Game Summary

FWFN Northstars (CEN) 2 - Yorkton Terriers (WEST) 1

Round Robin
Thursday, May 11, 2006
Brampton, ON | 14:00 ET
Powerade Centre

By HockeyCanada.ca | 

The Yorkton Terriers have had to battle through many adversities throughout the 2006 RBC Royal bank Cup, and now their fate is in the hands of the Burnaby Express. Fort William on the other hand can breathe a little easier now that they have secured a spot in the semi-final with their 2-1 victory over Yorkton on Thursday afternoon.

Fort William notched the game winner late in the second period. Kory McEwan took advantage of a turnover and from the slot fired a puck past Bothwell who just could not catch up to the puck.

Yorkton, who was already missing some of their top players due to injury, lost Scott Woytas early in the first when he was sent to the dressing room after a match penalty for checking from behind. Then, Yorkton suffered another injury scare when Nehring was taken out hard along the boards by Kory McEwan who received a two minute high sticking penalty. Fortunately, Nehring did return later in the period.

Fort Williams struck first on the power-play. Joey Nigro gave Fort William a 1-0 lead after batting home a loose puck from the side of the net past a sprawled Brent Bothwell.

Yorton tied the game up at 1-1 at 6:45 of the second with a power play goal of their own. After controlling the play for most of the power play, Michael Holmes made a beautiful cross ice pass to Justin Menke who one-timed it past Carter Hutton.

The Terriers will now be scoreboard watching. Should l’Action de Joliette come out with a win tonight against the Express, the number one seed going into the RBC Royal Bank Cup would officially be eliminated from the tournament.

PLAYERS OF THE GAME:

FORT WILLIAM: Kory McEwan
YORKTON: Justin Menke

GAME NOTES: Dion Campbell and Jason Wagar who were injured in Yorkton’s last game did not dress … With an assist on the first goal, Denis Morrison extended his point streak to four games

For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services

Sommaire du Match

FWFN Northstars (CEN) 2 - Yorkton Terriers (WEST) 1

Ronde Preliminaire
jeudi le 11 mai 2006
Brampton, ON | 14:00 ET
Centre Powerade

Par HockeyCanada.ca

Les Terriers de Yorkton ont dû relever plusieurs défis lors de la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2006, et leur sort repose maintenant entre les mains de l’Express de Burnaby. Fort William, pour sa part, peut respirer un peu plus aisément maintenant que les North Stars sont assurés de participer aux demi-finales grâce à leur victoire de 2 –1 sur Yorkton, jeudi après-midi.

Fort William a marqué le but gagnant vers la fin de la deuxième période. Kory McEwan a profité d’un revirement et, alors qu’il se trouvait en zone privilégiée, a décoché un tir qui a déjoué Bothwell qui n’a tout simplement pas pu rattraper la rondelle.

Yorkton, déjà à court de quelques joueurs blessés, a perdu Scott Woytas au début du premier tiers lorsqu’il a été chassé au vestiaire après avoir porté une mise en échec par-derrière. Yorkton a ensuite vu un autre de ses joueurs se blesser lorsque Nehring a été solidement plaqué contre la bande par Kory McEwan qui a écopé de deux minutes pour bâton élevé. Heureusement, Nehring est revenu au jeu plus tard au cours de la période.

Fort William a marqué le premier but en avantage numérique. Joey Nigro a donné une avance de 1 –0 à Fort William lorsqu’il a récupéré une rondelle libre sur le côté du filet et l’a tiré par-dessus Brent Bothwell qui était allongé sur la glace.

Yorkton a nivelé la marque 1 –1 à 6:45 de la deuxième période avec son propre but en avantage numérique. Après avoir contrôlé le jeu pendant presque tout l’avantage numérique, Michael Holmes a effectué une superbe passe transversale à Justin Menke qui a décoché un tir sur réception pour déjouer Carter Hutton.

Les Terriers surveilleront maintenant le tableau d’affichage de près. Si l’Action de Joliette devait l’emporter ce soir sur l’Express, l’équipe classée première avant le début du tournoi de la Coupe RBC Banque Royale serait officiellement éliminée de la compétition.

JOUEURS DU MATCH :

FORT WILLIAM : Kory McEwan
YORKTON : Justin Menke

REMARQUES SUR LE MATCH : Dion Campbell et Jason Wagar, qui ont été blessés lors du dernier match de Yorkton, n’étaient pas en uniforme aujourd’hui… Grâce à une mention d’aide sur le premier but, Denis Morrison a prolongé sa série de matchs avec au moins un point à quatre

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services