2014 TELUS Cup
They're already one of only four teams to ever win back-to-back national championships, but the Red Deer Chiefs want to become the first to win three TELUS Cups in a row; can they get past the Okanagan Rockets first to book their trip to Moose Jaw?
It has been 12 years since Sidney Crosby led the Dartmouth Subways to the lone gold medal game appearance by an Atlantic team. Will it be Central, Halifax, Kensington, Pictou County or Saint John earning a chance to go for a second?
It is the most successful region in national championship history, with 15 gold medals since 1984 and seven in the last 10 years. Who among Notre Dame, Prince Albert, Thunder Bay and Winnipeg will represent the West in Moose Jaw?
Champions from the Alliance, GNML, GTHL, OEMHL and OMHA will join the host Markham Waxers to face off for a single berth at the TELUS Cup. London, Sudbury, Toronto, Ottawa, Ajax/Pickering, Markham – who goes to Moose Jaw?
All time, the Grenadiers de Châteauguay and Phénix du Collège Esther-Blondin have made one appearance each at Canada’s National Midget Championship. Who will earn a second and make the trip west to Moose Jaw?
Which team has won the most National Midget Championships? Which team scored the most goals in a game? How many TELUS Cup alumni have played in the NHL? Get all the answers in the official TELUS Cup Guide & Record Book.
The Oakville Rangers opened the season with seven straight victories, won 16 of their first 17, and closed out their schedule on a 12-game undefeated streak to finish atop the SCTA standings for the second consecutive year.
Make it seven consecutive B.C. Major Midget League regular season titles for the Vancouver NW Giants, although it took until the very last game of the season for the Giants to edge Okanagan by just a single point for first place.
The Notre Dame Argos were the lone SMAAAHL team to reach the 30-win plateau, earning 33 victories in 44 games, and outscored its opposition by a whopping 112 goals, scoring 58 goals more than second-place Battlefords.
The Moncton Flyers and Saint John Vitos finished with identical 24-10-1 records atop the NBPEIMMHL, but Moncton won five of six against Saint John and takes its No. 1-ranked defence into the postseason as the top seed.
The key to first place for the Ajax/Pickering Raiders? That’s simple: the Raiders have not lost a game in three months, going 21-0-3 since Oct. 24, and they outscored the opposition by a whopping 107 goals – 162-55.
What a finish in the Alberta Midget Hockey League; when the dust settled, the top eight teams were separated by just six points, and the Leduc Oil Kings had edged Lloydminster and Red Deer for first place by only one.
Armed with the NLMMHL’s leading scorer, Jordan Maher, and the No. 1-ranked defence, the Central Ice Pak dropped just three games in regulation time and edged the St. John’s Maple Leafs for the league’s regular season title.
After a year away, the Sudbury Nickel Capital Wolves were back on top of the Great North Midget League standings in 2013-14, using a stifling defence to squeeze past North Bay by just three points for first place.
For the first time since 2003-04, the year they won their lone national championship, the Brandon Wheat Kings finished the regular season on top of the MMAAAHL standings, posting 39 wins in 44 games for a four-point cushion.
A 12-game unbeaten streak to close out their schedule and a defence that allowed just 55 goals in 28 games were keys for the OHA Gold Mavericks, who won a down-to-the-wire race with Eastern Ontario to clinch first place.
For the first time since joining the LHMAAAQ in 1997-98, the Commandeurs de Lévis were the league’s top regular season team, using the third-best offence and second-best defence to finish three points up on Esther-Blondin.
Just two points separated first place from fourth in the Alliance this season, but it was the Cambridge Hawks who survived the sprint to the finish, using three winning streaks of at least six games to stake their claim to top spot.
For the second consecutive season the Toronto Young Nationals were the GTHL’s best regular season team, riding the league’s No. 2 offence and a 13-game winning streak to top spot, three points up on Mississauga Rebels.
After a one-year hiatus from first place – and a longer break from the McDonalds name it used when it made three trips to national championship during the 1980s and 1990s – Halifax returned to top spot in the NSMMHL.
Videos
Photos
2012 TELUS Cup: HST 2 - WST 3 Bronze
Apr 29, 2012
Host vs. West at the 2012 TELUS Cup in Leduc, Alta. (Bronze)
2012 TELUS Cup: Awards Banquet
Apr 29, 2012
Awards Banquet at the 2012 TELUS Cup in Leduc, Alta.
2012 TELUS Cup: PAC 6 - QUE 5 Gold
Apr 29, 2012
Pacific vs. Quebec at the 2012 TELUS Cup in Leduc, Alta. (Gold)
2012 TELUS Cup: WST 0 - PAC 2
Apr 28, 2012
Pacific vs. West at the 2012 TELUS Cup in Leduc, Alta. (Semi-Final)
2012 TELUS Cup: QUE 5 - HST 4
Apr 27, 2012
Host vs. Quebec at the 2012 TELUS Cup in Leduc, Alta.
2012 TELUS Cup: QUE 2 - PAC 2
Apr 26, 2012
Pacific vs. Quebec at the 2012 TELUS Cup in Leduc, Alta.
2012 TELUS Cup: CEN 2 - ATL 3
Apr 26, 2012
Central vs. Atlantic at the 2012 TELUS Cup in Leduc, Alta.
2012 TELUS Cup: PAC 3 - HST 2
Apr 25, 2012
Pacific vs. Host at the 2012 TELUS Cup in Leduc, Alta.
2001 TELUS Cup: April 30
Apr 30, 2001
2001 Telus Cup in Prince George, BC on April 30
2001 TELUS Cup: April 28
Apr 28, 2001
2001 Telus Cup in Prince George, BC on April 28
2001 TELUS Cup: April 27
Apr 27, 2001
2001 Telus Cup in Prince George, BC on April 27
2001 TELUS Cup: April 25
Apr 25, 2001
2001 Telus Cup in Prince George, BC on April 25
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Coupe TELUS 2014
Déjà une de seulement quatre équipes à avoir remporté deux championnats nationaux consécutifs, les Chiefs de Red Deer souhaitent devenir la première à gagner trois titres de suite. Pourront-ils vaincre les Rockets d’Okanagan et confirmer leur voyage à Moose Jaw?
Il y a 12 ans que Sidney Crosby a mené les Subways de Dartmouth à la seule présence au match pour la médaille d’or de l’Atlantique. Qui de Central, Halifax, Kensington, Pictou County ou Saint John aura une deuxième chance?
C’est la région qui a connu le plus de succès au championnat national, remportant 15 médailles d’or depuis 1984 et sept au cours des 10 dernières années. Qui de Notre Dame, Prince Albert, Thunder Bay ou Winnipeg représentera l’Ouest à Moose Jaw?
Les champions de l’Alliance, la GNML, la GTHL, l’OEMHL et l’OMHA se joindront aux hôtes, les Waxers de Markham, dans le but d’obtenir l’unique place à la Coupe TELUS. London, Sudbury, Toronto, Ottawa, Ajax/Pickering, Markham – qui ira à Moose Jaw?
Dans l’histoire, les Grenadiers de Châteauguay et le Phénix du Collège Esther-Blondin ont fait une apparition chacun au Championnat national midget du Canada. Qui fera une deuxième présence et se dirigera vers l’ouest à Moose Jaw?
Quelle équipe a remporté le plus de fois le Championnat national midget? Quelle formation a inscrit le plus de buts en une partie? Combien d’anciens de la Coupe TELUS ont joué dans la LNH? Trouvez toutes les réponses dans le Guide et livre des records de la Coupe TELUS.
Les Rangers d’Oakville ont entamé la saison avec sept gains consécutifs, remportant 16 de leurs 17 premiers matchs et achevant leur calendrier avec une séquence de 12 matchs sans revers. Ils ont terminé en tête du classement du SCTA pour une deuxième année consécutive.
Un septième titre consécutif pour les Giants de Vancouver NW dans la Ligue midget majeur de la Colombie-Britannique; le point décisif pour la première place n’a été récolté qu’au dernier match de la saison, permettant ainsi aux Giants de devancer Okanagan.
Les Argos de Notre Dame ont été la seule équipe de la SMAAHL à atteindre le plateau des 30 gains, avec 33 en 44 matchs, surpassant leurs rivaux par 112 buts, marquant 58 buts de plus que Battlefords, détenteurs de la deuxième position.
Les Flyers de Moncton et les Vitos de Saint John ont présenté un dossier identique de 24-10-1 au sommet de la NBPEIMMHL, mais Moncton, la meilleure défensive du circuit, a gagné cinq de ses six matchs contre Saint John, terminant au premier rang avant les éliminatoires.
La clé pour le premier rang des Raiders d’Ajax/Pickering? C’est simple : ils n’ont pas perdu un match en trois mois, maintenant une fiche de 21-0-3 depuis le 24 oct., dominant l’adversaire par 107 buts, 162-55.
Quelle fin de parcours dans la Ligue de hockey midget de l’Alberta! Lorsque la poussière est retombée, les huit meilleures équipes n’affichaient que six points d’écart et les Oil Kings de Leduc avaient ravi la première place à Lloydminster et à Red Deer par un seul point.
Avec l’aide du meilleur pointeur de la NLMMHL, Jordan Maher, et d’une défensive au premier rang, le Central Ice Pack n’a perdu que trois matchs en temps réglementaire et devancé les Maple Leafs de St. John’s pour s’emparer du titre de la saison régulière.
Après un an d’absence, les Nickel Capital Wolves de Sudbury sont de retour au sommet de la Ligue de hockey midget du Grand Nord en 2013-14 grâce à une défensive étanche, seulement trois points devant North Bay.
Pour la première fois depuis 2003-04, lorsqu’ils ont gagné leur seul championnat national, les Wheat Kings de Brandon ont terminé la saison régulière au sommet de la MMAAAHL avec 39 victoires en 44 matchs et une avance de quatre points.
Une série de 12 matchs consécutifs sans défaite pour mettre fin au calendrier et une défensive qui n’a accordé que 55 buts en 28 matchs ont permis aux Gold Mavericks de l’OHA de s’emparer du premier rang dans l’est de l’Ontario.
Pour la première fois depuis qu’ils se sont joints à la LHMAAAQ en 1997-98, les Commandeurs de Lévis ont terminé premiers en saison régulière grâce à la troisième meilleure défensive et à la deuxième meilleure offensive, trois points devant Esther-Blondin.
Seulement deux points séparaient la première de la quatrième place dans l’Alliance cette saison, mais les Hawks de Cambridge ont survécu au sprint vers le fil d’arrivée, remportant trois séries d’au moins six gains de suite pour se hisser au sommet.
Pour la deuxième saison de suite, les Young Nationals de Toronto ont été la meilleure équipe de la GTHL en saison régulière, profitant de la deuxième meilleure offensive de la ligue et d’une série de 13 gains consécutifs pour terminer trois points devant les Rebels de Mississauga.
Après une interruption d’un an en tête du classement – et une pause encore plus longue de l’utilisation du nom de McDonalds, qu’elle arborait lorsqu’elle a effectué ses trois voyages au championnat national au cours des années 1980 et 1990 – l’équipe d’Halifax a retrouvé sa première place au classement de la NSMMHL en 2013-2014.
Vidéos
Photos
Coupe TELUS 2013 : CEN 0 - PAC 5
28 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : WST 2 - QUE 3
28 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : WST 1 - PAC 5
27 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : QUE 1 - CEN 4
27 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : PAC 2 - CEN 2
26 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : ATL 1 - WST 9
26 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : QUE 9 - HST 2
26 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : PAC 8 - ATL 1
25 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : QUE 4 - CEN 3
25 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : HST 1 - WST 1
25 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : ATL 1 - QUE 7
24 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Coupe TELUS 2013 : PAC 5 - WST 5
24 avril 2013
Action au Coupe TELUS 2013 à Sault Ste. Marie Ont.
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: