Game Summary
Dynamo Moscow 5 - Canada 3 (Final)


DAVOS, Switzerland – It was close, but in the end Canada came up just short at the 2008 Spengler Cup.

Randy Robitaille’s goal pulled Canada’s National Men’s Team to within a goal midway through the third period of Wednesday’s championship game, but Russian side Moscow Dynamo lifted the cup after claiming a 5-3 win.

Canada was appearing in the championship game for the eighth time in nine years, but had to settle for second place for the eighth time in 25 trips all-time to the tournament.

After jumping out to an early led on Moscow in Tuesday’s 6-3 round-robin win, Canada found itself in a 3-0 hole midway through Wednesday’s game after two goals from Petr Cajanek and one from Ivan Neprjaev.

But power play goals from Micki Dupont and Hnat Domenichelli before the end of the middle frame sent the Canadians to the dressing room down just one goal through 40 minutes.

Cajanek completed his hat trick in the opening minute of the final period and, after Robitaille had again made it a one-goal game, Maxim Pestushko clinched the cup for the Russians with a late breakaway marker against Canadian netminder Daren Machesney.

Canada swarmed the Moscow net in the dying minutes, but could not come up with the goals it needed for what would have been its 12th Spengler Cup championship.

Despite outshooting Moscow 41-29 – including 30-13 over the game’s final 40 minutes – Canada lost to a Russian club in the final for the second time in four years. Metallurg Magnitogorsk claimed the 2005 title with a win over the Canadians.


Game Information/Reseignements sur le match
Event/Événement 2008 Spenlger Cup Location/Emplacement Davos, SUI
Date Wed, Dec 31, 2008 Arena/Aréna Eisstadion Davos
Time/Heure 6:00 am EST Attendance/Assistance 6,746
Round/Ronde Championship Game # 09


Box Score/Compte


First Period/Première période

Goals/Buts :
09:16 DM Cajanek (Weinhandl) SH

Penalties/Pénalités :
02:52 CAN Fata (Delay of Game/Arrêter le match)
08:35 DM Shitikov(Cross-checking/Double-échec)
15:51 DM Rahunek (Penalty Shot/Tir de punition)
17:08 CAN Roest (Elbowing/Donner du coude)

Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
08:24 DM Cajanek (Weinhandl, Landry)
08:59 DM Neprjaev (Afanasenkov, Yyshidkevitch) PP
19:18 CAN Dupont (Robitaille) PP
19:36 CAN Domenichelli (Robitaille) PP

Penalties/Pénalités :
00:49 DM Landry (Hooking/Accrocher)
08:34 CAN Isbister (Cross-checking/Double-échec)
10:29 CAN Team/Équipe (Too Many Men/Trop de joueurs)
12:53 DM Neprjaev (Tripping/Trébucher)
16:21 DM Goroshansky (Slashing/Cingler)
18:08 DM Team/Équipe (Too Many Men/Trop de joueurs)
19:04 DM Zhitnik (Cross-checking/Double-échec)

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
00:42 DM Cajanek (Weinhandl)
09:17 CAN Robitaille (Domenichelli, Vigier)
17:13 DM Pestushko

Penalties/Pénalités :
18:57 CAN Heins (Cross-checking/Double -échec)


Goaltenders DM

V. Yeremeev

Gardiens de but CAN D. Machesney

Shots on Goal Team 1 p 2 p 3 p Fnl
Shots on Goal DM 16 6 7 29
Tirs au but CAN 11 14 16 41

Referee/Arbitre Ronn (FIN), Johansson (SWE)
Linesmen/Juges des lignes Wirth (SUI), Wehrli (SUI)


For more information:
Brad Pascall Vice-President, Hockey Operations