Hockey Canada Network |
Semi-Finals Set for 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup Awards &Amp; Scholarship Handed Out
May 13, 2005

WEYBURN, SK – Four teams are set to go head to head in the semi-finals with the winners earning a berth in the 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup Championship game, which will be played at the Weyburn Colosseum at 5:30pm (MT) on Sunday, May 15 and will be broadcast live across the country on The Sports Network, TSN and its french equivalent, RDS

In Saturday’s first semi-final, the first place Weyburn Red Wings (Host) will face the Hawkesbury Hawks (East Region) at 2:00pm (MT) at the Weyburn Colosseum. Weyburn finished the round robin portion of the tournament with a 3-1 record, while Hawkesbury wrapped up the round robin with a 1-3 record. The two clubs faced each other on the Wednesday of round robin play, with Weyburn squeezing out a 4-3 overtime victory.

The Georgetown Raiders (Central Region) will face off against the Camrose Kodiaks (Pacific Region) in Saturday’s second semi-final at 7:30pm (MT). Camrose finished the round robin with a 3-1 record, while Georgetown finished with an even 2-2 record. The two teams met each other during the round robin on Thursday, with Camrose skating away with a 2-1 victory.

Earlier in the evening, at the 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup awards ceremony, a special presentation was made by Canadian Junior "A" Hockey League President, Marty Knack, to Michael Olson of the Nanaimo Clippers (BC Hockey League). Michael was the recipient of the RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Player-of-the-Year Award.

Michael, 20, has just completed a very successful third season in the BCHL as the captain of the Nanaimo Clippers, who were participants in the 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup in Grande Prairie, AB.

Michael scored 32 goals and added 38 assists in 2004-05.

The 6'0, 185lb forward will be attending St.Cloud University in 2005-06 on an athletic scholarship.

Michael Olson's Highlights for 2004-05

GP – 60    G – 32    A – 38    PTS – 70    PIM – 62    PPG – 14    SHG – 3

First on Nanaimo in power play (14) and short handed (3) goals

Second on Nanaimo in games played (60), goals (32), and points (70)

2005 - BCHL Power Poll MVP | BCHL First Team All-Star | Columbia Fuels 3 Star Island Division Winner

The RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Player-of-the-Year Award goes to the Canadian Junior "A" hockey player who has best combined hockey skills and achievement with community involvement during the 2004-05 season.

In addition to the Player-of-the-Year Award, six individual 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup awards and a national scholarship were handed out at the awards ceremony.

Winners were as follows:

Most Valuable Player –  Travis Friedley (Camrose Kodiaks)

Top Scorer – Mathieu Picard (Hawkesbury Hawks)

Top Forward – Mason Raymond (Camrose Kodiaks)

Top Defencemen – Travis Friedley (Camrose Kodiaks)

Top Goaltender – Brenden Cuthbert (Weyburn Red Wings)

Most Sportsmanlike Player – Brendon Vertefeuille (Weyburn Red Wings)

RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Scholarship National Winner – Sam Colizza (Kingston Voyageurs)

» 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup site

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: