Game Summary
Prince George Spruce Kings  1 -  Aurora Tigers  3

 

 

TIGERS WIN 2007 RBC ROYAL BANK CUP

For the second time in four years, the Aurora Tigers are Junior A hockey champions of Canada following a 3-1 win over the host Prince George Spruce Kings in the final of the 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup on Sunday night at CN Centre.

Joey Martin, Joey Piccone and Daniel Michalsky scored for the Tigers, who were also crowned national champions in 2004 in Grande Prairie, AB, while Alain Joanette scored the lone goal for the Spruce Kings.

“Our depth is really what allowed us to do this,” Tigers head coach Jerome Dupont said on the ice amid the celebration. “We were able to roll four lines and play our game, and we did it. This is why we play, and we did it”

Coming out strong after their five-overtime thriller against the Camrose Kodiaks in Saturday night’s semi-final, the Spruce Kings had the better chances early but could not get a puck past Aurora goaltender Tyler Gordon.

The Tigers came on strong late in the frame and were rewarded when Martin finished off a two-on-one with Michael Dahlinger, firing the puck past a sprawling Jordan White.

Prince George came out strong again in the middle frame, but still could not beat Gordon, who kept his team in front with a solid performance between the pipes.

Piccone pushed the lead to two late in the period, his shot from just inside the blueline deflecting off the skate of Spruce Kings defenseman Ryan deVries and bouncing before beating White.

Down by a pair heading to the final 20 minutes the tournament hosts could not manage to get a puck behind Gordon and lost defenseman Clay Goodall early in the period to a hit from behind penalty and a game misconduct.

The Central Region champions capitalized with the man advantage, as Michalsky scored his tournament-best ninth goal to all but end the National Junior A Championship hopes of the Spruce Kings.

Joanette got Prince George on the board with five minutes to go, giving the 3,303 fans in attendance something to cheer about, but it was not to be for the Spruce Kings.

As the clock ran out the Tigers mobbed Gordon, who finally won a national championship in his third appearance in four years – one at the 2004 National Midget Championship, and another at last year’s RBC Royal Bank Cup.

The Michalsky-Martin-Dahlinger line was the best for the Tigers, accounting for six points – a goal and assist each for Martin and Michalsky, and a pair of helpers for Dahlinger.

Martin was named Player of the Game for the Tigers, while 15-year-old Ryan Howse, who played his best game of the tournament for his hometown team, was honoured for the Spruce Kings.

SPRUCE KINGS, TIGERS MEET WITH RBC ROYAL BANK CUP ON THE LINE

Two teams, one game, one prize: the 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup.

The Prince George Spruce Kings and Aurora Tigers are the last two teams standing at this year’s National Junior A Championship, and one will leave CN Centre in Prince George on Sunday night as Canadian Junior A hockey champions.

The Central Region champions held the upper hand in the round robin match-up between the two teams, coming away with a 6-3 victory. But a pair of goals in the final nine minutes made the scoreline more flattering for the Tigers, who three times had their lead cut to a single goal by the Spruce Kings.

The 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup hosts enter the game riding the momentum of arguably the biggest win in the team’s 35-year history on Saturday night/Sunday morning. Jason Yuel’s goal at the 6:01 mark of the fifth overtime – at 1:01 a.m. local time – ended the longest game in RBC Royal Bank Cup history and gave the Spruce Kings a 3-2 win over the Camrose Kodiaks.

Will Prince George be running on adrenaline and continue their remarkable run? Or will the six-hour marathon favour the Tigers, who needed just two minutes of overtime to dispatch the Pembroke Lumber Kings in their semi-final?

Spruce Kings goaltender Jordan White turned in what might have been the greatest goaltending performance in National Junior A Championship history, turning aside 91 shots in the victory on Saturday night. How will he stand up to having to play again just 18-and-a-half hours later, against the top-ranked team in the country?

Daniel Michalsky proved why he was a popular choice as Tournament MVP and Top Forward at the awards banquet on Friday night, scoring the overtime winner – his eighth goal of the event – to propel the Tigers to the championship game for the second time in four years.

Aurora has been arguably the best Junior A team in the country this season, going a mind-boggling 77-10-1 since the regular season kicked off back in September. Can they cap it off with a national championship, or will they join the 1997 South Surrey Eagles, 2005 Camrose Kodiaks and a number of other teams who were dominant regular season clubs, only to fall to an upstart host team in the national final?

The two teams are almost dead even in goals against at this tournament (the Spruce Kings hold a slight 15-16 advantage), but the Tigers have the more prolific offense, scoring more than a goal-and-a-half more per game than Prince George (23-15).

Can White and the Spruce Kings slow down the Tigers and take home the franchise’s first National Junior A Championship, or will Michalsky and company score their way to their second title in four years?

Canada will have their answer on Sunday night, so stay tuned.

 


Game Information
Game Number 13  Round Championship
Arena CN Centre City, Country Prince George, B.C., Canada
Month / Day / Year 05/13/2007 Time (local) 07:30 PM PT
Attendance 3330 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Prince George Spruce Kings (HST) 0 0 1 1
Aurora Tigers (CEN) 1 1 1 3
Goals/Penalties
First Period
Goals:
   13:15 CEN 9 Joseph Martin (19 Michael Dahlinger, 20 Daniel Michalsky)

Penalties:
   06:55 CEN 21 Andrew Eastman (Hooking)
   08:21 HST 19 Chris Shudo (Interference)
   15:18 HST 10 Ryan House (Boarding)
   18:24 CEN 25 Vincent Bruni (Tripping)
   19:00 HST 24 Jason Yuel (Slashing)

Second Period
Goals:
   18:48 CEN 10 Joseph Piccone

Penalties:
   03:12 CEN 8 Alain Goulet (High Sticking)
   14:48 HST 2 Nicolas Rioux (Elbowing)
   15:42 HST 6 Ryan de Vries (Cross Checking)

Third Period
Goals:
   02:54 CEN 20 Daniel Michalsky (9 Joseph Martin, 19 Michael Dahlinger) PP
   14:29 HST 8 Alain Joanette (6 Ryan de Vries, 15 Tyler Helfrich)

Penalties:
   01:26 HST 5 Clay Goodall (Checking from Behind)
   01:26 HST 5 Clay Goodall (Game Misconduct)
   09:38 CEN 4 Quinn Waller (Tripping)


Goaltenders
Prince George Spruce Kings
1 Jordan White On 1/00:00   Off 3/18:55
Aurora Tigers
30 Tyler Gordon On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Prince George Spruce Kings 8 7 7 22
Aurora Tigers 10 8 13 31

Player of Game
Prince George Spruce Kings 10 Ryan House
Aurora Tigers 9 Joseph Martin
Officials
Referee Pat Smith
Lines People Trevor Boudreau, Kiel Murchison
Goal Judge Garth Loeppky, Adam Hyatt

Sommaire du Match
Prince George Spruce Kings  1 -  Aurora Tigers  3
 

LES TIGERS REMPORTENT LA COUPE RBC BANQUE ROYALE 2007

Pour la deuxième fois en quatre ans, les Tigers d’Aurora sont champions du hockey junior A au Canada grâce à une victoire de 3 -1 sur l’équipe hôtesse, les Spruce Kings de Prince George, lors de la finale de la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2007, dimanche soir, au Centre CN.

Joey Martin, Joey Piccone et Daniel Michalsky ont marqué pour les Tigers, qui avaient aussi été couronnés champions nationaux junior A en 2004, à Grande Prairie, Alberta, tandis qu’Alain Joanette a marqué le seul but des Spruce Kings.

« Notre profondeur est vraiment ce qui nous a permis de gagner », a déclaré l’entraîneur-chef des Tigers, Jerome Dupont, sur la glace pendant la célébration d’après-match. « Nous avons pu utiliser quatre trios et jouer notre jeu, et nous avons réussi. C’est pour ça que nous jouons, et nous avons réussi. »

Les Spruce Kings ont entrepris le match avec fougue au lendemain de leur excitante victoire sur les Kodiaks de Camrose à la cinquième période de prolongation, samedi soir. Ils ont obtenu les meilleures chances de marquer tôt dans le match, mais ils n’ont pas réussi à déjouer le gardien d’Aurora, Tyler Gordon.

