2005 Celebrity Classic

2005 Canadian Hockey Foundation Celebrity Classic Celebrates Success Of Dream Team IIHF World Champions

The Canadian Hockey Foundation held its Second Annual Celebrity Classic Gala Fundraiser and Golf Tournament on July 11th and 12th in Toronto. Gala Honorary Co-Chairs Tom Bitove and Daniel O’Neill welcomed guests to the evening’s fundraising gala, noting “Tonight’s event, along tomorrow’s Celebrity Classic golf tournament, marks another important step for the Foundation’s ongoing campaign to build an endowment program that will benefit Canadian amateur hockey for generations to come.”


World Junior’s Champions Patrice Bergeron and Sidney Crosby

The Masters of Ceremonies presiding over the festivities were TSN’s Gord Miller and Pierre McGuire. The evening’s festivities were held at the Westin Harbour Castle hotel in downtown Toronto with over 600 people in attendance, the largest number of participants since the event began in 2004. This year’s event was broadcast nationally by TSN Sport Centre and fundraising exceeded $210,000.

The evening culminated with the ring presentation to the 2005 World Junior Champions, the first Canadian team to win the tournament since 1997, which was the final year of Canada’s five consecutive titles. The World Champions dominated the tournament in Grand Forks, North Dakota; they never trailed in any of their six wins and outscored opponents 41-7. A true dream team, made possible only because of the NHL lock out, 19 of the 22 players have since played in the NHL.

On the following warm sunny summer day, the Foundation held its Celebrity Classic Golf Tournament at the Copper Creek Golf Club, voted “One of the Best 18 in the GTA” in the Toronto Sun Reader’s Choice Awards 2005. There were a total of 32 teams enjoying the sunshine and the hot summer temperatures. Each team was captained by a member from Canada’s 2005 IIHF World Junior Champion team, including Sidney Crosby, Mike Richards, Patrice Bergeron and many others. The tournament was a great day for event sponsors to enjoy themselves over 18 holes of great golf.

The CHF thanked the leadership and hard work of the Celebrity Classic’s Organizing Committee Chair, Tim Manning, as well as Honorary Co-Chairs Thomas Bitove and Daniel O’Neill. The Foundation feels very fortunate to have had their support and leadership in staging the Celebrity Classic Gala Fundraiser and Golf Tournament. The Foundation also thanks the many event sponsors for their contributions in creating such a successful and enjoyable event.


Tournament Sponsors

The Canadian Hockey Foundation would like to acknowledge and thank our sponsors for the 2005 Celebrity Classic Gala Fundraiser and Gold Tournament. With your valued support, the Celebrity Classic was a very successful event.

Platinum Sponsors:
Boston Pizza
BFL Canada


Gold Sponsors:
Air Canada
Cheerios
Royal Bank of Canada
Silver Sponsors:
AMJ Campbell Van Lines
Club Intrawest
Esso
Chevrolet
Mandrake Management Consultants
Molson
Mr. Lube
Nestle
Pepsi
The Fan 590
The Westin Harbour Castle

» 2005 Photo Gallery

Gala de golf 2005

La Clazzique Des Celebrites De La Foundation Canadienne De Hockey Celebre Le Succes De L'Equipe De Reve Champtionne Du Championnat Mondial Junior De L'IIHF

La Fondation canadienne de hockey a tenu son deuxième gala-bénéfice et tournoi de golf La Classique des célébrités les 11 et 12 juillet à Toronto. Les coprésidents d’honneur du gala Tim Bitove et Daniel O’Neill ont accueilli les invités au gala-bénéfice en soulignant que « l’événement de ce soir et le tournoi de golf La Classique des célébrités de demain marquent une autre étape importante de la campagne de la fondation qui vise à bâtir un programme de dotation au profit du hockey amateur canadien pour des générations à venir. »


Les champions du monde juniors Patrice Bergeron et Sidney Crosby

Les maîtres de cérémonie de la soirée étaient Gord Miller et Pierre McGuire de TSN. Les festivités avaient lieu au Westin Harbour Castle au centre-ville de Toronto et plus de 600 personnes étaient présentes, le plus grand nombre depuis le lancement de l’événement en 2004. L’événement de cette année a été diffusé à l’échelle nationale sur TSN Sport Centre. Les fonds amassés se sont élevés à plus de 210 000 $.

Le fait saillant de la soirée a été la remise des bagues aux champions mondiaux juniors 2005, la première équipe à remporter le tournoi depuis 1997, année où le Canada a remporté le dernier de ses cinq championnats mondiaux consécutifs. Les champions mondiaux ont dominé le tournoi à Grand Forks dans le Dakota du Nord, ne tirant jamais de l’arrière du tournoi et marquant 41 buts contre sept pour leurs adversaires. Une vraie équipe de rêve, rendue possible à cause du lockout de la LNH puisque 19 des 22 joueurs ont évolué dans la LNH depuis lors.

Le lendemain, par une superbe journée ensoleillée, la fondation a présenté le tournoi de golf La Classique des célébrités au club de golf Copper Creek, voté l’un des meilleurs 18 trous de la région du Grand Toronto lors des Reader’s Choice Awards 2005 du Toronto Sun. Chaque équipe de golfeurs avait comme capitaine un membre de l’équipe championne du mondial junior 2005 qui regroupait entre autres Sidney Crosby, Mike Richards, Patrice Bergeron et plusieurs autres. Les commanditaires de l’événement ont passé une très belle journée au fil des 18 trous de golf.

La fondation a remercié le président du comité organisateur de la Classique des célébrités, Tim Manning, ainsi que les coprésidents honoraires Thomas Bitove et Daniel O’Neill pour leur leadership et leur excellent travail. La fondation a été ravie de pouvoir compter sur leur appui et leur direction pour organiser le gala-bénéfice et le tournoi de golf la Classique des célébrités. La fondation a aussi remercié les nombreux commanditaires de l’événement pour leurs contributions qui ont permis la tenue réussie de cet événement fort agréable.

La Fondation canadienne de hockey aimerait rendre hommage et remercier les commanditaires du gala-bénéfice et du tournoi de golf La Classique des célébrités 2005. Grâce à votre appui généreux, La Classique des célébrités a été un franc succès


Commanditaires platine :
Boston Pizza
BFL Canada


Commanditaires or :
Air Canada
Cheerios
Banque Royale du Canada
Commanditaires argent :
AMJ Campbell Van Lines
Club Intrawest
Esso
Chevrolet
Mandrake Management Consultants
Molson
Mr. Lube
Nestle
Pepsi
The Fan 590
The Westin Harbour Castle

» Tournoi de golf La Classique des célébrités 2005