History (Part 5)

Although World Championship play has continued almost annually since 1931, Canada has not been given the opportunity to host the games. At the 1967 IIHF Congress in Vienna, however, Canada was awarded the 1970 World Championships. Later, at the Summer IIHF Congress in Switzerland in July 1969, provision was approved which would entitle teams in the Pool "A" division of the World Championships to use not more than 9 "non-NHL" professional players. In January, 1970 at an IIHF meeting in Geneva the question was raised as to the effect this type of "Semi-open-competition" would have on the Olympic eligibility of the players involved, and as a result of this the five qualified European teams for Pool "A" in 1970 refused to compete under the Regulation which had been approved in Switzerland in July 1969. As a result of this development, Canada withdrew from the 1970 World Championships, and relinquished the right to host the games, which were subsequently moved to Stockholm, Sweden.

Although Canada did not participate in the IIHF World Championships following our withdrawal in 1970, three major tournaments were organized in 1972, 1974, and 1976. These tournaments had a great effect on international hockey and in 1975 the IIHF Congress in Switzerland approved unanimously the opening of the World Championships to all players, professional and amateur. As a result of this action by the IIHF, and the approval of the Canada Cup '76 Series in Canada, our country returned to the World championships in 1977 and placed fourth in the competition which was held in Vienna.

In addition to participating in the Olympic and World Championship games, the Association has been active, especially in recent years, in exchange visits between Canadian teams and teams from many other countries. These exhibition tours have taken teams to nearly every country in Europe, as well as on two tours of Japan. In the exchange, teams from Japan, the United States, Russia, Sweden, Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland, Romania, and Italy have visited this country to display their prowess in our national game.

Hockey has also been a popular sport in many parts of the United States, and the CHA as far back as 1919 gave consideration to affiliation between amateur hockey in Canada and amateur hockey in the United States. It was not until 1936, however, that a definite agreement was entered into between amateur hockey of the two countries. This agreement provided for a control over the movement of hockey players and other matters of mutual interest.

For many years, the Officers of the American Association had expressed a desire to entertain the CHA at its annual meeting in the United States. And finally, in 1949 it was possible to arrange for this to be done. The meeting was held in New York City and was an outstanding success, with the Americans outdoing themselves in providing for the enjoyment and entertainment of their Canadian guests. The second opportunity of a similar nature occurred in 1959 when both Associations held their Annual Meetings, concurrently, in Detroit, Michigan. The CHA was able, in a small way, to repay the hospitality of the Americans in 1964 when USA Hockey was invited to hold their Annual Meeting in Ottawa, Ontario, and to join with CHA delegates in celebrating the Association's Golden Jubilee.

Histoire - Page 5

Quoique les championnats mondiaux aient eu lieu presque chaque année depuis 1931, le Canada n'a pas eu l'occasion d'être l'hôte de ces championnats. Toutefois, au Congrès de la FIHG de 1967, à Vienne, le Canada est choisi pour présenter les championnats du monde pour l'année 1970. Un peu plus tard, soit en juillet 1969, au Congrès d'été de la FIHG, en Suisse, on approuve une clause qui permet aux équipes de la poule "A" des Championnats mondiaux de n'utiliser que neuf joueurs professionnels ne faisant pas partie de la LNH. En janvier de 1970, à une réunion de la FIHG, à Genève, une question est soulevée, à savoir, quel effet ce type de compétition semi-ouverte aurait sur l'admissibilité des joueurs en cause pour les Olympiques. Il en résulte que les cinq équipes européennes qualifiées en 1970 pour la poule «A» refusent departiciper sous le règlement qui avait été approuvé en Suisse en 1969. Suite à ce nouveau développement, le Canada se retire des championnats mondiaux de 1970 et renonce à être l'hôte des jeux qui eurent finalement lieu à Stockholm en Suède.

Bien que le Canada, suite à son retrait en 1970, n'ait pas participé aux championnats mondiaux de la FIHG, trois tournois de grande importance ont été organisés soit en 1972, 1974 et 1976. Ces tournois ont influencé considérablement le hockey international et en 1975, le Congrès de la FIHG, en Suisse, approuvait à l'unanimité, la participation aux championnats mondiaux de tous les joueurs professionnels ou amateurs. Le Canada, suite à l'approbation de cette mesure prise par la FIHG et à l'approbation de la tenue de la Série Coupe Canada 1976, put à nouveau participer aux championnats mondiaux et en 1977, notre pays s'est classé quatrième lors des compétitions qui ont eu lieu à Vienne.

En plus de participer aux Jeux olympiques et aux championnats mondiaux, l'Association s'occupe intensément, surtout depuis quelques années, d'échanges et de visites entre les équipes canadiennes et les équipes de nombreux pays. Les tournées hors-concours ont conduit les équipes dans presque tous les pays d'Europe et ont permis de visiter deux fois le Japon. En retour, des équipes du Japon, des États-Unis, de la Russie, de la Suède, de la République Tchèque, de la Pologne, de la Roumanie et de l'Italie sont venues au Canada pour démontrer leur prouesse dans notre sport national.

Le hockey était un sport très populaire dans certaines parties des États-Unis et l'ACH, aussi loin qu'en 1919, a contemplé une association entre le hockey amateur canadien et celui des États-Unis. Ce n'est toutefois pas avant 1936 qu'un accord définitif est conclu entre les deux pays. Cette entente prévoit un contrôle sur le mouvement des joueurs entre les deux pays et plusieurs autres questions d'intérêt commun.

Pendant plusieurs années, les officiers de l'Association américaine ont exprimé le désir de recevoir l'ACH pour leur réunion annuelle aux États-Unis. Finalement, ce voeu se réalisa en 1949, alors que la réunion se tenait à New York et ce fut un très grand succès. Les américains se surpassèrent pour amuser et divertir leurs invités canadiens. Une deuxième opportunité se présenta en 1959, alors que les deux associations tinrent leurs Assemblées annuelles simultanément à Détroit, Michigan. L'ACH put remettre la politesse en 1964 lorsque l'AHAEU fut invitée à tenir sa réunion annuelle à Ottawa, Ontario et à se joindre aux délégués de l'ACH pour la célébration du cinquantième anniversaire de cette Association.