coupe RBC qui n’a aucune défaite.
Kevin Shier, Michael Prapavessis et Andreas Tsogkas ont récolté un but et une aide chacun et les Patriots ont inscrit cinq buts sans riposte pour signer un premier gain à la Coupe RBC et porter leur fiche à 1-1, l’emportant sur les Terriers.
Dylan Gareau et Adam Lloyd ont marqué au troisième tiers et Vinny Post a compté le but gagnant avec 4 min 28 s à écouler, alors que Luke Edwards a reçu deux mentions d’aide pour contribuer à la victoire des Canadians contre les hôtes les Vipers lors de leur première participation à la Coupe RBC.
Dexter Dancs a joué les héros en prolongation pour les Vipers, comptant en avantage numérique à 10 min 17 s pour confirmer la place de l’équipe hôte en demi-finale samedi contre Yorkton et mettant fin au tournoi de la Coupe RBC des Patriots.
Classement
Résultats
Équipe PJ V D VProl. DProl. PTS
DAU 4 3 1 0 0 6
VER 4 2 2 0 0 4
YOR 4 2 2 0 0 4
CPC 4 2 2 0 0 4
TLP 4 1 3 0 0 2
sam. 10 mai
2
1
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
2
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
dim. 11 mai
1
5
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
3
4
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
lun. 12 mai
4
6
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
mar. 13 mai
2
4
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
2
5
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
mer. 14 mai
1
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
jeu. 15 mai
1
2
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
2
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
sam. 17 mai
6
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
5
3
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
dim. 18 mai
3
4
Final
Kal Tire Place, Vernon, B.C.
Vidéos
Photos
Marqueurs
Gardiens de but
R Joueur Buts A PTS
1. Colton Sparrow 5 2 7
2. Michael McNicholas 2 4 6
2. Dexter Dancs 2 4 6
2. Jesse Bernard 3 3 6
2. Andy Sturtz 2 4 6
2. Luke Edwards 2 4 6
2. Brett D’Andrea 1 5 6
3. Andreas Tsogkas 3 2 5
3. Brett Mulcahy 3 2 5
3. Chase Norrish 2 3 5
R Joueur MOY %ARR
1. Michael Stiliadis 2,32 ,930
2. Evan Buitenhuis 2,40 ,924
3. Danny Todosychuk 2,65 ,919
4. Guillaume Therien 2,82 ,911
5. Kale Thomson 3,16 ,902
6. Austin Smith 3,72 ,864
Close
Photo Credit:  
Close
Credit