Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada Level VI officiating seminar attracts top officials from Canada and the world to Terrebonne, Que.
November 4, 2013

CALGARY, Alta. – Twenty officials from across Canada and four international delegates will attend the Hockey Canada Level VI officiating seminar from Nov. 6-10, 2013 in Terrebonne, Que., Hockey Canada announced Monday.

The seminar prepares top officials in Canada for national championships and designated IIHF competitions, including world championships and the Olympic Winter Games.

“Canada has always been a top provider of quality level of officials throughout the world,” said James Mays, referee-in-chief with Hockey Canada. “This begins with the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, an instructional program that is the envy of other hockey nations around the world.”

Level VI seminars are held based on a national need for Level VI officials. The last Hockey Canada Level VI seminar was held in Guelph, Ont., in 2011. Hockey Canada’s manager of officiating is responsible for the organization of the site and program, establishing criteria and reviewing the candidates’ qualifications.

Candidates on hand have been nominated by the Hockey Canada branches and are already fully certified Level V officials. An established selection committee reviewed all the candidates and selected those that will be in attendance in Terrebonne.

The instruction will be handled by, among others, Mays, Todd Anderson, Hockey Canada’s manager of officiating, and Hockey Canada Referee Committee members Doug Hayward and Kevin Muench. Guest instructors will also be making presentations throughout the seminar.

Twenty-four officials, including four international delegates, will participate in the five-day seminar. There are approximately 80 active Level VI officials registered annually in Canada. 

Delegates for this seminar are:

  • Tyler Adair – Calgary, Alta.
  • Simon Aicher – Germany
  • Jonathan Alarie – Mirabel, Que.
  • Kevin Arsenault – Dartmouth, N.S.
  • Korey Bannerman – Barrie, Ont.
  • Ryan Benbow – Sidney, B.C.
  • Kevin Bennett – Kelowna, B.C.
  • Logan Bryson – Kenora, Ont.
  • Michael Campbell – Surrey, B.C.
  • Alexander Côté – Gatineau, Que.
  • Jason Faist – Cambridge, Ont.
  • Seth Ferguson – Milton, Ont.
  • Matthew Forster – Fredericton, N.B.
  • Jens Gregersen – Denmark
  • Dale Hawthorn – Winnipeg, Man.
  • Fraser Lawrence – Edmonton, Alta.
  • Moe Leblanc – Moncton, N.B.
  • Stephen Orr – St. John’s, N.L.
  • Trevor Peluk – Winnipeg, Man.
  • Jason Pyke – Gatineau, Que.
  • Bryce Sebastian – Regina, Sask.
  • Ladislav Smetana – Austria
  • Marc Wiegand – Switzerland
  • Ben Wilson – Guelph, Ont.

Todd Anderson, Hockey Canada’s manager of officiating, will be on-site in Terrebonne and can be reached via email at or by phone at (403) 874-3368.

For further information on the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, visit

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
Photo Credit: