Finland 0 - Canada 6

HEFFORD LEADS CANADIAN ROUT AT 2012 4 NATIONS CUP IN FINLAND, EARNS HER 150TH GOAL WITH CANADA’S NATIONAL WOMEN’S TEAM

Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) had two goals to reach a scoring milestone and Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, Alta./NAIT, ACAC) faced 20 shots, as Canada opened the 2012 4 Nations Cup with a 6-0 victory over Finland on Tuesday.

Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Toronto, CWHL), Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Toronto, CWHL), Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, Sask./University of Calgary, CIS),and Meghan Agosta-Marciano (Ruthven, Ont./Montreal, CWHL) also scored for Canada, which dumped the host side 8-1 in an exhibition tune-up two days earlier. Hefford's second goal was the 150th of her national team career.

"It's a phenomenal feat," Canada’s National Women’s Team head coach Dan Church said from Kerava. "She's just a true professional. Her talents around the net and just her nose for the puck, and really how hard she works off the puck, I think are the keys to her success as a goal scorer."

Canada's roster for the 2012 4 Nations Cup includes almost all the players from the team that won gold at the 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship in Burlington, Vt. Canada rolled four effective lines at Kerava Arena and fired 53 shots at netminder Isabella Portnoj.

"We just wanted to get a good strong start to this tournament," Hefford said. "We know we have to get better from here on out."

The Finns have never beaten Canada in women's hockey.

Canada will next face the defending champion Americans on Wednesday, before meeting Sweden on Friday. The medal games are Saturday. The Americans blanked Sweden 4-0 on Tuesday.

The U.S. is the defending 4 Nations Cup champion, beating the Canadians 4-3 in a shootout last year in Nyköping, Sweden. Hefford and her teammates are excited to play the Americans again.

"It's always the game we look forward to playing," Hefford said. "It's an intense rivalry but it's fun. It brings out the best in us and I think it does in them. We're going to be ready to go tomorrow."

Canada has won the event 12 times in the 16-year history of the tournament. The event also serves as an evaluation opportunity for team brass ahead of the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship coming to Ottawa, Ont., this April.

"I think we're hungry to prove that we can be a dominant team again," Church said. "Every opportunity we look forward to playing the U.S. To win the world championship last year in Vermont was a great step forward, but we also had some pretty big losses over the course of the year.

"There's definitely room for improvement for our team. So I think this tournament is a great opportunity for us to come in and show them that we are the team that they saw in the finals and we're going to put forward a very physical, fast, and a good team game."

Canada last won 4 Nations Cup in November 2010 in St. John’s, N.L., defeating the Americans 3-2 in overtime.

Game Information
Game # 2
Round Round Robin
Arena Kerava Areena
Location Kerava, FIN
Date 11/06/2012
Time 12:00 p.m. MT

 

Box Score 1 2 3 Total
FIN
0 0 0 0
CAN
2 2 2 6

 

Goals & Penalties
First Period
Goals:
   03:05 CAN 16 Jayna Hefford (25 Tessa Bonhomme) PP
   19:28 CAN 9 Jennifer Wakefield (2 Meghan Agosta-Marciano, 3 Jocelyne Larocque)


Penalties:
   01:37 FIN 8 Tea Villila (Holding)
   08:40 FIN 2 Anna Kilponen (Holding)
   12:39 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Interference)
   19:56 FIN 26 Tiina Saarimaki (Tripping)


Second Period
Goals:
   06:46 CAN 6 Rebecca Johnston (11 Courtney Birchard, 25 Tessa Bonhomme)
   15:24 CAN 22 Hayley Wickenheiser 


Penalties:
   07:42 CAN 14 Bobbi Jo Slusar (Hooking)
   13:13 CAN 6 Rebecca Johnston (Bodychecking)
   15:57 FIN 6 Jenni Hiirikoski (Bodychecking)
   19:57 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Hooking)

Third Period
Goals:
   06:01 CAN 2 Meghan Agosta-Marciano (21 Haley Irwin, 9 Jennifer Wakefield)
   06:44 CAN 16 Jayna Hefford (29 Marie-Philip Poulin, 13 Caroline Ouellette)


Penalties:
   03:36 CAN 24 Natalie Spooner (Cross Checking)
   14:38 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (High Sticking)


 

Goaltenders
FIN 31 Isabella Portnoj On 1/00:00
Off 3/20:00
CAN
1 Shannon Szabados On 1/00:00
Off 3/20:00

 

Shots on Goal 1 2 3 Total
FIN 5 6 9 20
CAN
18 18 17 53

 

Videos
Close
Credit

Finlande 0 - Canada 6

Hefford marque deux fois et le Canada amorce la Coupe des 4 nations avec un gain de 6-0  

KERAVA, Finlande – Jayna Hefford a marqué deux buts pour atteindre un important plateau en tant que buteuse et Shannon Szabados a effectué 20 arrêts pour permettre au Canada d’amorcer la Coupe des 4 nations avec une victoire de 6-0 sur la Finlande, mardi.

Jennifer Wakefield, Rebecca Johnston, Hayley Wickenheiser et Meghan Agosta-Marciano ont aussi fait mouche pour le Canada qui avait écrasé le pays hôte par la marque de 8-1 dans un match hors concours il y a deux jours. Le deuxième but de Hefford était son 150e en carrière avec l’équipe nationale.

« C’est un exploit phénoménal », a dit l’entraîneur-chef Dan Church. « Elle est une vraie professionnelle. Son talent autour du filet, son flair pour la rondelle, et la façon dont elle travaille fort loin de la rondelle sont, je crois, les clés de son succès comme buteuse. »  

La formation du Canada à la Coupe des 4 nations comprend presque toutes les joueuses qui ont remporté l’or au championnat mondial de 2012. Le Canada a fait appel à quatre trios efficaces à l’aréna Kerava et a tiré 53 fois sur la gardienne de but Isabella Portnoj.

« Nous voulions simplement avoir un bon départ au tournoi », dit Hefford. « Nous savons que nous allons devoir nous améliorer à partir de maintenant. »  

La Finlande n’a jamais battu le Canada au hockey féminin.

Le Canada affrontera maintenant les championnes en titre, les Américaines, mercredi, avant de se mesurer à la Suède, vendredi. Les matchs pour les médailles seront présentés samedi. Les Américaines ont blanchi la Suède 4-0, mardi.

Les Américaines sont championnes en titre de la Coupe des 4 nations ayant battu les Canadiennes 4-3 en tirs de barrage l’an dernier en Suède. Hefford et ses coéquipières sont excitées de jouer à nouveau contre les États-Unis.

« C’est toujours le match que nous avons hâte de jouer », dit Hefford. « C’est une rivalité intense, mais c’est amusant. Cela nous force à donner le meilleur de nous-mêmes et je crois que c’est la même chose pour elles. Nous allons être prêtes à jouer demain. »

Le Canada a remporté l’événement 12 fois au cours des 16 ans d’histoire du tournoi. Cette année, l’événement permet aussi aux dirigeants de l’équipe d’évaluer les joueuses en vue du Championnat mondial 2013 qui aura lieu à Ottawa en avril.  

« Je pense que nous voulons prouver que nous pouvons être une équipe dominante à nouveau », a dit Church. « Chaque fois, nous sommes impatients de jouer contre les États-Unis. Avoir remporté le championnat mondial l’an dernier au Vermont a été un important pas vers l’avant, mais nous avons aussi subi des défaites majeures au cours de l’année. »

« Notre équipe peut certainement faire mieux. Alors je crois que ce tournoi est une superbe occasion pour nous de leur montrer que nous sommes l’équipe qu’elles ont vue en finale et que nous allons jouer un style de jeu collectif très robuste et rapide. »     

Le Canada a remporté la Coupe des 4 nations la dernière fois en 2010, battant les Américaines 3-2 en prolongation.

Remarques : Hefford s’est jointe à l’équipe nationale en 1997. Elle est au deuxième rang de tous les temps des buteuses au hockey féminin canadien derrière Wickenheiser qui est loin devant avec 355 buts en carrière… Les défenseures Laurianne Rougeau et Laura Fortino ne sont pas avec l’équipe à la Coupe des 4 nations. Elles ont été remplacées par Bobbi Jo Slusar et Tara Watchorn.  

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
No. de match 2
Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna Kerava Areena
Lieu Kerava, FIN
Mois / Jour / Année 11/06/2012
Heure 12 h 00 HE

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
FIN
0 0
0 0
CAN
2 2 2 2

 

Buts et pénalités
Première période
Buts :
   03:05 CAN 16 Jayna Hefford (25 Tessa Bonhomme) AN
   19:28 CAN 9 Jennifer Wakefield (2 Meghan Agosta-Marciano, 3 Jocelyne Larocque)


Pénaltés :
   01:37 FIN 8 Tea Villila (Retenir)
   08:40 FIN 2 Anna Kilponen (Retenir)
   12:39 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Obstruction)
   19:56 FIN 26 Tiina Saarimaki (Faire trébucher)

Deuxième période
Buts :
   06:46 CAN 6 Rebecca Johnston (11 Courtney Birchard, 25 Tessa Bonhomme)
   15:24 CAN 22 Hayley Wickenheiser 


Pénaltés :
   07:42 CAN 14 Bobbi Jo Slusar (Accrocher)
   13:13 CAN 6 Rebecca Johnston (Mise en échec corporelle)
   15:57 FIN 6 Jenni Hiirikoski (Mise en échec corporelle)
   19:57 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Accrocher)
Troisième période
Buts :
   06:01 CAN 2 Meghan Agosta-Marciano (21 Haley Irwin, 9 Jennifer Wakefield)
   06:44 CAN 16 Jayna Hefford (29 Marie-Philip Poulin, 13 Caroline Ouellette)


Pénaltés :
   03:36 CAN 24 Natalie Spooner (Double-échec)
   14:38 CAN 10 Gillian Apps (Bâton élevé)

 

Gardien(ne)s de but
FIN 31 Isabella Portnoj Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00
CAN
1 Shannon Szabados Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00

 

Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
FIN
5 6 9 20
CAN
18 18 17 53

 

Vidéos
Close
Credit