Hockey Canada Network |
News
Canada’s National Junior Team to play for bronze medal at 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship
NR.003.14
|
January 4, 2014
|
|

MALMÖ, Sweden – Canada’s National Junior Team will play for the bronze medal at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmö after a 5-1 loss to Finland in Saturday’s quarter-finals.

Canada will meet Russia in the bronze medal game on Sunday, with puck drop scheduled for 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT. The game can be seen LIVE on TSN/RDS; check local listings in your area for broadcast details.

It is the second consecutive year the Canadians and Russians will play for the bronze medal.

On Saturday, Jonathan Drouin (Huberdeau, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) scored the lone goal for Canada, which advanced to the semifinals at the IIHF World Junior Championship for the 16th consecutive year with a 4-1 quarter-final win over Switzerland on Thursday. Zach Fucale (Rosemère, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) made 18 saves in the Canadian goal.

Medal game schedule (Jan. 5)
Canada vs. Russia (bronze) - 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT
Sweden vs. Finland (gold) - 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT

All of Canada’s games at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship are broadcast LIVE by TSN/RDS. Check your local listings, www.tsn.ca or www.rds.ca for details in your area.

For more information on Canada’s National Junior Team and the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, and follow along via social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_men.


For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557
abrin@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
kgoodrich@hockeycanada.ca

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: