Chris Caissy was the overtime hero 16:57 into the extra period and Kevin Bailie was spectacular in a 50-save performance as the host Western Capitals advanced to Sunday’s championship game with a thrilling victory over the Eagles.
Mark Reners’ second goal of the game at 8:30 of overtime was the difference as the Bandits erased a 4-2 third-period deficit and advanced to play for Canada’s National Junior A Championship for the first time on Sunday night.
The best player in the country was the best player on the ice Sunday night. Cam Maclise scored once and added an assist, leading Brooks to its first-ever national championship and taking the final RBC Cup Star of the Day honour.
Some had long and illustrious pro careers, while others had only a handful of opportunities to live their dream, a fleeting chance to say they were an NHLer. But all had the chance to play for Canada’s National Junior A Championship.
After a 15-year professional playing career that included stops with 18 teams in eight leagues across four countries, totaling 826 games, there isn’t much Minnesota Wilderness head coach Rod Aldoff hasn’t seen or done in hockey.
Which team has won the most National Junior A Championships? Which team scored the most goals in a game? How many RBC Cup alumni played in the NHL? Get all the answers in the official RBC Cup Guide & Record Book.
Philip Fife scored the game-winner 10:28 into the third period and Adam Guy finished with a goal and an assist as the Bearcats earned their first win and spoiled the Western Capitals’ chances for second place.
Brandon Bruce, Mark Reners and Tyson McCallum scored in the first seven minutes as the Bandits opened up a 5-0 lead, handed the Eagles their first loss and locked up top spot in the preliminary round.
Nicolas Pierog, Trevor Cameron and Kevan Kilistoff had a goal and an assist apiece and Michael Santaguida made 29 saves for his second shutout as the Eagles blanked the Wilderness to remain undefeated.
Benjamin Michaud’s goal on a five-on-three power play with 10:23 remaining was the difference as the Wilderness earned its first victory, the first win ever by an American team at the national championship.
JP Harvey scored a pair of goals and Danny Chiasson netted the game-winner late in the first period as the Western Capitals clinched Saturday semifinal berth by handing the Bandits their first loss of the week.
Brett Mulcahy scored the game-winning goal 8:43 into overtime to complete the Eagles’ comeback from a two-goal, third-period deficit and lead Surrey to an extra-time victory over the host Western Capitals.
Demico Hannoun scored a hat trick and added an assist, and Michael Stenerson had a goal and four helpers as the Eagles made their RBC Cup debut a success, handing the Bearcats their second straight lopsided loss.
Anthony Petruzzelli had a pair of goals, including the game-winner with eight minutes to go, as the Bandits scored four times in the third period – twice in eight seconds – to beat the Wilderness and remain unbeaten.
Brooks 7 – Truro 1 | Preliminary | Sat. May 11
Cam Maclise led the way with a hat trick, all three in a five-goal second period, and added an assist and Anthony Paskaruk had a goal and two helpers to help the Bandits rout the Bearcats in the tournament opener.
Danny Chiasson scored a pair of goals and JP Harvey got the game-winner in the final minute of the first period as the Western Capitals scored five unanswered to beat the Wilderness in front of 2,576 hometown fans.
Scoreboard
Thursday, May 16, 2013
3:00 p.m. AT WST2 5 - WST1 2
Preliminary
7:30 p.m. AT EST 4 - HST 2
Preliminary
Friday, May 17, 2013
  OFF DAY  
Saturday, May 18, 2013
2:00 p.m. AT CEN 4 - WST2 5 (OT)
Semifinal
6:00 p.m. AT HST 3- WST1 2 (OT)
Semifinal
Sunday, May 19, 2013
7:00 p.m. AT HST 1 - WST2 3
Championship



