2008-09 National Men's Team

MOSCOW DYNAMO 5 - CANADA 3
CHAMPIONSHIP | WED. DEC. 31

For the fifth time in nine years, Canada has finished second at the Spengler Cup after falling 5-3 to Russian side Moscow Dynamo in Wednesday’s championship game. Micki Dupont, Hnat Domenichelli and Randy Robitaille scored for Canada.

 

MOSCOW DYNAMO 3 - CANADA 6
ROUND ROBIN | TUE. DEC. 30

Jeff Toms led the charge with a goal and two assists as Canada powered into the championship game at the 2008 Spengler Cup with a 6-3 round-robin win over Moscow Dynamo. The same two teams will meet for the title on Wednesday.

 

CANADA 5 - ERC INGOLSTADT 2
ROUND ROBIN | MON. DEC. 29

Jeff Toms scored twice to lead Canada to a 5-2 victory over German side ERC Ingolstadt on Monday, moving the Canadians to 2-1. Rico Fata, Dale Clarke and Randy Robitaille also scored for the Canadians, while Shawn Heins added a pair of assists.

 

CANADA 5 - HC DAVOS 6 (SO)
ROUND ROBIN | SAT. DEC. 27

Hnat Domenichelli scored in the final minute of regulation time to complete Canada’s comeback from a 3-0 first-period deficit, but the defending champions ended up falling to HC Davos 6-5 in a shootout. Martin Kariya had a goal and an assist in the loss.

» Video highlights

 



CANADA 3 - ENERGIE KARLOVY VARY 1
ROUND ROBIN | FRI. DEC. 26

Canada scored three times on the power play – twice on two-man advantages – as it opened the 2008 Spengler Cup with a 3-1 win over Energie Karlovy Vary. Brad Isbister, Micki Dupont and Jean-Guy Trudel scored the Canadian goals in the win.

 



WATCH THE 2008 SPENGLER CUP
 ONLY ON ROGERS SPORTSNET

Canada’s National Men’s Team looks to defend its title at the 2008 Spengler Cup, and you can see all the action only on Rogers Sportsnet, beginning on Boxing Day. Catch three of the five games LIVE, including the championship game on December 31. » more

 

CANADA NAMES ROSTER
FOR 2008 SPENGLER CUP

Six returnees from Canada’s 2007 championship team highlight the 21-player roster announced Tuesday for the 2008 Spengler Cup. Comprised almost entirely of Canadians playing in Europe, Canada will open the tournament December 26 against Energie Karlovy Vary. » moreroster

 

CHERNOMAZ, SIMPSON NAMED HEAD COACHES FOR NATIONAL TEAM EVENTS

Rich Chernomaz will look to bring Canada its first Deutschland Cup championship since 2005 in early November, while Sean Simpson will be back behind the bench as Canada looks for a second consecutive Spengler Cup title in December. » more

 

 

For more information:
Brad Pascall Vice-President, Hockey Operations

2008-09 Équipe Nationale Masculine

MOSCOW DYNAMO 5 - CANADA 3
CHAMPIONNAT | MER. 31 DÉC.

Pour une cinquième fois en neuf ans, le Canada termine deuxième à la Coupe Spengler après une défaite de 5 -3 au Dynamo de Moscou de la Russie lors de la finale, mercredi. Micki Dupont, Hnat Domenichelli et Randy Robitaille ont marqué pour le Canada.

 

CANADA 6 - MOSCOW DYNAMO 3
RONDE PRÉLIMINAIRE | MAR. 30 DÉC.

Jeff Toms a mené l’attaque en cumulant un but et deux aides pour permettre au Canada d’accéder à la finale de la Coupe Spengler 2008 avec une victoire de 6 -3 sur le Dynamo de Moscou. Les deux formations s’affronteront pour le titre, mercredi.

 

CANADA 5 - ERC INGOLSTADT 2
RONDE PRÉLIMINAIRE | LUN. 29 DÉC.

Jeff Toms a marqué deux buts pour aider le Canada à vaincre ERC Ingolstadt de l’Allemagne, 5-2, lundi, à la Coupe Spengler 2008 et porter sa fiche à 2 -1. Rico Fata, Dale Clarke et Randy Robitaille ont aussi marqué pour les Canadiens tandis que Shawn Heins obtenait deux mentions d’aide.

 

CANADA 5 - HC DAVOS 6 (TB)
RONDE PRÉLIMINAIRE | SAM. 27 DÉC.

Hnat Domenichelli a marqué au cours de la dernière minute de temps réglementaire pour compléter la remontée du Canada qui accusait un retard de 3 -0 en première période, mais les champions en titre se sont inclinés par la marque de 6 -5 à HC Davos en tirs de barrage. Martin Kariya a cumulé un but et une aide dans la défaite.

 

CANADA 3 - ENERGIE KARLOVY VARY 1
RONDE PRÉLIMINAIRE | VEN. 26 DÉC.

Le Canada a marqué trois buts en supériorité numérique – deux lors de supériorités de deux joueurs – pour battre Énergie Karlovy Vary 3 -1 à son premier match de la Coupe Spengler 2008. Brad Isbister, Micki Dupont et Jean-Guy Trudel ont marqué pour donner la victoire aux Canadiens.



REGARDEZ LA COUPE SPENGLER 2008 SEULEMENT SUR ROGERS SPORTSNET

L’équipe nationale masculine du Canada cherche à défendre son titre à la Coupe Spengler 2008 et vous pouvez suivre toute l’action seulement sur Rogers Sportsnet à compter du lendemain de Noël. Suivez trois des cinq matchs EN DIRECT, y compris le match du championnat le 31 décembre. » suite  

 

LE CANADA NOMME L’ÉQUIPE
POUR LA COUPE SPENGLER 2008

Six joueurs de l’équipe championne du Canada en 2007 sont parmi les 21 joueurs annoncés, mardi, pour la Coupe Spengler 2008. Regroupant presque exclusivement des Canadiens jouant en Europe, la formation canadienne disputera son premier match du tournoi le 26 décembre contre Energie Karlovy Vary. » suite

 

CHERNOMAZ ET SIMPSON NOMMÉS ENTRAÎNEUR-CHEF POUR LES ÉVÉNEMENTS DE L’ÉQUIPE NATIONALE

Rich Chernomaz tentera de diriger le Canada à son premier titre à la Coupe Deutschland depuis 2005 au début de novembre, tandis que Sean Simpson sera de retour derrière le banc lorsque le Canada partira en quête d’une deuxième Coupe Spengler consécutive en décembre. » suite

 

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Brad Pascall Vice-President, Hockey Operations