Canada’s National Men’s Team to play Finland in quarter-finals at 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship
NR.058.14
|
May 20, 2014
|

MINSK, Belarus – After finishing atop its preliminary round group, Canada’s National Men’s Team will play Finland in the quarter-finals at the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship on Thursday, May 22.

The winner of the Canada/Finland quarter-final will face the winner of the USA/Czech Republic quarter-final in the semifinals on Saturday, May 24 in Minsk.

Canada had a record of five wins, one overtime win and one shootout loss in the preliminary round, good for 18 points and first place in Group A.

2014 IIHF ICE HOCKEY WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP QUARTER-FINAL SCHEDULE

9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT                 United States (B2) vs. Czech Republic (A3)
10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT                Russia (B1) vs. France (A4)
1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT               Canada (A1) vs. Finland (B4)
2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT               Sweden (A2) vs. Belarus (B3)

All of Canada’s games at the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship are broadcast live by TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Check local listings for the broadcast time in your area.

Canada’s roster includes 23 players: three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13 forwards.

Canada’s roster includes 18 players with previous international experience, with six players (Burrows, Chimera, Coburn, Myers, Read, Reimer) who represented Canada at previous world championships (Turris skated as an alternate player with Canada in 2008). Chimera won gold at the 2007 IIHF World Championship in Moscow, Russia.

Kevin Bieksa, Troy Brouwer, Jason Garrison, Ben Scrivens and Joel Ward are representing Canada on the international stage for the first time. 

Canada’s management group is comprised of general manager Rob Blake (Simcoe, Ont./Los Angeles, NHL), Brad Pascall (Coquitlam, B.C./ Hockey Canada), Ron Hextall (Brandon, Man./ Philadelphia, NHL) and Brad Treliving (Penticton, B.C./Calgary, NHL).

Canada’s coaching staff is led by head coach Dave Tippett (Moosomin, Sask./ Phoenix, NHL), with Peter DeBoer (Dunnville, Ont./ New Jersey, NHL) and Paul Maurice (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont./ Winnipeg, NHL) serving as assistant coaches.

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Team and the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, or follow along through social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and
www.twitter.com/hc_men.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)
ldornan@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

   
Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
mbell@hockeycanada.ca
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
emadziya@hockeycanada.ca
   
Videos
Photos
2016 TELUS Cup - LSL 6 – LLO 2 (Bronze)
The Lions scored five times in the second period to win the bronze.
2016 MWU18C - USA 10 – CAN 3 (Bronze)
Bitten, Hall and Tippett scored, but Canada settled for fourth place.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 4 – SNB 1 (Gold)
Aidan Casey scored two to help the Rangers win their first TELUS Cup.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 5 – LLO 3 (Semifinal)
Calverley scored twice, and the Rangers advanced to play for gold.
Schedule
Close
Credit