Red 2 - White 1

IRWIN AND BENDUS BOOST RED TO WIN OVER WHITE IN FIRST PERIOD BLAST

CALGARY, Alta. – Coming off an ankle injury that had her sitting out for Canada’s gold medal win at last season’s world championship in April, Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, Ont./Montreal, CWHL)  came back to the ice with a spring in her skates to start the 2012-13 season, getting her stick on the puck and the puck into the back of White’s net to open the scoring in Red’s 2-1 win Tuesday night, and at this year’s week-long National Women’s Team September Camp/Fall Festival.

Irwin capitalized on a scramble out front to make it 1-0 at 14:33 in the first, on an assist from first-time senior women’s camp attendee Sarah Lefort (Ormstown, Que./Boston University, HE). That early game energy seemed to be contagious for Red, which jumped on a power-play chance when Vicki Bendus (Wasaga Beach, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) took a pass out front from Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) to snipe it past the White goal line and make it 2-0 in the final sixteen seconds of the period.

But after a stumbling start for White, it was Red turn’s to get into penalty trouble in the second, with two players sent to the box within a minute of a half of each other. Assistant captain Tessa Bonhomme (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) capitalized on opportunity by reading the ice and accepting the puck from fellow blueliner Erin Ambrose (Keswick, Ont./Clarkson University, ECAC) before burying it into the Red net and narrowing the gap to 2-1 at 6:31 in the period.

Both Red and White had shaken the cobwebs of their skates when the puck dropped on the third, for a fast-pace final frame in the first exhibition game of Canada’s National Women’s Team September Camp/Fall Festival, taking place this week at Hockey Canada’s home arena in Calgary.

The two instrasquad teams have less than a day to prepare before hitting the ice again, this time against AAA teams from the Alberta Midget Hockey League, with Red facing off against the UFA Bisons at 5 p.m. MT and White taking on the Red Deer Rebels at 8:15 p.m., both Wednesday at the at the WinSport Canada Athletic & Ice Complex. Follow @HC_TeamCanada for live game updates from the rink.

Game Information
Game # 1
Round Intersquad
Arena Winsport Athletic and Ice Complex Location Calgary, Alta.
Date Tues. Sep. 25, 2012 Time 7:00 pm MT

Box Score 1 2 3 Total
RED 2
0
0 2
WHT 0
1
0
1

Goals & Penalties
First Period
Goals :
14:33 RED Haley Irwin (Sarah Lefort)
19:44 RED Vicki Bendus (Gillian Apps, Brianne Jenner) PP

Penalties :
01:41 WHT Bailey Bram (Holding)
18:54 WHT Bobbi-Jo Slusar (Tripping)

Second Period
Goals :
06:31 WHT Tessa Bonhomme (Jenelle Kohanchuk, Erin Ambrose) PP

Penalties :
04:46 RED Tara Watchorn (Holding)
06:14 RED Jocelyne Larocque (Body checking)
10:59 WHT Erin Ambrose (Interference)
15:09 RED Tara Watchorn (Body checking)
16:39 WHT Bench/Banc (Too many players)

Third Period
Goals :
None

Penalties :
07:01 RED Kelly Terry (Slashing)

Goaltenders
RED Geneviève Lacasse
WHT Christina Kessler

Shots on Goal 1 2 3 Total
RED 14 5 6 25
WHT 3 6 9 18
Videos
Close
Credit

Rouge 2 - Blanc 1

IRWIN ET BENDUS PERMETTENT AUX ROUGES DE VAINCRE LES BLANCS GRÂCE À UNE BONNE PREMIÈRE PÉRIODE

CALGARY, Alb. – Revenant au jeu à la suite d’une blessure à la cheville qui l’a empêchée de participer à la conquête de la médaille d’or du Canada au championnat mondial de la saison dernière, au mois d’avril, Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, Ont./Montréal, LCHF) avait des ailes en ce début de saison 2012-13. Elle a ouvert la marque pour les Rouges dans un gain de 2-1 contre les Blancs, mardi soir, au camp de septembre/Festival d’automne de l’équipe nationale féminine, qui durera une semaine.

Irwin a profité d’une mêlée devant le filet pour porter le compte à 1-0 à 14:33 du premier tiers, sur une passe de Sarah Lefort (Ormstown, Qc/ Université de Boston, HE), qui participe à son premier camp avec l’équipe nationale féminine. Cette énergie en début de match a semblé être contagieuse pour les Rouges qui ont saisi une occasion en avantage numérique lorsque Vicki Bendus (Wasaga Beach, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) a accepté une passe de Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) pour pousser le disque dans le filet des Blancs et doubler l’avance, avec 16 secondes à écouler à la période.

Après un mauvais départ des Blancs, ce sont les Rouges qui ont commencé à visiter le banc des punitions au deuxième tiers, alors que deux joueuses ont été prises en défaut à une minute et demie d’intervalle. La capitaine adjointe Tessa Bonhomme (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, LCHF) a profité de cette chance en lisant bien le jeu pour accepter une passe de la défenseure Erin Ambrose (Keswick, Ont./Université Clarkson, ECAC) avant de faire vibrer les cordages. La marque était de 2-1, à 6:31 de la période.

Les deux troupes ont patiné avec vigueur au troisième tiers de ce premier duel hors concours du camp de septembre/Festival d’automne de l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada, qui se déroule cette semaine au domicile de Hockey Canada, à Calgary.

Les deux équipes ont moins d’une journée pour se préparer à retourner sur la glace, cette fois contre des équipes midget AAA de la Ligue de hockey midget de l’Alberta. Les Rouges seront opposés aux UFA Bisons à 17 h HR, tandis que les Blancs croiseront le fer avec les Rebels de Red Deer, à 20 h 15, mercredi, au Complexe de glace et de sport WinSport Canada. Suivez @HC_ÉquipeCanada pour des mises à jour des matchs en provenance de l’aréna.

Renseignements sur le match
No. de match 1
Ronde -
Aréna Winsport Athletic and Ice Complex Emplacement Calgary, Alb.
Date Mardi 25 sep. 2012 Heure 19h00 HR

Box Score 1 2 3 Total
RED 2
0
0 2
WHT 0
1
0
1

Buts & Pénalités
Première période
Buts :
14:33 RED Haley Irwin (Sarah Lefort)
19:44 RED Vicki Bendus (Gillian Apps, Brianne Jenner) AN

Pénalités :
01:41 WHT Bailey Bram (Retenir)
18:54 WHT Bobbi-Jo Slusar (Faire trébucher)

Deuxième période
Buts :
06:31 WHT Tessa Bonhomme (Jenelle Kohanchuk, Erin Ambrose) AN

Pénalités :
04:46 RED Tara Watchorn (Retenir)
06:14 RED Jocelyne Larocque (Mise en échec corporelle)
10:59 WHT Erin Ambrose (Obstruction)
15:09 RED Tara Watchorn (Mise en échec corporelle)
16:39 WHT Bench/Banc (Trop du joueurs)

Troisième période
Buts :
Aucun

Pénalités :
07:01 RED Kelly Terry (Coup de baton)

Gardiennes de but
RED Geneviève Lacasse
WHT Christina Kessler

Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
RED 14 5 6 25
WHT 3 6 9 18
Vidéos
Close
Credit