2006 Hockey Canada Award Winners

Female Hockey Breakthrough Award

Outstanding contribution to advancing female hockey

Shirley Cameron (Edmonton, Alta.)

Shirley Cameron, of Edmonton, AB, received Hockey Canada’s Female Breakthrough Award, which honours an individual who has made a significant contribution to the promotion and/or development of female hockey in Canada. Cameron was a pioneer in women’s hockey and was the first captain of Canada’s National Women’s Team, having won the 1990 World Women’s Championship.

Amongst Cameron’s many accomplishments: she helped establish the Edmonton Chimos hockey team in 1972, a team that she starred on until 1992; she has won 16 National Women’s Championships over the course of her storied career; she ended up coaching the Chimos for 14 years (1992-2004) after her playing career was over; and she is presently the Director of Operations for the Chimos hockey club. Cameron’s coaching career also included the 1999 Canada Winter Games where she was Team Alberta’s Head Coach, a role she has held in the Alberta Winter Games. The top two Women’s Hockey Teams in Alberta compete for the Cameron Cup each year, a trophy that is named in her honour.


Liz MacKinnon Award

Spousal award of a Hockey Canada volunteer

Myrna Kartush


Gordon Juckes Award

Contribution to national development of amateur hockey in Canada

Dan Moro (Calgary, Alta.)

Dan Moro, of Calgary, AB, received the 2005-06 Gordon Juckes Award, recognizing outstanding contribution by an individual to the development of amateur hockey in Canada at the national level. Dan has been involved with coaching for a number of years and is a NCCP Advanced Level II coach. Dan was an Assistant Coach with Canada’s National Men’s team from 1995-99.

He recently accepted a role with VANOC in preparation for the 2010 Winter Olympics, but prior to that was the Manager of Sport Development with Calgary’s Olympic Development Association (CODA), and was in that role from 2003-06. Dan was also a consultant for the Torino and the Salt Lake Organizing Committees and helped provide leadership and direction for the Olympic and Paralympic Ice Hockey and Curling programs during the 2002 and 2006 Winter Olympics. From 1986-1999, Dan was the Director of the International Centre of Excellence for Hockey Canada.


Officiating Award



Outstanding contribution to officiating at the branch and national level 

Ray Bowe (St. John's, N.L.)

Ray Bowe of St. John’s, NL was named the Hockey Canada Official of the Year. Ray has been officiating since 1954. In fact, Ray attended his second officiating seminar in Germany as he was stationed with the R.C.A.F. in Marville France, and he conducted referee schools for the Armed Forces in Marville. Ray has been a Referee-In-Chief for the Armed Forces, NAHA, and Moose Jaw minor hockey association. Ray attended an NHL referee’s school in Haliburton, ON in 1968, and shortly after helped establish a new structure for officiating within the CAHA called the National Referee’s Certification Program (NRCP).

Ray has officiated in many leagues across Canada, including the Armed Forces, Senior, Junior, Major Junior, and minor hockey. Ray is a Hockey Canada level VI certified official, which is the top level within the Hockey Canada Officiating Program. Ray has received countless awards, most notably: Gold Stick for ten years of services in Hockey Newfoundland/Labrador (HNL), Canadian Armed Forces Sports Hall of Fame inductee, Hockey Newfoundland & Labrador Hall of Fame inductee, and the Queen’s Jubilee medal in 2002. HNL’s referee division created an award to honour officials in their Branch who have devoted countless hours to the officiating program; the award is named “The Ray Bowe Award of Merit” in recognition of Ray Bowe. 


Hockey Canada Order of Merit (East)

An individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully

Gerry Taylor (St. John's, N.L.)

Gerry Taylor, of St. John’s, NL has excelled as a player, coach, organizer and educator of the game of hockey in Newfoundland for over 50 years with three different hockey associations within the province of Newfoundland. He has been on numerous committees including Chairman of the NAHA Hockey Hall of Fame and the NHLA Junior Council. Gerry has been the President of the St. John’s Junior Hockey League on three separate occasions. Gerry’s accomplishments have been recognized by HNL, Bell Island Sport Hall of Fame, St. John’s Junior Hockey League and the Mount Pearl Sports Hall of Fame. 


Hockey Canada Order of Merit (Central)

An individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully

John Gardner (Toronto, Ont.)

John Gardner, of Toronto, ON has been a part of the administration for the Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL, formerly the MTHL) since 1975, including acting President since 1980. John has pioneered many initiatives such as the Bell Minor Hockey Hotline (1996) and PAL (player assistance line). At the Branch level, he has served as a Director of the OHA and subsequently the OHF, and most recently as the OHF’s Chair for Minor Hockey. He is also the chair to two Hockey Canada committees, the residency regulations, and entrepreneurs within minor hockey. John has received many awards, including the Government of Ontario Special Achievement Award (1995), OHF Minor Hockey Award (2001), and was the recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal (2002).


Hockey Canada Order of Merit (West)

An individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully

 

George Ulyatt (Winnipeg, Man.)

George Ulyatt, of Winnipeg, MB, has made a significant contribution to the growth, delivery and administration of hockey in Manitoba and has been a leader and a role model for the volunteers throughout Hockey Manitoba. George has been involved with Hockey Manitoba for over 30 years, and has had roles in all levels of administration, including Branch President and Hockey Canada Board Member from 1995-2001. He played a key role in acquiring and hosting of the 1992 Centennial Cup and the 1999 World Junior Championship in Winnipeg. He has sat on several National Committees including the Chair of Risk and Safety in 2002 and 2003, a member of the Governance Committee, Constitution and By-laws and a member of the Marketing Committee. George is currently involved as a committee member with the Manitoba sports Hall of Fame and the Co-Chair of the Hockey Canada 2007 AGM committee.


Outstanding Volunteer Award

Sharon McMahon (Thunder Bay, Ont.)

Sharon McMahon, of Thunder Bay, ON received Hockey Canada’s 2005-06 Volunteer of the Year Award, which recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has contributed to amateur hockey and Hockey Canada. Sharon has been involved in the administration of hockey for 16 years with Hockey Northwestern Ontario (HNO), one of Hockey Canada’s 13 Branches.  With HNO, she has held many positions including a Board Member (1990-96), Vice-President and Minor Convenor (1996-2000), Vice-President and Senior Hockey Convenor (2000-01) and the President (2001-2005).

Sharon has also been a member of Hockey Canada’s Board of Directors (2001-2005), has been involved with various Hockey Canada committees including Speak Out, and has served as President of the Geraldton (ON) Minor Hockey Association for many years. Sharon was the Chairperson of the Hockey Canada AGM in 2004 when it was held in Thunder Bay, and the Co-Chairperson of the All-Ontario Bantam AAA Championship in 2005. This is Sharon’s second Hockey Canada award as she was a recipient of the Hockey Canada Minor Hockey Week Award, recognizing an outstanding volunteer, during the 1995-96 season. Sharon was also a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal (2002).


Hal Lewis Award

Hockey Canada staff person of the year

Linda Liepert (Calgary, Alta.)

Lauréats des prix de Hockey Canada 2006

Prix De La Percée Du Hockey Féminin

Contribution exceptionnelle à l'avancement du hockey féminin

Shirley Cameron (Edmonton, Alb.)

Shirley Cameron, d’Edmonton, Alberta, a reçu le Prix de la percée du hockey féminin de Hockey Canada soulignant la contribution exceptionnelle d’une personne à la promotion ou au développement du hockey féminin au Canada. Shirley a été une pionnière au hockey féminin et elle a été la première capitaine de l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada, remportant le Championnat mondial féminin de 1990.

Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations, elle a aidé à fonder l’équipe de hockey des Chimos d’Edmonton en 1972, une équipe dont elle a été une des joueuses étoiles jusqu’en 1992; elle a remporté 16 championnats nationaux de hockey féminin au cours de son illustre carrière; elle a été entraîneure des Chimos pendant 14 ans (1992-2004) après qu’elle eut pris sa retraite comme joueuse, et elle est présentement directrice des activités du club de hockey des Chimos. Comme entraîneure, Shirley a aussi participé aux Jeux d’hiver du Canada en 1999 à titre d’entraîneure-chef d’Équipe Alberta, rôle qu’elle avait déjà joué lors des Jeux d’hiver de l’Alberta. Les deux meilleures formations de hockey féminin de l’Alberta se livrent, chaque année, une lutte pour la coupe Cameron, un trophée nommé en son honneur. 


Prix Liz MacKinnon

Contribution spéciale du conjoint ou de la conjointe d'un bénévole du Hockey Canada

Myrna Kartush


Prix Gordon Juckes

Contribution exceptionnelle au développement du hockey amateur au Canada

Dan Moro (Calgary, Alb.)

Dan Moro de Calgary, Alberta, a reçu le prix Gordon Juckes 2005-06 soulignant la contribution exceptionnelle d’une personne au développement du hockey amateur sur la scène nationale au Canada. Dan participe comme entraîneur depuis plusieurs années. Il détient une certification de niveau avancé II du PNCE. Dan a été entraîneur adjoint de l’équipe nationale masculine du Canada de 1995 à 1999.

Il a récemment accepté un rôle au sein du COVAN en vue des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2010. Avant cela, il était responsable du développement du sport auprès de l’Association de développement olympique de Calgary (CODA), poste qu’il a occupé de 2003 à 2006. Dan a aussi été consultant auprès des comités organisateurs de Turin et de Salt Lake City et il a apporté leadership et direction aux programmes olympiques et paralympiques de hockey sur glace et de curling lors des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2002 et 2006. De 1986 à 1999, Dan a été le directeur du Centre d’excellence international de Hockey Canada.


Prix Des Officiels

Contribution exceptionnelle à l'arbitrage à l'échelle de la division et à l'échelle nationale

Ray Bowe (Saint-Jean, T.-N.L.) 

Ray Bowe de Saint-Jean, Terre-Neuve a été nommé l’officiel de l’année de Hockey Canada. Ray est officiel depuis 1954. Dans les faits, Ray a assisté à son deuxième séminaire pour les officiels en Allemagne pendant qu’il était affecté à Marville en France avec les Forces aériennes du Canada. Il a d’ailleurs dirigé des écoles pour les arbitres pour les forces armées à Marville. Ray a été arbitre en chef pour les forces armées, la NAHA et l’Association de hockey mineur de Moose Jaw. Il a fréquenté l’école des officiels de la LNH à Haliburton, Ontario, en 1968 et, peu après, il a participé à la mise en œuvre d’une nouvelle structure pour les officiels au sein de l’Association canadienne de hockey amateur appelée le Programme national de certification des arbitres (PNCA).

Ray a agi comme officiel au sein de plusieurs ligues au Canada, y compris les forces armées et au hockey senior, junior, junior majeur et professionnel mineur. Ray détient une certification de niveau VI du Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada, soit le plus haut niveau de certification possible en vertu de ce programme. Ray a reçu de nombreux prix, dont un « Bâton d’or » pour ses dix ans de dévouement auprès de Hockey Terre-Neuve et Labrador (HNL). De plus, il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée des sports des forces armées canadiennes, au Temple de la renommée de Hockey Terre-Neuve et Labrador et il a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine Élisabeth II en 2002. La division de HNL consacrée à l’arbitrage a créé un prix pour rendre hommage aux officiels de la branche qui ont consacré d’innombrables heures au programme des officiels et ce prix se nomme le « Prix du mérite Ray Bowe » en reconnaissance de Ray Bowe.


Ordre Du Mérite Du Hockey Canada (Est)

Personne qui a fidèlement servi le hockey amateur

Gerry Taylor (Saint-Jean, T.-N.L)

Gerry Taylor, de Saint-Jean, Terre-Neuve, a excellé comme joueur, entraîneur, organisateur et éducateur au hockey à Terre-Neuve pendant plus de 50 ans auprès de trois associations de hockey différentes dans la province de Terre-Neuve. Il a siégé à de nombreux comités et a été président du Temple de la renommée du hockey de la NAHA et du conseil du hockey junior de la NHLA. Gerry a occupé le poste de président de la Ligue de hockey junior de Saint-Jean à trois reprises. Ses réalisations ont été reconnues par Hockey Terre-Neuve et Labrador, le Temple de la renommée du sport de l’île Bell, la Ligue de hockey junior de Saint-Jean et le Temple de la renommée du sport de Mount Pearl.


Ordre Du Mérite Du Hockey Canada (Centrale)

Personne qui a fidèlement servi le hockey amateur

John Gardner (Toronto, Ont.)

John Gardner, de Toronto, Ontario, fait partie de la direction de la Ligue de hockey du grand Toronto (GTHL, anciennement la MTHL) depuis 1975. Il en est le président depuis 1980. John a été le pionnier de plusieurs initiatives comme le service d’assistance téléphonique de Bell pour le hockey mineur (1996) et le programme PAL (programme d’aide pour les joueurs). Au sein de la branche, il a été directeur de l’OHA puis de l’OHF et, plus récemment, président du hockey mineur de l’OHF. Il est aussi le président de deux comités de Hockey Canada, celui des règlements visant la résidence et celui des entrepreneurs au sein du hockey mineur. John a été le récipiendaire de nombreux prix, dont le « Special Achievement Award » du gouvernement de l’Ontario (1995), le Prix du hockey mineur de l’OHF (2001) et la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine Élisabeth II (2002).


Ordre Du Mérite Du Hockey Canada (Ouest)

Personne qui a fidèlement servi le hockey amateur

George Ulyatt (Winnipeg, Man.)

George Ulyatt, de Winnipeg, Manitoba, a contribué de façon exceptionnelle à la croissance, à la présentation et à l’administration du hockey au Manitoba et il a été un chef de file et un modèle pour l’ensemble des bénévoles de Hockey Manitoba. George est associé à Hockey Manitoba depuis plus de 30 ans. Il a occupé des postes à tous les paliers de l’administration, y compris celui de président de la branche et membre du conseil d’administration de Hockey Canada de 1995 à 2001. Il a joué un rôle-clé dans l’obtention et la tenue de la Coupe du centenaire de 1992 et du Championnat mondial junior de 1999 à Winnipeg. Il a siégé à plusieurs comités nationaux, y compris le Comité de la gestion du risque et de la sécurité, dont il a été le président en 2002 et 2003, le Comité de gouvernance, le Comité de la constitution et des statuts et le Comité de marketing. George est actuellement membre d’un comité du Temple de la renommée des sports du Manitoba et coprésident du comité de l’AGA de 2007 de Hockey Canada.


Prix Du Bénévole Exceptionnel

Sharon McMahon (Thunder Bay, Ont.)

Sharon McMahon, de Thunder Bay, Ontario, a reçu le Prix du bénévole de l’année soulignant le travail exceptionnel d’un bénévole ayant contribué au hockey amateur et à Hockey Canada. Sharon participe à l’administration du hockey depuis 16 ans auprès de Hockey du Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario (HNO), une des treize branches de Hockey Canada. Sharon a occupé plusieurs postes au sein de HNO dont celui de membre du conseil d’administration (1990-96), de vice-présidente et de responsable de la formation des équipes (2000-01) et celui de présidente (2001-2005).

Elle a aussi siégé au conseil d’administration de Hockey Canada (2001-2005), a participé à plusieurs comités de Hockey Canada, dont le comité Dis-le, et a agi comme présidente de l’Association de hockey mineur de Geraldton (Ontario) pendant plusieurs années. Sharon a été présidente de l’AGA de Hockey Canada en 2004 lorsque l’assemblée a eu lieu à Thunder Bay et coprésidente du Championnat bantam AAA de toute l’Ontario en 2005. Ceci marque la deuxième fois que Sharon reçoit un prix de Hockey Canada puisqu’elle a déjà reçu, en 1995-96, le Prix de la semaine du hockey mineur de Hockey Canada, soulignant un bénévole exceptionnel. Sharon a aussi été récipiendaire d’une Médaille du jubilé de la Reine Élisabeth II (2002).


Prix Hal Lewis

Employé(e) de l'année de Hockey Canada

Linda Liepert (Calgary, Alb.)