White 2 - Calgary Flames 4

KESSLER’S 27 SAVES NOT ENOUGH FOR ANOTHER WHITE WIN

CALGARY, Alta. – Christina Kessler (Mississauga, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) stayed steady in the crease, watching the teammates in front of her turn a challenging start into a strong and solid game, but it simply wasn’t enough for another White win Thursday night at the WinSport Canada Athletic & Ice Complex. White fell 4-2 to the Midget AAA Calgary Flames, with three of those goals coming in the first period and Kessler making 27 saves, including several stunners.

Calgary’s Vinnie Paquette kicked off the scoring at 7:20 in the first, following that up four minutes later by assisting Mark Rassell, and then notching his third point and second goal of the night at 14:14 in the period to make it 3-0 going back in the dressing room. But the tough start and rough play in the opening frame proved to be enough to light a fire underneath White’s skates. It took less than two minutes into the middle frame for Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) to feed Natalie Spooner (Scarborough, Ont.), who narrowed the gap to 3-1 and got the momentum going in White’s favour.

Bobbi-Jo Slusar (Swift Current, Sask./Alberta, CWHL) followed suit at 4:48 in the period, on assists from Bailey Bram (Ste. Anne, Man./Brampton, CWHL) and Sarah Davis (Paradise, N.L./University of Minnesota, WCHA), and it seemed the start of a comeback was in sight for White. The positive energy on the ice continued, but Rassell scored another before the period was up, making it 4-2 at second intermission. Unfortunately, the National Women’s Team candidates couldn’t stay out of the box in the third, with five penalties costing them any further chances to even out the score against the boys from the Alberta Midget Hockey League (AMHL).

Despite picking up in speed and strength in the third, White wasn’t able to capitalize before time ticked down on the clock, giving the Calgary Flames the only win for an AMHL team at this year’s National Women’s Team September Camp/Fall Festival. The final camp game takes place at 1 p.m. MT on Saturday in Rink A at WinSport Canada, where White will face off against Red in intrasquad rivalry. Follow live game updates on Twitter @HC_TeamCanada.

Game Information
Game # 5
Round -
Arena Winsport Athletic and Ice Complex Location Calgary, Alta.
Date Thurs. Sep. 27, 2012 Time 8:15 pm MT

Box Score 1 2 3 Total
WHT 0
2
0 2
FLA 3
1
0
4

Goals & Penalties
First Period
Goals :
07:20 FLA Vinnie Paquette (Mark Rassell)
11:18 FLA Mark Rassell (Vinnie Paquette, Brock Weston)
14:14 FLA Vinnie Paquette (Brock Weston, Eric Kardash)

Penalties :
00:37 FLA Vinnie Paquette (Interference)
01:53 FLA Kurtis Rutledge (Body-checking)
06:53 FLA Kurtis Rutledge (Game misconduct)
08:43 WHT Lauriane Rougeau (Body-checking)
09:35 WHT Bailey Bram (Slashing)
19:52 FLA Madison Dunn (Tripping)

Second Period
Goals :
01:49 WHT Natalie Spooner (Jennifer Wakefield)
04:48 WHT Bobbi-Jo Slusar (Bailey Bram, Sarah Davis)
13:22 FLA Mark Rassell (Sam Young)

Penalties :
17:06 WHT Bailey Bram (Hooking)

Third Period
Goals :
None

Penalties :
04:42 WHT Jennifer Wakefield (Cross-checking)
5:26 WHT Cassandra Poudrier (Hooking)
07:41 WHT Jennifer Wakefield (Holding)
16:10 WHT Tessa Bonhomme (Hooking)
18:20 WHT Cassandra Poudrier (Body-checking)

Goaltenders
WHT Christina Kessler
FLA Riley Morris

Shots on Goal 1 2 3 Total
WHT 3 10 3 16
FLA 14 7 10 31

Referee & Linesman
Referee Amanda Allaire
Linesman Ryan Gregory
Chance Sundqunst
Videos
Close
Credit

Blanc 2 - Calgary Flames 4

MALGRÉ 27 ARRÊTS DE KESSLER, LES BLANCS S’INCLINENT

CALGARY (Alberta) – Christina Kessler (Mississauga, Ont./Toronto, LCHF) a été constante devant le filet, regardant ses coéquipières devant elle changer un début de match stimulant en une solide partie, mais c’était tout simplement insuffisant pour que les Blancs l’emportent à nouveau jeudi soir au Complexe de glace et de sport WinSport Canada. Les Blancs ont plié l’échine 4-2 face à la formation midget AAA des Flames de Calgary. Trois des buts des Flames ont été inscrits au premier tiers. Kessler a repoussé 27 tirs, réalisant quelques superbes arrêts.

