Game Summary

YORKTON TERRIERS (West) 2 vs. BURNABY EXPRESS (Pacific) 8

RBC Royal Bank Cup Final
Sunday, May 14, 2006
Brampton, ON | 19:30 ET
Powerade Centre

By HockeyCanada.ca | 

BURNABY STEAM ROLLS OVER THE TERRIERS

If you haven’t heard the name Kyle Turris he certainly will not stay in obscurity for much longer. The sixteen year-old from New Westminster, BC has been stellar during the 2006 RBC Royal Bank Cup and has shown the poise and makeup of a 20-year coming through when his team needed him the most.

In Saturday’s semi-final he scored the tying goal with 11 seconds remaining, then he set up the overtime winner. On Sunday, Turris showed once again why the University of Wisconsin Badgers were so eager to have him commit to their program, even though he won’t suit up for them until the fall of 2007.

Turris took control of the game early on and scored two goals to give his team a 2-0 lead. His first came on the power-play at 2:37 of the first when he rifled a shot high over the glove of Brett Bothwell and he quickly found twine again at 13:03 of the first.

Turris then set up Mark Soares for his fourth of the tournament to give Burnaby a commanding 4-0 lead. With Burnaby shorthanded Turris broke in alone on Bothwell, but failed to get a shot away. However, he stayed with the puck and found Soares who was left wide open in the slot and he went glove side on Bothwell.

Turris notched his hat-trick when he rifled a shot from the top of the circle past Bothwell.

Burnaby also received goals from Mark Santorelli, Keith Seabrook, Steve Cunningham and Paul Crowder. Soares finished the game with three points and Keith Seabrook led all skaters with a +5 rating.

Yorkton received goals by Dustin Nehring and Brady Cook.

PLAYERS OF THE GAME:

BURNABY: Kyle Turris
YORKTON: Dustin Nehring

GAME NOTES: Kyle Turris finished the tournament with 7 goals, 6 assists and 13 points to lead the tournament … Turris’ hat trick was the only one of the tournament … The 8-2 victory ended up being the most lopsided victory of the tournament … Brett Bothwell who had a stellar tournament prior to the final, was pulled after the sixth Burnaby goal

For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services

Sommaire du Match

YORKTON TERRIERS (West) 2 c. BURNABY EXPRESS (Pacific) 8

Finale
samedi le 13 mai 2006
Brampton, ON | 19:30 ET
Centre Powerade

Par HockeyCanada.ca

BURNABY ANÉANTIT LES TERRIERS

Si vous n’avez jamais entendu parler de Kyle Turris, ce ne sera pas long avant qu’il sorte de l’ombre. Le jeune joueur de 16 ans de New Westminster en Colombie-Britannique a excellé tout au long de la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2006 et il a fait preuve du sang-froid et des qualités d’un jeune homme de 20 ans, prenant les commandes lorsque son équipe a eu le plus besoin de lui.

Lors de la demi-finale, samedi, il a marqué le but égalisateur alors qu’il restait 11 secondes à jouer dans le match, puis il a obtenu une mention d’aide sur le but gagnant en prolongation. Dimanche, Turris a de nouveau démontré pourquoi les Badgers de l’Université du Wisconsin étaient si excités à l’idée de le voir évoluer avec eux même si cela ne surviendra qu’à l’automne 2007.

Turris a pris le contrôle du match tôt en marquant deux buts pour donner une avance de 2 –0 aux siens. Il a inscrit son premier but à 2:37 de la première période, en avantage numérique, lorsqu’il a décoché un tir puissant par-dessus la mitaine de Brent Bothwell et il a de nouveau fait mouche à 13:03 du premier tiers.

Plus tard, Turris a préparé le quatrième but du tournoi de Mark Soares pour donner une avance de 4 –0 à Burnaby. Alors que Burnaby était en désavantage numérique, Turris s’est avancé seul devant Bothwell, mais il n’a pu tirer au but. Toutefois, il a suivi la rondelle et a effectué une passe à Soares qui était seul en zone privilégiée. Soares a marqué en tirant du côté de la mitaine de Bothwell.

Turris a obtenu son tour du chapeau lors d’un tir précis du haut du cercle qui a trompé Bothwell.

Burnaby a aussi profité de buts de Mark Santorelli, Keith Seabrook, Steve Cunningham et Paul Crowder. Soares a cumulé trois points dans le match et Keith Seabrook a terminé au premier rang des patineurs avec une fiche de +5.

Dustin Nehring et Brady Cook ont marqué pour Yorkton.

JOUEURS DU MATCH :

BURNABY : Kyle Turris
YORKTON : Dustin Nehring

REMARQUES SUR LE MATCH : Kyle Turris a terminé le tournoi avec sept buts, six aides et 13 points pour occuper le premier rang des pointeurs du tournoi… Le tour du chapeau de Turris a été le seul du tournoi… Cette victoire de 8 –2 est le plus grand écart du tournoi… Brent Bothwell, qui a été excellent tout au long du tournoi, a été remplacé devant le filet après le sixième but de Burnaby

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services