Hockey Canada Network |
News
Canada's National Junior Team advances to Quarter-finals at 2014 IIHF World Junior Championshop
NR.163.13
|
December 31, 2013
|
|

MALMÖ, Sweden – Canada’s National Junior Team has advanced to the quarter-finals at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmö after finishing first in Group A with a 3-0-1 (wins-losses-overtime losses) record in the preliminary round.

Canada concluded preliminary round play Tuesday with a 3-2 win over the United States to clinch first in its group. Nic Petan (Delta, B.C./Portland, WHL), Connor McDavid (Newmarket, Ont./Erie, OHL) and Curtis Lazar (Vernon, B.C./Edmonton, WHL) scored the goals for Canada, while goaltender Zach Fucale (Rosemère, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) made 24 saves.

The U.S. finished second in Group A, followed by the Czech Republic and Slovakia. Sweden, Finland, Russia and Switzerland were the top four finishers in Group B, all advancing to the quarter-finals.

Quarter-final schedule (Jan. 2)
United States vs. Russia             6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT
Finland vs. Czech Republic         8:30 a.m. ET/5:30 a.m. PT
Canada vs. Switzerland              11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT
Sweden vs. Slovakia                   1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT

Semifinal match-ups will see the winner of Canada-Switzerland face the winner of Finland-Czech Republic, and the winner of United States-Russia meet the winner of Sweden-Slovakia.

All of Canada’s games at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship are broadcast LIVE by TSN/RDS. Check your local listings, www.tsn.ca or www.rds.ca for details in your area.
 
Canada has medalled at 14 of the last 15 IIHF World Junior Championships, including gold medal performances in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009, silver medals in 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2010 and 2011, and bronze medals in 2000, 2001 and 2012.

For more information on Canada’s National Junior Team and the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, and follow along via social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_men.


For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557
abrin@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada
403-777-4553
jlarose@hockeycanada.ca

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
klipscombe@hockeycanada.ca

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
kgoodrich@hockeycanada.ca

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 2 - SUD 1
Apr 20, 2014
Jenica Whitrow scoredwith less than two minutes to play to winit for Weyburn.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - SVK 1
Apr 20, 2014
Brendan Perlini’s two goals led Canada to a victory over the Slovaks.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 8 - MON 1
Apr 20, 2014
Sixteen players goton the score sheetas the hosts coastedto an opening win.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 1 - FRA 0
Apr 20, 2014
Jessica Healey scoresthe game’s only goal as the Thunder winsits opener.
2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: