Team Page/Selkirk Steelers/West

Selkirk Steelers | West | MJHL

Roster | Team Website | League Website

 

SELKIRK STEELERS (WEST) OVERVIEW

Manitoba Junior Hockey League champions for the 10th time in 2007, the Selkirk Steelers are in Prince George looking for their second National Junior A Championship, to go along with the Centennial Cup they won in 1974 in Nepean, ON. The runaway winners of the MJHL’s regular season championship – a 49-9-4-1 record left the team with 103 points, 15 ahead of the runner-up Dauphin Kings – the Steelers scored 370 goals in their 63 games, an average of almost six per game, while allowing just 188 goals, good for second in the league. The Steelers dominated the MJHL’s scoring leaders, placing skaters in the first four positions, led by brothers Kyle (38-103-141) and Brent (49-82-131) Howarth. Adam Sergerie (125 points) and Jason Frykas (119 points) also finished in the top four. Goaltender Andrew Leslie set a new league record with 36 wins during the regular season, finished second with a 2.69 goals against average and third with a .908 save percentage. In the playoffs it was back-up goaltender Cody Didychuk who stepped up for the Steelers, earning Top Goaltender honours in the postseason after posting a 2.29 GAA following an injury to Leslie. The Steelers dropped just two of 14 games in the playoffs, knocking off Winkler in five games and sweeping the Winnipeg Saints before a five-game win over the Kings gave Selkirk the MJHL Championship. In the ANAVET Cup the Steelers used a pair of wins in Humboldt to grab a 3-2 series lead over the SJHL-champion Broncos, and finished the series off on home ice with a win in Game 7.

A WIN TO GET IN – SPRUCE KINGS CLINCH SEMI-FINAL SPOT WITH WIN OVER STEELERS

The Prince George Spruce Kings will play at least once more on home ice at the 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup after clinching a spot in Saturday’s semi-final with a 2-1 win  
» morePhoto Gallery

 

LUMBER KINGS INTO SEMI-FINAL AFTER WIN OVER STEELERS

The Pembroke Lumber Kings have grabbed the last semi-final spot at the 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup after a 4-2 win over the Selkirk Steelers on Thursday night at CN Centre. » morePhoto Gallery

 

TIGERS RIDE STRONG START
TO WIN OVER STEELERS

Andrew Favot and Michael Dahlinger scored in the opening 10 minutes, Tyler Gordon made 26 saves, and the Aurora Tigers picked up their first win at the 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup with a 4-2 victory over the Selkirk Steelers » more | Photo Gallery

 

KODIAKS STAY UNDEFEATED
WITH WIN OVER STEELERS

The Camrose Kodiaks remained the only undefeated team at the 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup on Monday, getting a goal and an assist apiece from Scott Kobialko and Player of the Game Joe Colborne in a 3-1 win
» more | Photo Gallery

 
For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services

Page D'Équipe/Selkirk Steelers/Ouest

Selkirk Steelers | Ouest | MJHL

Alignement | Site web d'équipe (e) | Site web de la liguee (e)

 

SURVOL DES STEELERS DE SELKIRK (OUEST)

Champions de la Ligue de hockey junior du Manitoba pour la 10e fois en 2007, les Steelers de Selkirk sont à Prince George en quête de leur deuxième championnat national junior A après avoir remporté le titre en 1974 à Nepean en Ontario. Les champions de la saison régulière de la MJHL – une fiche de 49-9-4-1 a permis à l’équipe de cumuler 103 points, 15 de plus que les Kings de Dauphin au deuxième rang – les Steelers ont marqué 370 buts en 63 matchs, une moyenne de presque six buts par match, tout en n’accordant que 188 buts à leurs adversaires ce qui les place au deuxième rang de la ligue. Les marqueurs des Steelers ont dominé la MJHL occupant les quatre premiers rangs du classement. Les frères Kyle (38-103-141) et Brent (49-82-131) Howarth sont au sommet du classement tandis qu’Adam Sergerie (125 points) et Jason Frykas (119 points) sont aussi parmi les quatre premiers. Le gardien Andrew Leslie a établi un nouveau record de la ligue en portant 36 victoires à sa fiche en saison régulière pour terminer au deuxième rang au chapitre de la moyenne de buts alloués avec 2,69 et au troisième rang pour le pourcentage d’efficacité avec 0,908. Pendant les éliminatoires, ce fut au tour du gardien substitut, Cody Didychuk, de s’illustrer pour les Steelers lorsqu’il a remplacé Leslie qui s’est blessé. Il a été nommé le meilleur gardien des éliminatoires avec une moyenne de buts alloués de 2,29. Les Steelers ont perdu seulement deux de leurs 14 matchs éliminatoires, l’emportant sur Winkler en cinq matchs et balayant les Saints de Winnipeg avant de vaincre les Kings en cinq matchs pour remporter le championnat de la MJHL. Lors de la Coupe ÉANAVET, les Steelers ont pris les devants 3 -2 dans la série sur les Broncos, champions de la SJHL, avant de remporter la coupe à domicile avec une victoire au sixième match.

LE TOUR EST JOUÉ – LES SPRUCE KINGS ACCÈDENT AUX DEMI-FINALES AVEC UNE VICTOIRE SUR LES STEELERS

Les Spruce Kings de Prince George disputeront au moins un autre match à domicile à la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2007 après s’être taillé une place pour les demi-finales samedi, grâce à une victoire de 2 -1 sur les Steelers de Selkirk .» suite

 

LES LUMBER KINGS ACCÈDENT AUX DEMI-FINALES AVEC UNE VICTOIRE SUR LES STEELERS

Les Lumber Kings de Pembroke se sont emparés de la dernière place pour les demi-finales de la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2007 en battant les Steelers de Selkirk 4 -2, jeudi soir au Centre CN. » suite

 

LES TIGERS CONNAISSENT UN BON DÉBUT DE MATCH ET L’EMPORTENT SUR LES STEELERS

Andrew Favot et Michael Dahlinger ont marqué au cours des dix premières minutes, Tyler Gordon a effectué 26 arrêts et les Tigers d’Aurora ont inscrit leur premier gain à la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2007, une victoire de 4 -2 sur les Steelers de Selkirk, dimanche après-midi, au Centre CN de Prince George. » suite

 

LES KODIAKS, EN QUÊTE D’UNE FICHE PARFAITE, AFFRONTENT LES STEELERS

Les Kodiaks de Camrose tenteront de demeurer invaincus, tandis que les Steelers de Selkirk voudront porter une victoire à leur fiche lorsque les deux formations s’affronteront, lundi soir, à la Coupe RBC Banque Royale, au Centre CN de Prince George en Colombie-Britannique. » suite

 
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services