Game Summary

Burnaby Express (PAC) 3 - FWFN Northstars (CEN) 2

Round Robin
Wednesday, May 10, 2006
Brampton, ON | 13:45 ET
Powerade Centre

By HockeyCanada.ca |

The Fort William North Stars lost a heartbreaker on Wednesday afternoon. With the score tied at 2-2 and with less than a minute remaining in the third, Burnaby scored the go-ahead goal on a controversial play. Kyle Turris came barreling down the wing, and let a shot go that bounced high in the air, fell behind Hutton and just barely crossed the line. Between the defender and the goaltender who were both trying to keep the puck from crossing the line, it was difficult to see the puck cross the line. However, the red light came on and when the referee confirmed with the goal judge he signaled to centre-ice; goal.

Turris was Burnaby’s go-to-guy all night. The game-winner was his third of the night as he was responsible for twice scoring the game tying goal, and with the hat-trick, the game-winner. Although, according to Turris, the goal should not have been credited to him. “It definitely got over the line” when asked about his third goal, “but it wasn’t even my goal, it should have been Soares (Mark) who got credit”.

With the win the Express improved to 2-1 and are now bound for the semi-finals. “Now we can be a bit more relaxed and it’s nice to know that we are in the final four” said Turris.

With Burnaby trailing 1-0 in the second, Turris tied the game at 1-1 at 4:28 of the second period. Then, Turris helped his team with his second goal of the game late in the third to tie the game at 2-2. Dave Simoes took a shot from the point that was deflected by Turris and the puck squeaked through the five hole of Carter Hutton.

The tournament’s leading scorer going into the game, Denis Morrison, opened the scoring for Fort Williams early in the first period. After Burnaby tied the game in the second, Jordan Smith restored Fort Williams lead with his first marker of the tournament.

According to Todd Howarth, the second goal that tied the game at 2-2 was the real turning point. “They scored on the power-play in the third and we didn’t. The shot came from the point and it bounced through, that was a tough one to swallow.” Ultimately, Howarth stressed the importance on capitalizing on turnovers. “We had some costly turnovers that they made us pay for and they had some, but we could not bury our chances.”

PLAYERS OF THE GAME:

BURNABY: Kyle Turris
FORT WILLIAM: Denis Morrison

GAME NOTES: Turris became the first player in the tournament to record a hat-trick … Turris is now the leading goal scorer of the tournament

For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services

Sommaire du Match

Burnaby Express (PAC) 3 - FWFN Northstars (CEN) 2

Ronde Preliminaire
mercredi le 10 mai 2006
Brampton, ON | 13:45 ET
Centre Powerade

Par HockeyCanada.ca

Les North Stars de Fort William ont subi une défaite crève-cœur, mercredi après-midi. Alors que la marque était égale 2 –2 et qu’il restait moins d’une minute à jouer dans le match, Burnaby a marqué le but qui lui donnait l’avance lors d’un jeu controversé. Kyle Turris a foncé à l’aile et il a décoché un tir qui a bondi haut dans les airs avant de tomber derrière Hutton et de franchir la ligne des buts. Puisqu’un défenseur et le gardien tentaient d’empêcher que la rondelle franchisse la ligne des buts, il était difficile de bien voir la rondelle. Toutefois, la lampe-témoin rouge s’est allumée et après avoir consulté le juge des buts, l’arbitre a confirmé que le but était bon.

Turris a mené les siens durant tout le match. Le but gagnant était son troisième du match. Il a donné l’avance aux siens à deux reprises avant d’obtenir un tour du chapeau en marquant le but gagnant. Toutefois, selon Turris il n’était pas l’auteur du but. « La rondelle a certainement franchi la ligne des buts », a-t-il dit quand on l’a questionné sur le troisième but, « mais ce n’était même pas mon but, c’est Soares (Mark) qui aurait dû l’avoir. »

Avec cette victoire, l’Express présente une fiche de 2 –1 et accède aux demi-finales. « Maintenant, on peut être un peu plus détendu et c’est bien de savoir que nous faisons partie des quatre derniers », dit Turris.

Pendant que Burbany tirait de l’arrière 1 –0 en deuxième période, Turris a nivelé la marque à 1 –1 à 4:28 du deuxième tiers. Puis, vers la fin de la troisième période, il a de nouveau aidé son équipe en nivelant la marque à 2 –2. Dave Simoes a décoché un tir de la pointe que Turris a dévié entre les jambières du gardien Carter Hutton.

Le meilleur pointeur du tournoi avant le début du match, Denis Morrison, a ouvert la marque pour Fort William au début du premier tiers. Après que Burnaby eut nivelé la marque en deuxième, Jordan Smith a redonné l’avance aux North Stars en marquant son premier but du tournoi.

Selon Todd Howarth, le deuxième but qui a nivelé la marque à 2 –2 a été le point tournant du match. « Ils ont marqué en avantage numérique au cours de la troisième et pas nous. Le tir est venu de la pointe et il a bondi jusque dans le but; ce fut difficile à prendre. » Au bout du compte, Howarth a souligné l’importance de profiter des revirements. « Nous avons commis des revirements coûteux et nous avons payé cher; mais eux aussi ils en ont eu, mais nous n’avons pas profité de nos chances. »

JOUEURS DU MATCH :

BURNABY : Kyle Turris
FORT WILLIAM : Denis Morrison

REMARQUES SUR LE MATCH : Turris est devenu le premier joueur du tournoi à obtenir un tour du chapeau… Turris occupe maintenant le premier rang des pointeurs du tournoi

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services