CLICK HERE for complete event schedule
Photos
2013 RBC Cup: CEN 4 - WST2 5 (OT)
May 18, 2013
Central vs. West at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: WST2 5 - WST1 2
May 16, 2013
West 1 vs. West 2 at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: CEN 0 - WST1 5
May 15, 2013
Central vs. West at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: HST 3 - WST2 1
May 14, 2013
Host vs. West 2 at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: CEN 5 - EST 3
May 14, 2013
Central vs. East at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: WST1 5 - HST 4 (OT)
May 13, 2013
Host vs. West at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: WST1 7 - EST 0
May 12, 2013
West vs. East at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: CEN 3 - WST2 6
May 12, 2013
Central vs. West at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: WST2 7 - EST 1
May 11, 2013
West 2 vs. East at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
2013 RBC Cup: HST 5 - CEN 1
May 11, 2013
Host vs. Central at the 2013 RBC Cup in Summmerside, P.E.I.
Videos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Le deuxième but de Mark Reners à 8 min 30 s de la prolongation a fait la différence et les Bandits ont comblé un déficit de 4-2 en troisième période et joueront pour le Championnat national junior A du Canada dimanche soir.
Chris Caissy a joué les héros à 16 min 57 de la prolongation et Kevin Bailie a connu une performance spectaculaire de 50 arrêts et les hôtes, les Western Capitals, joueront au match pour le championnat dimanche, grâce à un gain sur les Eagles.
Le meilleur joueur au pays a été le meilleur joueur sur la glace dimanche soir. Cam Maclise a accumulé un but et une aide, menant Brooks à son premier titre national de tous les temps et s’emparant de l’Étoile du jour de la Coupe RBC.
Certains ont connu de longues et illustres carrières, d’autres n’ont eu que quelques occasions de vivre leur rêve, une chance passagère de dire qu’ils ont fait partie de la LNH. Mais tous ont eu la chance de jouer pour le Championnat national junior A du Canada.
Après une carrière de 15 ans comme joueur professionnel au cours de laquelle il a joué auprès de 18 équipes de huit ligues dans quatre pays, il n’y a pas grand-chose que Rod Aldoff n’a pas vu ou fait au hockey.
Quelle équipe a gagné le plus de championnats nationaux juniors A? Laquelle a marqué le plus de buts en un match? Combien d’anciens jouent dans la LNH? Les réponses sont dans le Guide et livre des records de la Coupe RBC.
Philip Fife a marqué le but gagnant à 10 min 28 s du troisième tiers et Adam Guy a récolté un but et une aide et les Bearcats ont signé un premier gain et empêché les Western Capitals de terminer au deuxième rang.
Brandon Bruce, Mark Reners et Tyson McCallum ont compté au cours des sept premières minutes et les Bandits ont pris une avance de 5-0 dans un gain qui leur permet de terminer en tête de la ronde préliminaire.
Nicolas Pierog, Trevor Cameron et Kevan Kilistoff ont accumulé un but et une aide chacun et Michael Santaguida a réalisé 29 arrêts pour réussir son deuxième jeu blanc alors que les Eagles blanchissent le Wilderness et restent invaincus.
Le but marqué par Benjamin Michaud à 5 contre 3 alors qu’il restait 10 min 23 s à jouer a été le but gagnant qui a permis au Wilderness de remporter son premier match, le premier par une équipe américaine au championnat national.
JP Harvey a inscrit deux buts et Danny Chiasson a compté le but gagnant en fin de première période et les Western Capitals ont confirmé leur place en demi-finale samedi en infligeant un premier revers aux Bandits cette semaine.
Brett Mulcahy a inscrit le but gagnant à 8 min 43 s de la prolongation pour compléter une remontée de deux buts des Eagles en troisième période et mener Surrey à une victoire contre les hôtes, les Western Capitals.
Demico Hannoun a inscrit trois buts et une aide, Michael Stenerson a récolté un but et quatre aides et les Eagles ont bien amorcé leur parcours à la Coupe RBC, infligeant aux Bearcats un deuxième cuisant revers de suite.
Anthony Petruzzelli a inscrit deux buts, dont celui de la victoire avec huit minutes à écouler, et les Bandits ont touché la cible quatre fois au troisième tiers, dont deux fois en huit secondes, pour battre le Wilderness et demeurer invaincus.
Brooks 7 – Truro 1 | Préliminaire| Sam. 11 mai
Cam Maclise a réussi un tour du chapeau, marquant trois des cinq buts au deuxième tiers, et obtenu une aide, tandis qu’Anthony Paskaruk a accumulé un but et deux aides dans la victoire écrasante des Bandits sur les Bearcats dans le premier match du tournoi.
Danny Chiasson a marqué deux buts, JP Harvey a inscrit le but gagnant au cours de la dernière minute du premier tiers et les Western Capitals ont marqué cinq buts sans riposte pour battre le Wilderness devant 2 576 partisans locaux.
Tableau de pointage
Jeudi 16 mai 2013
15 h 00 HA WST2 5 - WST1 2
Préliminaire
19 h 30 HA EST 4 - HST 2 Préliminaire
Vendredi 17 mai 2013
  CONGÉ
 
Samedi 18 mai 2013
14 h 00 HA CEN - WST2
Demi-finale
18 h 00 HA HST - WST1
Demi-finale
Dimanche 19 mai 2013
19 h 00 HA HST 1 - WST2 3
Championnat


 
CLIQUEZ ICI pour l'horaire complet
Photos
Coupe RBC 2013 : HST 1 - WST2 3
19 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : HST 3 - WST1 2 (OT)
18 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : CEN 4 - WST2 5 (OT)
18 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : WST2 5 - WST1 2
16 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : EST 4 - HST 2
16 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : CEN 0 - WST1 5
15 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : HST 3 - WST2 1
14 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : WST1 5 - HST 4 (Prol.)
13 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : CEN 5 - EST 3
13 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Coupe RBC 2013 : CEN 3 - WST2 6
12 mai 2013
Action au Coupe RBC 2013 à Summerside, Î.-P.-É.
Vidéos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: