Ask a Referee!

Are you a referee with a question, looking for an answer? Are you searching for the correct interpretation of a certain rule? Are you needing clarification? Well then Hockey Canada has the solution – Ask a Referee! Send your questions in, and every month Hockey Canada’s referee-in-chief will give his answers. » send e-mail

Eighteen Canadian officials – nine referees and nine linesmen – have been assigned by the International Ice Hockey Federation to work at 11 events during the 2014-15 season, with another five on the long list for the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship.
Five of Canada’s top female officials have earned invites to the inaugural Hockey Canada Female Level V Officiating Seminar, preparing them for national and international events, from the Esso Cup to the Olympics.
Twenty-seven Canadian officials representing eight provinces and three international delegates – from Germany, Hungary and Switzerland – will be a part of the Hockey Canada Level VI Officiating Seminar, Nov. 9-13 in Guelph, Ont.
Are you a coach or an official and you’re not quite sure how a rule should be interpreted? Was that a penalty or not? Get the answers you’re looking for by downloading the 2014-15 version of Hockey Canada’s official rule book.
One of the best ways to understand what the official looks for when making the call is to look closely at certain cues within the player’s actions. You could say that the initial action a player takes allows the official to anticipate the infractions because in most cases it is inevitable.

Demandez à un Arbitre!

Êtes-vous un arbitre en quête d’une réponse à une question? Cherchez-vous la bonne interprétation d’une règle donnée? Avez-vous besoin d’éclaircissement? Et bien, Hockey Canada a la solution – Demandez à un arbitre! Envoyez vos questions, et chaque mois, l’arbitre en chef de Hockey Canada y répondra. » suite  

Dix-huit officiels canadiens – neuf arbitres et neuf juges de lignes – ont été affectés par la Fédération internationale de hockey sur glace à 11 événements pendant la saison 2014-15 et cinq autres sont inscrits à la liste préliminaire pour le Championnat mondial de hockey sur glace.
Cinq officielles parmi les meilleures du Canada ont été invitées au premier Séminaire des officielles de niveau V de Hockey Canada les préparant à des événements nationaux et internationaux, de la Coupe Esso aux Olympiques.
Vingt-sept officiels canadiens de huit provinces et trois délégués internationaux – Allemagne, Hongrie, Suisse – assisteront au Séminaire de niveau VI de Hockey Canada pour les officiels du 9 au 13 nov. à Guelph, Ont.
Vous êtes entraîneur ou officiel et voulez savoir comment interpréter une règle. Est-ce une infraction ou non? Trouvez la réponse en téléchargeant la version 2014-15 du Livre des règles de jeu officielles de Hockey Canada.
Toutes les catégories du hockey mineur des 13 divisions du Canada ont reçu une cure de rajeunissement lors de la mise en œuvre d’une initiative visant la norme de jeu et les règles accentuées, plaçant ainsi l’accent sur les éléments fondamentaux du jeu.