Team Central - Fwfn Northstars


» FWFN Northstars Stats Package (pdf 56KB)

CENTRAL REGION: The Fort William First Nation North Stars of the Superior International Junior Hockey League (SIJHL) lost only twice in the regular season and just once in 12 playoff contests. The North Stars qualified for the 2006 RBC Royal Bank Cup with a 7-6 overtime victory over the Sudbury Jr. Wolves (Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League) in the final of the Dudley-Hewitt Cup. Offensively, the trio of Kory McEwan, Joey Nigro and Dennis Morrison finished 1-2-3 in team scoring during the regular season and playoffs. McEwan was the SIJHL scoring champion with 119 points in 50 games and was also the top point-getter in the post-season with 22 points in eight games. Nigro recorded 93 points in 46 regular season games, while Morrison added 71 points in 45 games. Captain Ryan Baird was the team’s highest scoring defenseman in the regular season with 54 points in 45 games, while goaltender Carter Hutton posted a 1.57 goals against average in the playoffs and 1.90 goals against in the regular season.

Regular Season Record: 50-2-0-0 (1st in SIJHL)
Playoff Record: 11-1 (SIJHL and Dudley-Hewitt Cup Champions)
RBC Royal Bank Cup Titles: 0
Previous RBC Royal Bank Cup Appearances: 0

During the 2005-06 campaign Fort William rolled to its third straight Superior International Junior Hockey League regular season crown with a more than impressive 50-2 record.

The North Stars continued to soar in the postseason going unbeaten in eight games capturing the Bill Salonen Cup SIJHL playoff championship taking home that title for the third year in succession.

The trio of Kory McEwan, Joey Nigro and Dennis Morrison paced the North Stars offensively all season long. McEwan led the way topping the SIJHL in scoring with 119 points including a league and Canadian Jr. A Hockey League-best 69 goals. McEwan again led the way with 22 playoff points.

Team captain Ryan Baird anchors the Fort William defence and he’ll continue his career in the fall playing division one U.S. college hockey for Lake Superior State University of the Central Collegiate Hockey Association.

Goaltender Carter Hutton has gone 43-2 overall on the year. He registered 13 shutouts on the year while at one point recording five shutouts in a row during a 362 minute goalless streak. 

Long-time hockey man Gary Cook serves as the North Stars general manager. He has five Allan Cup rings from his days in senior hockey with the then Thunder Bay Twins. He also added three more titles with Thunder Bay’s former United Hockey League franchise.

One of the players on that UHL team is current North Stars head coach Todd Howarth. He also skated for the Thunder Bay Flyers that captured a Centennial Cup crown back in 1989 with a team that also featured Canadian Jr. A hockey player of the year and current Nashville Predators captain Greg Johnson. That squad was also comprised fully of players from Thunder Bay and Northwestern Ontario.

Add in team equipment manager Darrell Clarke, a 2005 RBC Hockey Leaders awards recipient, who has been along side Cook for championship won and the Fort William North Stars offer a winning combination that looks to add further accolades with a 2006 Royal Bank Cup crown.

For more information:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services

Equipe Centrale - Fwfn Northstars


» Statistiques (pdf 56KB)

RÉGION CENTRALE : Les First Nation North Stars de Fort William de la Ligue supérieure internationale de hockey junior (SIJHL) n’ont perdu que deux matchs en saison régulière et un match en 12 matchs éliminatoires. Les North Stars se sont qualifiés pour la Coupe RBC Banque Royale 2006 en inscrivant une victoire de 7 –6 en prolongation sur les Junior Wolves de Sudbury (Ligue de hockey junior du Nord de l’Ontario) lors de la finale de la coupe Dudley-Hewitt. À l’offensive, Kory McEwan, Joey Nigro et Dennis Morrison ont été les 1er, 2e et 3e meilleurs pointeurs de l’équipe en saison régulière et pendant les éliminatoires. McEwan a remporté le championnat des pointeurs de la SIJHL avec 119 points en 50 matchs et a terminé au premier rang des pointeurs lors des éliminatoires avec 22 points en huit matchs. Nigro a cumulé 93 points en 46 matchs en saison régulière tandis que Morrison a ajouté 71 points en 45 matchs. Le capitaine Ryan Baird a terminé au premier rang des pointeurs chez les défenseurs en saison régulière avec 54 points en 45 matchs alors que le gardien de but Carter Hutton a cumulé une moyenne de buts alloués de 1,57 pendant les éliminatoires et de 1,90 en saison régulière.

Fiche en saison régulière : 50-2-0-0 (1re de la SIJHL)
Fiche en éliminatoires : 11-1 (champions de la SIJHL et de la coupe Dudley-Hewitt)
Titre(s) de la Coupe RBC Banque Royale : 0
Participation(s) antérieure(s) à la Coupe RBC Banque Royale : 0

Au cours de la saison 2005-06, Fort William a remporté son troisième championnat de la saison régulière de la Ligue supérieure internationale de hockey junior avec une fiche impressionnante de 50 –2.

Les North Stars ont continué de bien faire lors des éliminatoires remportant huit victoires consécutives et ne subissant aucun revers pour s’emparer de la coupe Bill Salonen du championnat de la SIJHL pour la troisième année de suite.

Le trio de Kory McEwan, Joey Nigro et Dennis Morrison a mené l’équipe tout au lors de la saison. McEwan a terminé au premier rang des pointeurs de la SIJHL avec 119 points et plus de terminer meilleur marqueur de la ligue et de la Ligue canadienne de hockey junior A avec 69 buts. McEwan a aussi terminé au premier rang des éliminatoires avec 22 points.

Le capitaine de l’équipe, Ryan Baird, est le pilier de la défensive de Fort William. Il poursuivra sa carrière à l’automne dans la Division un du hockey collégial américain auprès de l’Université Lake Superior State de la Central Collegiate Hockey Association.

Le gardien Carter Hutton a cumulé une fiche globale de 43 –2 cette année. Il a réalisé 13 jeux blancs, dont cinq de suite au cours desquels il n’a accordé aucun but en 362 minutes.

Gary Cook, qui est associé au hockey depuis longtemps, est le directeur général des North Stars. Il compte cinq bagues de la coupe Allan du temps où il jouait au hockey senior avec les Twins de Thunder Bay. Il a aussi remporté trois autres titres avec l’ancienne franchise de Thunder Bay dans la United Hockey League.

Parmi les joueurs qui ont fait partie de cette équipe de l’UHL, notons l’entraîneur-chef actuel des North Stars, Todd Howarth. Il a aussi joué avec les Flyers de Thunder Bay qui ont remporté la Coupe du Centenaire en 1989 avec une équipe qui comptait le joueur de l’année du junior A canadien et capitaine actuel des Predators de Nashville. Greg Johnson. Cette formation regroupait seulement des joueurs de Thunder Bay et du Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario.

Ajoutez à cela un responsable de l’équipement qui a remporté le prix des Artisans du hockey local RBC en 2005 et qui a remporté des championnats aux côtés de côté de Cook en la personne de Darrell Clarke, et vous avec une combinaison gagnante qui compte bien ajouter le titre de championne de la Coupe RBC 2006 à son palmarès.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Ryan Robins Manager, Marketing Services