Vinnie Paquette de Calgary a ouvert la marque à 7:20 de la première période. Environ quatre minutes plus tard, il a récolté une aide sur le but de Mark Rassell et a enregistré un troisième point et un deuxième but dans la soirée à 14:14. Les Flames ont retraité au vestiaire avec une priorité de trois filets. Le dur départ et le jeu agressif au premier tiers ont été suffisants pour allumer une étincelle chez les Blancs. Moins de deux minutes après la première mise au jeu en période médiane, Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Toronto, LCHF) a alimenté Natalie Spooner (Scarborough, Ont.), qui a réduit l’écart à 3-1 pour donner le momentum aux Blancs.

Bobbi-Jo Slusar (Swift Current, Sask./Alberta, LCHF) a enfilé l’aiguille à 4:48, aidée de Bailey Bram (Ste. Anne, Man./Brampton, LCHF) et Sarah Davis (Paradise, T.-N.-L./Université du Minnesota, WCHA). L’équipe des Blancs semblait prête pour une remontée. Cette énergie positive a continué de se faire sentir sur la patinoire, mais Rassell en a compté un autre avant la fin de la période. C’était 4-2 au deuxième entracte. Malheureusement, les candidates à l’équipe nationale féminine n’ont pu éviter le banc des punitions en troisième période, le visitant à cinq reprises, ce qui les a empêchées d’égaliser la marque face aux joueurs de la Ligue de hockey midget de l’Alberta (AMHL).

Même si elles ont été rapides et fortes dans les vingt dernières minutes, les Blancs n’ont pu faire vibrer les cordages, permettant aux Flames de Calgary de devenir la seule équipe de l’AMHL à triompher au camp de septembre/Festival d’automne de l’équipe nationale féminine de cette année. Le dernier match du camp aura lieu samedi à 13 h HR sur la patinoire A de WinSport Canada. Les Blancs affronteront les Rouges dans une rencontre intraéquipe. Suivez les mises à jour en direct sur Twitter au @HC_ÉquipeCanada.

Renseignements sur le match
No. de match 5
Ronde -
Aréna Winsport Athletic and Ice Complex Emplacement Calgary, Alb.
Date Jeud. 27 sep. 2012 Heure 20h15 HR

Compte 1 2 3 Total
WHT 0
2
0 2
FLA 3
1
0
4

Buts & Pénalités
Première période
Buts :
07:20 FLA Vinnie Paquette (Mark Rassell)
11:18 FLA Mark Rassell (Vinnie Paquette, Brock Weston)
14:14 FLA Vinnie Paquette (Brock Weston, Eric Kardash)

Pénalités :
00:37 FLA Vinnie Paquette (Obstruction)
01:53 FLA Kurtis Rutledge (Mise en échec corporelle)
06:53 FLA Kurtis Rutledge (Extrême inconduite)
08:43 WHT Lauriane Rougeau (Mise en échec corporelle)
09:35 WHT Bailey Bram (Coup de baton)
19:52 FLA Madison Dunn (Faire trébucher)

Deuxième période
Buts :
01:49 WHT Natalie Spooner (Jennifer Wakefield)
04:48 WHT Bobbi-Jo Slusar (Bailey Bram, Sarah Davis)
13:22 FLA Mark Rassell (Sam Young)

Pénalités :
17:06 WHT Bailey Bram (Accrocher)

Troisième période
Buts :
Aucun

Pénalités :
04:42 WHT Jennifer Wakefield (Double-échec)
5:26 WHT Cassandra Poudrier (Accrocher)
07:41 WHT Jennifer Wakefield (Retenir)
16:10 WHT Tessa Bonhomme (Accrocher)
18:20 WHT Cassandra Poudrier (Mise en échec corporelle)

Gardiennes de but
WHT Christina Kessler
FLA Riley Morris

Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
WHT 3 10 3 16
FLA 14 7 10 31

Arbitre & Juges des lignes
Arbitre Amanda Allaire
Juges des lignes Ryan Gregory
Chance Sundqunst
Vidéos
Close
Credit