Les Tigers ont amorcé la deuxième période avec beaucoup d’énergie, et leurs efforts ont été récompensés lorsque Martin a mis fin à un deux contre un avec Michael Dahlinger en décochant la rondelle au-delà de White qui était allongé sur la glace.

Prince George a de nouveau bien joué au cours de la deuxième période, mais Gordon a résisté et il a gardé son équipe dans le match grâce à une belle performance entre les poteaux.

Piccone a porté l’avance à deux buts vers la fin du deuxième tiers lorsque son tir de la ligne bleue a dévié sur le patin de Ryan deVries, un défenseur des Spruce Kings, avant de bondir et de déjouer White.

Accusant un retard deux buts après quarante minutes de jeu, les hôtes du tournoi n’arrivaient pas à déjouer Gordon et ils ont perdu leur défenseur Clay Goodall au début du dernier tiers lorsque celui-ci a écopé d’une punition d’extrême inconduite pour avoir effectué une mise en échec par-derrière.

Les champions de la région centrale ont profité de la supériorité numérique lorsque Michalsky a marqué son neuvième but du tournoi, ce qui le place au premier rang des buteurs, pour mettre fin aux espoirs des Spruces Kings de remonter la pente.

Joanette a réussi à ouvrir la marque pour Prince George alors qu’il restait cinq minutes à jouer dans le match donnant aux 3 303 partisans sur place quelque chose à célébrer. Mais les Spruce Kings n’allaient pu faire mieux.

Pendant que les dernières secondes s’écoulaient au chronomètre, les Tigers ont sauté sur Gordon qui a finalement remporté un titre national à sa troisième participation en quatre ans – une au championnat national midget de 2004, et l’autre à la Coupe RBC Banque Royale l’an dernier.

Le trio de Michalsky, Martin et Dahlinger a été le meilleur des Tigers, cumulant six points – un but et une mention d’aide pour Martin et Michalsky, et deux mentions d’aide pour Dahlinger.

Martin a été nommé le joueur du match des Tigers, tandis que Ryan Howse, âgé de seulement 15 ans, a remporté les honneurs pour les Spruce Kings après avoir disputé son meilleur match du tournoi avec l’équipe de sa ville d’origine.

LES SPRUCE KINGS ET LES TIGERS S’AFFRONTENT POUR LA COUPE RBC BANQUE ROYALE

Deux équipes, un match, un prix : la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2007.

Les Spruce Kings de Prince George et les Tigers d’Aurora sont les deux dernières formations en lice au championnat national junior A cette année, et une d’elles quittera le Centre CN de Prince George, dimanche soir, comme championne du hockey junior A canadien.

Les champions de la région centrale ont remporté l’affrontement des deux formations en ronde préliminaire par la marque de 6 -3. Mais le match a été beaucoup plus serré que l’indique la marque finale, car les Tigers ont marqué deux buts au cours des neuf dernières minutes après que les Spruce Kings eurent réduit l’écart à un but à trois reprises dans le match.

Les hôtes de la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2007 se présentent au match après avoir remporté peut-être la plus importante victoire des 35 ans d’histoire de la formation, samedi soir et dimanche matin. Le but de Jason Yuel à 6 :01 de la cinquième période de prolongation – à 1:01, heure locale – a mis fin au plus long match de l’histoire de la Coupe RBC Banque Royale et a permis aux Spruce Kings de vaincre les Kodiaks de Camrose par la marque de 3 -2.

Est-ce que Prince George carburera à l’adrénaline afin de poursuivre son incroyable lancée? Ou est-ce que le match marathon de six heures sera à l’avantage des Tigers qui n’ont eu besoin que de deux minutes de prolongation pour éliminer les Lumber Kings de Pembroke lors de leur demi-finale?

Le gardien des Spruce Kings, Jordan White, a sans doute livré ce qui pourrait être qualifié de la meilleure performance par un gardien de but de l’histoire du championnat national junior A en repoussant 91 tirs, samedi soir, pour aider les siens à remporter le match. Comment se sentira-t-il seulement dix-huit heures et demie plus tard pour affronter l’équipe au sommet du classement national?

Daniel Michalsky a prouvé pourquoi il a été un choix populaire au titre de Joueur par excellence du tournoi et de Meilleur avant du tournoi lors du banquet des méritas, vendredi soir, en marquant le but de la victoire en prolongation – son huitième but du tournoi – pour permettre aux Tigers de se qualifier pour le match de la médaille d’or pour la deuxième fois en quatre ans.

Aurora a sans contredit été la meilleure formation junior A du pays cette saison, cumulant une fiche ahurissante de 77-10-1 au cours de la saison régulière amorcée en septembre dernier. Pourront-ils mettre fin à une saison de rêve en remportant un championnat national ou feront-ils comme les Eagles de South Surrey de 1997, les Kodiaks de Camrose de 2005 et plusieurs autres équipes qui ont dominé la saison régulière avant de s’incliner à l’équipe hôtesse lors de la finale nationale?

Les deux équipes présentent des fiches presque identiques au chapitre des buts alloués au tournoi (les Spruce Kings détiennent une mince avance 15 contre 16), mais l’offensive des Tigers a été beaucoup plus productrice, marquant presque un but et demi de plus par match que Prince George (23 – 15).
Est-ce que White et les Spruce Kings pourront freiner les Tigers et remporter le premier championnat national junior A de la franchise, ou est-ce que Michalsky et compagnie produiront l’offensive qui leur permettra de remporter leur deuxième titre en quatre ans?

Le Canada connaîtra la réponse à cette question, dimanche soir. Soyez de la partie.

 

Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 13  Ronde Championnat
Aréna CN Centre Ville, Pays Prince George, C.-B., Canada
Moi / Jour / Année 05/13/2007 Heure (local) 19h30 PT
Assistance 3330 Statut de jeu Finale

Compte   1     2     3   Totale
Prince George Spruce Kings (HST) 0 0 1 1
Aurora Tigers (CEN) 1 1 1 3
Buts/Pénalités
Première Période
Buts:
   13:15 CEN 9 Joseph Martin (19 Michael Dahlinger, 20 Daniel Michalsky)

Pénalités:
   06:55 CEN 21 Andrew Eastman (Accrocher)
   08:21 HST 19 Chris Shudo (Obstruction)
   15:18 HST 10 Ryan House (Donner de la bande)
   18:24 CEN 25 Vincent Bruni (Faire trébucher)
   19:00 HST 24 Jason Yuel (Coup de bâton)

Deuxieme Période
Buts:
   18:48 CEN 10 Joseph Piccone

Pénalités:
   03:12 CEN 8 Alain Goulet (Bâton élevé)
   14:48 HST 2 Nicolas Rioux (Donner du coude)
   15:42 HST 6 Ryan de Vries (Double-échec)

Troisième Période
Buts:
   02:54 CEN 20 Daniel Michalsky (9 Joseph Martin, 19 Michael Dahlinger) AN
   14:29 HST 8 Alain Joanette (6 Ryan de Vries, 15 Tyler Helfrich)

Pénalités:
   01:26 HST 5 Clay Goodall (Mise en échec par-derrière)
   01:26 HST 5 Clay Goodall (Extrême inconduite)
   09:38 CEN 4 Quinn Waller (Faire trébucher)


Gardiens de but
Prince George Spruce Kings
1 Jordan White Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 3/18:55
Aurora Tigers
30 Tyler Gordon Entrée 1/00:00   Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Totale
Prince George Spruce Kings 8 7 7 22
Aurora Tigers 10 8 13 31

Joueur du match
Prince George Spruce Kings 10 Ryan House
Aurora Tigers 9 Joseph Martin
Officiels
Arbitre Pat Smith
Juges de lignes Trevor Boudreau, Kiel Murchison
Juges de but Garth Loeppky, Adam Hyatt