First group of players named to Canada’s National Men’s Team for 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship
April 14, 2015

CALGARY, Alta. – Jim Nill, general manager of Canada’s National Men’s Team, announced Tuesday, in collaboration with Hockey Canada, a first group of 19 players for the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, scheduled for May 1-17, 2015 in Prague and Ostrava, Czech Republic.

Nill is working with a management group comprised of George McPhee (Guelph, Ont.), Sean Burke (Windsor, Ont./Arizona, NHL), Pat Verbeek (Sarnia, Ont./Tampa Bay, NHL), Claude Loiselle (Ottawa, Ont.) and Scott Salmond (Creston, B.C.), Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations and national teams. The management group has been monitoring the final weeks of the NHL regular season, and scouting players that are available to represent Canada at the world championship. 

“We could not be more pleased with this first group of players who have committed to representing their country,” said Nill. “This group includes a fantastic mix of youth and experience, and these 19 players are ready to get over to Europe and wear the red and white of Team Canada.”

17 of the 19 players named by Hockey Canada have previous international experience, with nine players (Burns, Duchene, Eberle, Giroux, Hall, MacKinnon, Nugent-Hopkins, O’Reilly, Smith) having played at the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. Only Jake Muzzin and David Savard will represent Canada for the first time.

Over the past week, Nill has confirmed the following 19 players:

Martin Jones North Vancouver, B.C. Los Angeles Kings (NHL)
Mike Smith Kingston, Ont. Arizona Coyotes (NHL)
Tyson Barrie Victoria, B.C. Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Brent Burns Barrie, Ont. San Jose Sharks (NHL)
Aaron Ekblad Windsor, Ont. Florida Panthers (NHL)
Jake Muzzin Woodstock, Ont. Los Angeles Kings (NHL)
David Savard St. Hyacinthe, Que. Columbus Blue Jackets (NHL)
Matt Duchene Haliburton, Ont. Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Cody Eakin Winnipeg, Man. Dallas Stars (NHL)
Jordan Eberle Regina, Sask. Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Tyler Ennis Edmonton, Alta. Buffalo Sabres (NHL)
Claude Giroux Hearst, Ont. Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)
Taylor Hall Calgary, Alta. Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Nathan MacKinnon Cole Harbour, N.S. Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins Burnaby, B.C. Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Ryan O'Rielly Clinton, Ont. Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Tyler Seguin Brampton, Ont. Dallas Stars (NHL)
Jason Spezza Toronto, Ont. Dallas Stars (NHL)
Tyler Toffoli Scarborough, Ont. Los Angeles Kings (NHL)

Canada’s roster is comprised of players not involved in the NHL playoffs. Canada can also add players eliminated during the Stanley Cup playoffs, and can register up to 25 players, including three goaltenders, on its official roster.  

Canada opens the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship against Latvia on May 1. It will also face Austria, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Sweden and Switzerland in preliminary round play.

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Team and the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, please visit, or follow along through social media at, and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
2016 MWC - CAN 2 – FIN 0 (Gold Medal)
McDavid and Duchene scored as Canada defended its world title.
2016 RBC Cup - WKW 4 – LLO 0 (Championship)
Greenfield made 48 saves to lead the Warriors to the RBC Cup title.
2016 MWC - CAN 4 – USA 3 (Semifinal)
Ellis got the winner early in the third, sending Canada to the final.
2016 RBC Cup - LLO 6 – TRE 2 (Semifinal)
Chynoweth scored twice, and the host Bobcats advanced to the final.