Game Summary
Switzerland 0 - Canada 9
 

QUICK START LEADS CANADA TO MLP GOLD

RAVENSBURG, Germany – Jessica Wong (Baddeck, N.S./University of Minnesota-Duluth, WCHA) and Natalie Spooner (Scarborough, Ont./Ohio State University, WCHA) each scored twice and Vicki Bendus (Wasaga Beach, Ont./Mercyhurst College, CHA) and Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Canada’s National Women’s Team) added a goal and two assists apiece as Canada’s National Women’s Under-22 Team regained its MLP Cup gold medal with a 9-0 win over Switzerland on Saturday.

Canada had won the first six editions of the tournament, from 2003 to 2008, before settling for silver last year after a gold medal game loss to Sweden. Canada got its revenge on the Scandinavians Friday, earning a 4-3 overtime win in the semifinal.

The Canadians jumped on the Swiss early on Saturday, with Wong scoring her first goal of the tournament just 2:38 after the opening face-off. The power play then went to work, with Mercyhurst College teammates Bendus and Bailey Bram (Ste. Anne, Man./Mercyhurst College, CHA) both scoring with the man advantage for a 3-0 lead.

Brianne Jenner (Oakville, Ont./Canada’s National Women’s Team) capped off a big first period by finishing off a 2-on-1 with Carolyne Prevost (Sarnia, Ont./University of Wisconsin, WCHA) in the period’s dying seconds, sending Canada to the intermission with a commanding 4-0 lead.

Despite a goaltending change by the Swiss after 20 minutes, the offensive onslaught continued for Canada in period two. Jesse Scanzano (Montreal, Que./Mercyhurst College, CHA) converted a Bendus pass for the 5-0 goal, and Spooner buried a breakaway opportunity for her first goal just 67 seconds later.

Wong and Spooner notched their second goals in a five-minute span midway through the period for an 8-0 lead, and Wakefield rounded out the scoring spree late in the frame by shrugging off two Swiss defenders and scoring her only goal of the tournament.

With the only question in the third period whether or not Christina Kessler (Mississauga, Ont./Harvard University, ECAC) would get the shutout, the Canadian netminder turned away everything she faced, wrapping up her third win in as many tries at the tournament and recording her fourth career U22 shutout, tying Laura Hosier (Sharon, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) for the most all-time.

Bendus, who tied Bram, Sweden’s Isabelle Jordansson and Switzerland’s Christine Meier for the tournament scoring lead with seven points, was named the tournament’s top forward, while Germany’s Jennifer Harss was named top goaltender and Meier took home top defenceman honours.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Event/Événement 2010 MLP Cup Location/Emplacement Ravensburg, GER
Date Sat. Jan. 9, 2010 Arena/Aréna Eissporthalie Ravensburg
Time/Heure 2:00 pm ET Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Gold Medal Game #/No du match 11

 

Box Score/Compte
1
2
3
Final
SUI
0
0
0
0
CAN
4
5
0
9

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
02:38 CAN Jessica Wong (Catherine White Emmanuelle Blais)
04:11 CAN Vicki Bendus PP/AN
18:04 CAN Bailey Bram (Jesse Scanzano) PP/AN
19:51 CAN Brianne Jenner (Carolyne Prevost)

Penalties/Pénalités :
03:21 SUI Darcia Leimgruber (Hooking/Accrocher)
08:16 CAN Annie Guay (Holding/Retenir)
12:01 CAN Jesse Scanzano (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
14:35 SUI Sandra Thalmann (Interference/Obstruction)
17:29 SUI Bench/Banc (Too Many Players/Trop du joueuses)

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
05:23 CAN Jesse Scanzano (Vicki Bendus, Bailey Bram)
06:30 CAN Natalie Spooner (Jenelle Kohanchuk, Jennifer Wakefield)
10:17 CAN Jessica Wong (Vicki Bendus, Catherine White)
15:20 CAN Natalie Spooner (Jennifer Wakefield, Jenelle Kohanchuk)
18:51 CAN Jennifer Wakefield

Penalties/Pénalités :
10:48 SUI Lucrece Nussbaum (Hooking/Accrocher)

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
None/Aucun

Penalties/Pénalités :
05:55 SUI Darcia Leimgruber (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
09:59 CAN Jesse Scanzano (Tripping/Faire trébucher)
13:21 CAN Natalie Spooner (Interference/Obstruction)
14:59 CAN Tara Watchorn (Cross-checking/Double-échec)

Goaltenders SUI Dominique Slongo; Sophie Celine Anthamatten (in 2nd/00:00)
Gardiens de but CAN Christina Kessler
Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal SUI 2 9 4 15
Tirs au but CAN 21 15 11 47
 
Referee/Arbitre Nicole Hertrich
Linesmen/Juges des lignes Veronika Stenzel, Svenja Strohmenger

Sommaire du Match
Suisse 0 - Canada 9
 

UN DÉPART FULGURANT MÈNE LE CANADA À L’OR À LA COUPE MLP

RAVENSBURG (Allemagne) – Jessica Wong (Baddeck, N.-É./Université Minnesota-Duluth, WCHA) et Natalie Spooner (Scarborough, Ont./Université Ohio State, WCHA) ont chacune marqué deux buts tandis que Vicki Bendus (Wasaga Beach, Ont./Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) et Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./équipe nationale féminine du Canada) cumulaient un but et deux aides chacune pour aider l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 22 ans du Canada à remporter l’or à la Coupe MLP 2010 en écrasant la Suisse 9 -0, samedi.

Le Canada a remporté l’or les six premières années d’existence du tournoi de 2003 à 2008 avant de s’incliner en finale contre la Suède l’an dernier pour remporter l’argent. Le Canada s’est vengé des Scandinaves, vendredi, les battant 4 -3 en prolongation en demi-finale.

Les Canadiennes ont pris les devants tôt dans le match, samedi, Wong marquant son premier but de la rencontre à 2:38 du premier tiers. Le jeu de puissance s’est ensuite mis au boulot quand les coéquipières au Collège Mercyhurst, Bendus et Bailey Bram (Ste-Anne, Man./Collège Mercyhurst, CHA), ont toutes les deux marqué lors de supériorités numériques pour porter la marque à 3 -0.

Brianne Jenner (Oakville, Ont./équipe nationale féminine du Canada) a inscrit le dernier but du premier tiers à la suite d’un deux contre un avec Carolyne Prevost (Sarnia, Ont./Université du Wisconsin, WCHA) pendant les dernières secondes de la période pour donner une avance considérable de 4 -0 au Canada avant le premier entracte.

Même si les Suisses ont changé leur gardienne de but après 20 minutes de jeu, la puissante attaque du Canada s’est poursuivie au deuxième tiers. Jesse Scanzano (Montréal, QC/Collège Mercyhurst, CHA) a fait mouche après avoir capté une passe de Bendus pour creuser l’écart à 5 -0 puis Spooner a marqué son premier but du match lors d’une échappée seulement 67 secondes plus tard.  

Wong et Spooner ont réussi leur second but du match en l’espace de cinq minutes au milieu de la période pour donner une avance de 8 -0 aux Canadiennes avant que Wakefiled marque le dernier but de la période en se démarquant de deux défenseures suisses pour réussir son unique but du tournoi.

La seule question qui se posait au début de la troisième période était si Christina Kessler (Mississauga, Ont./Université Harvard, ECAC) allait réussir un jeu blanc ou non. La gardienne canadienne a repoussé tous les tirs qu’elle a affrontés pour remporter sa troisième victoire en autant de matchs au tournoi et son quatrième jeu blanc auprès des moins de 22 ans, égalant ainsi Laura Hosier (Sharon, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) pour le plus de jeux blancs de tous les temps.

Bendus, qui, avec Bram, Isabelle Jordansson de la Suède et Christine Meier de la Suisse, termine à égalité au sommet des pointeuses du tournoi avec sept points, a été nommée la meilleure avant du tournoi tandis que Jennifer Harss de l’Allemagne a remporté le titre de meilleure gardienne et Meier celui de meilleure défenseure.

 

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Event/Événement Coupe MLP 2010 Location/Emplacement Ravensburg, GER
Date sam. 9 jan. 2010 Arena/Aréna Eissporthalie Ravensburg
Time/Heure 14h00 HE Attendance/Assistance -,---
Round/Ronde Médaille d'or Game #/No du match 11

Box Score/Compte
1
2
3
Final
SUI
0
0
0
0
CAN
4
5
0
9

Goals/Penalties
First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
02:38 CAN Jessica Wong (Catherine White Emmanuelle Blais)
04:11 CAN Vicki Bendus PP/AN
18:04 CAN Bailey Bram (Jesse Scanzano) PP/AN
19:51 CAN Brianne Jenner (Carolyne Prevost)

Penalties/Pénalités :
03:21 SUI Darcia Leimgruber (Hooking/Accrocher)
08:16 CAN Annie Guay (Holding/Retenir)
12:01 CAN Jesse Scanzano (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
14:35 SUI Sandra Thalmann (Interference/Obstruction)
17:29 SUI Bench/Banc (Too Many Players/Trop du joueuses)

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
05:23 CAN Jesse Scanzano (Vicki Bendus, Bailey Bram)
06:30 CAN Natalie Spooner (Jenelle Kohanchuk, Jennifer Wakefield)
10:17 CAN Jessica Wong (Vicki Bendus, Catherine White)
15:20 CAN Natalie Spooner (Jennifer Wakefield, Jenelle Kohanchuk)
18:51 CAN Jennifer Wakefield

Penalties/Pénalités :
10:48 SUI Lucrece Nussbaum (Hooking/Accrocher)

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
None/Aucun

Penalties/Pénalités :
05:55 SUI Darcia Leimgruber (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
09:59 CAN Jesse Scanzano (Tripping/Faire trébucher)
13:21 CAN Natalie Spooner (Interference/Obstruction)
14:59 CAN Tara Watchorn (Cross-checking/Double-échec)

Goaltenders SUI Dominique Slongo; Sophie Celine Anthamatten (in 2nd/00:00)
Gardiens de but CAN Christina Kessler
Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Ttl
Shots on Goal SUI 2 9 4 15
Tirs au but CAN 21 15 11 47
 
Referee/Arbitre Nicole Hertrich
Linesmen/Juges des lignes Veronika Stenzel, Svenja Strohmenger